We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great place for those with a dog”
Review of Comfort Inn

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Comfort Inn
Ranked #12 of 25 Hotels in Winchester
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 8 March 2014

We spent the night there on our way to NJ from NC. The staff is very friendly. When the lady at the front desk found out we had a dog with us, she moved us from an upstairs room to a first floor room near a door to make it easy to walk our dog. They a decent complimentary breakfast with scrambled eggs, bacon, grits, oatmeal, fruit, fruit juices with various breads and yogurt. They coffee available throughout the day and night. The hotel is located close to numerous good restaurants. We decided to book a room there for our return trip.

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Bruce J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kerry F, General Manager at Comfort Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 11 March 2014

Thank you for taking the time to comment about your stay with us. These words tell us what we are doing right, and how we can improve to make our guests stay a memorable experience. We want our guest to return again while traveling thru Winchester, so we will do what we can to make all remember us.
Thanks again, and hope to see you in the future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (234)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

136 - 142 of 234 reviews

Reviewed 6 March 2014

Great hotel. Very trucker friendly. Great staff and management. Very clean and comfortable for longer stays. Maids make sure that you have everything needed. Rooms have microwaves and refrigerators that are so clean they seem new. If you are traveling to this area I highly recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed: March 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank joecollege34
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kerry F, General Manager at Comfort Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 7 March 2014

Thank You! Thank You! Thank You for such nice words about your stay. I'm so glad you enjoyed your stay since it was an unexpected and longer than you planned. I'm glad to hear that my staff and I took care of your needs and made your stay a pleasant one.
Please think of us in the future during your travels thru Winchester, VA

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 March 2014

We were traveling when the storm hit on March 2-4. Stayed here because we had stayed at a Comfort Inn in Harrisonburg on our trip to Florida and had only good things to say about it. Very comfortable beds and great pillows. Check in and out was very quick and easy. Breakfast was delicious. Eggs, bacon, etc one morning and eggs, sausage, etc the second. Had only planned to stay one night but the ice and snow made our decision to stay a second night an easy one. Attached Denny's was a plus. Didn't even have to go outside the hotel in the snow and cold. They had coffee and tea in the lobby, but my wife really wanted some hot chocolate. The gentleman who was shoveling went into the breakfast room and gave me two packets for her. It's things like that, that make a difference. The entire staff was very pleasant. Had one problem with a discount coupon that we had a check in that didn't show up on the bill It was taken care of immediately. We would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank David L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kerry F, General Manager at Comfort Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 7 March 2014

Thank you for taking the time to write this review. My staff and I strive for kind words like you shared. It makes all of our jobs more worthwhile when a guest has a nice stay. We definelty agree the "little things" does count toward making your experience a memorable one.
Thank you again for sharing your experience, and we hope your next visit will be even more pleasant than the previous one.

Sincerely,

Kerry Fulton
GM
Comfort Inn. Winchester, VA
540-667-8894

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 March 2014

Clean both grounds common areas and our room. We stayed in room 104. Large well appointed with tasteful decor. In good condition. The room was very clean, the bath was spotless. Furnishings were comfortable and accommodating. The bed was clean and crisp. The sheet comforter layering was