We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Holiday Inn Winchester Southeast-Historic Gateway
Ranked #7 of 25 Hotels in Winchester
Certificate of Excellence
Hampton, VA
Level 6 Contributor
104 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 70 helpful votes
“Very nice!”
Reviewed 17 August 2014

We were only there for one night as we traveled through town and this was a pleasant surprise. The room décor was very nice! The frig/micro/coffee area in room was separate with a granite type counter... very pretty. Everything was very neat & clean. Had HBO & tons of channels. Free wireless was fast & easy to use. It was a bit more than we expected for just an overnight stay. Receptionist was very friendly & welcoming. Didn't use pool or gym but they appeared to look nice. The whole hotel seemed new & modern.

Room Tip: Don't get a room near elevator. Was a bit loud early in morning as people were leaving and we w...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank The_McSmiths
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BartlettJ64, Manager at Holiday Inn Winchester Southeast-Historic Gateway, responded to this review, 19 August 2014
Thank you so much for your kind comments and review regarding our high standards of cleanliness and hospitality. Hearing about how our efforts to give you a pleasant and accommodating experience have been successful is very rewarding for every member of our staff and management team. We look forward to welcoming you back during your next stay in the area.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

399 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    226
    121
    38
    12
    2
See reviews for
122
122
26
78
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (63)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Greensboro, North Carolina
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 August 2014 via mobile

Stayed one night at this hotel during the month of July 2014. It was a very nice hotel! It seemed newer. The rooms were a good size, bathroom was nice and even the beds were comfy. The indoor pool was on the smaller side and once there were a few families in there, it felt crowded. We did not eat there as it was busy and there was a Cracker Barrel and an IHOP right down the road. Overall it was a pleasant stay and I would recommend to anyone traveling through Winchester.

Stayed July 2014
Helpful?
Thank Marla12sb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BartlettJ64, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Winchester Southeast-Historic Gateway, responded to this review, 15 August 2014
We are so glad that you enjoyed such a pleasant stay at our hotel recently. We appreciate your business and hope to see you again very soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviewed 29 July 2014 via mobile

This hotel appeared to be brand new. It was immaculate and had a huge bathroom! The staff was extremely friendly. The breakfast service could use some tweaking but the food was good. Both days they were out of silverware! We had to clean our own tables off even though the restaurant was nearly empty. The waitresses we friendly they just seemed overwhelmed. I'd recommend having at least 3 on the weekend and maybe double the silverware for your restaurants capacity. Overall, that was a small blip on an otherwise beautiful hotel. I would definitely stay again!

Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
Helpful?
Thank Amy M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BartlettJ64, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Winchester Southeast-Historic Gateway, responded to this review, 15 August 2014
Thank you so much for such a glowing review! We are so glad that you enjoyed everything and appreciate the feedback regarding breakfast. We appreciate your feedback and will use it to better serve our guests in the future. Thank you again and we hope to see you soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Berlin, Germany
Level 6 Contributor
155 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 July 2014 via mobile

A very nice hotel in a surprisingly charming city. The hotel staff are great...always cheerful and always willing to help you. If your stopping in Winchester, you can't go wrong with the Holiday Inn. Clean rooms, good breakfast and lots of parking.

Stayed July 2014, travelled on business
Helpful?
1 Thank MattSimiskey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BartlettJ64, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Winchester Southeast-Historic Gateway, responded to this review, 27 July 2014
Hello MattSimiskey,

Thank you very much for your generous review. We are truly grateful to know that our efforts to make our guest’s experience at Holiday Inn a delightful one. I really hope we could have another chance to serve you the next time you visit Winchester.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 20 July 2014

We always stop at this hotel when travelling to/from New York State. On a recent stopover, the hotel was booked but luck was with us as a guest was checking out. AJ was able to get the room cleaned while we ate in the restaurant and that's great service. Thanks again.

  • Stayed July 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Mrcorvette
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BartlettJ64, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Winchester Southeast-Historic Gateway, responded to this review, 27 July 2014
Hello Mrcorvette,

We are pleased that enjoyed your time at our hotel during your stop over. It is always a pleasure to us knowing that we have provided our guests comfortable stay and a good night’s rest after a long day of travel. Thank you for sharing your experience during your stay, please know that we will always do our best to provide you the quality of services you most deserve for giving us your business.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Richmond, Rhode Island
Level 6 Contributor
153 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 105 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 July 2014

After getting a strange entrance courtesy of my GPS, we were grateful to once again pull into the Holiday Inn SE. After a long day of driving, the welcome at the front desk, and the spotless room made it all worthwhile. Tempurpedic type mattresses were amazingly comfortable on your back, but a bit stiff on one's side. Still a pleasant sleep. Terrific DirecTV channel selection. Super thick, large bath towels. Great products- soap, shampoo, etc. Bathroom was spotless. We felt very welcomed, comfortable and safe here. I'd recommend it to anyone. Terrific value also- my $94 AAA rate dropped to $81 when I was reviewing my hotel choices and saw a lower price. I re-booked and saved $13. Even without a free continental breakfast, it was worth it. They offer a $9.99 breakfast buffet (at least on weekends), but that is a bit more than we wanted to add for 4-- with 3 light breakfast eaters.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Luvamoose67
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BartlettJ64, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Winchester Southeast-Historic Gateway, responded to this review, 15 July 2014
Hello Luvamoose67,

Thank you for sharing your recent experience during your stay with us. I am very glad that we have successfully provided you accommodation and you had a comfortable rest after a long drive. We are pleased of your appreciation of our effort to make our guests stay convenient and affordable. Your satisfaction brings us fulfillment and will always be on top of our priority. We hope to have you again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cleveland, Ohio
Level 5 Contributor
81 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 July 2014 via mobile

My husband stayed here for 2 nights while moving my sister-in-law down to Winchester.

This hotel is awesome! You can tell it's new! It's bright, welcoming, a bit modern and CLEAN!

The location is good, close to restaurants and the mall.

Also, it's only a 40 minute drive to Shenandoah national park, which was stunning!

The bar in the hotel was great after a long day of moving. The bartender was great and it was a cozy atmosphere.

The only bummer is that breakfast is not included in the room. (You have to pay extra when you book the room).

I didn't eat at the restaurant on site, so I can't comment on that.

Overall, a great stay! If you're in Winchester, this is where to stay!

Stayed July 2014
Helpful?
Thank Erin H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BartlettJ64, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Winchester Southeast-Historic Gateway, responded to this review, 12 July 2014
Hello Miss Erin H,

Thank you for choosing to stay with us on your visit to Winchester. We appreciate sincerely your time in sharing your experience and for taking note of the quality accommodation we have worked very hard to please our guests. Your satisfaction brings fulfillment to our team and motivates us to continuously do our best to offer our guests quality accommodation at all times. Thank you for your business.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Winchester hotels
3.0 mi away
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Winchester
2.1 mi away
The George Washington A Wyndham Grand Hotel
0.7 mi away
Hampton Inn Winchester-University/Mall Area
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.9 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Winchester
0.9 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Winchester
Hilton Garden Inn Winchester
#6 of 25 in Winchester
695 reviews
0.6 mi away
Best Western Lee-Jackson Inn & Conference Center
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Winchester Southeast-Historic Gateway? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Winchester Southeast-Historic Gateway

Property: Holiday Inn Winchester Southeast-Historic Gateway
Address: 333 Front Royal Pike, Winchester, VA 22602-7320
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Virginia > Winchester
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#7 Business Hotel in Winchester
#9 Family Hotel in Winchester
#9 Romantic Hotel in Winchester
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Holiday Inn Winchester Southeast-Historic Gateway 3*
Number of rooms: 130
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to the newest hotel in Virginia's famed Shenandoah Valley. Holiday Inn Historic Gateway, located just off I-8 in the heart of Winchester, VA, is close to the area's historic sites and modern corporations. Our Winchester hotel understands the needs of the business traveler so we offer high-speed, wireless Internet access, a 24-hour business center and excellent meeting facilities. Our hotel is minutes from Shenandoah University, Trex, American Woodmark, Kraft, HP Hood and Rubbermaid. Leisure travelers appreciate our hotel's Winchester, VA location because it allows them to easily visit the Valley's top attractions such as Museum of the Shenandoah Valley, Luray Caverns and Skyline Drive. With a central location for Civil War sites, museums, wineries, and golf courses, we're the ideal choice of hotel in the Shenandoah Valley.Our hotel amenities make your stay a terrific experience. There's an indoor pool with an outdoor sundeck, a well-equipped fitness center and a 24-hour convenience store for snacks and sundries. You can dine on American cuisine at Kem's Restaurant & Bar. We'll be happy to create a golf package for you to play your choice of nearby courses like Rock Harbor or Virginia National. Our professional and courteous staff welcomes you with Southern hospitality and a warm smile. You can relax when you stay at our Holiday Inn Historic Gateway hotel in Winchester, VA. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo, IHG, Hotels.com, Expedia, Evoline ltd, 5viajes2012 S.L., HotelQuickly, Cancelon and getaroom.com so you can book your Holiday Inn Winchester Southeast-Historic Gateway reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Se Historic Gateway Hotel Winchester
Holiday Inn Winchester
Winchester Holiday Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing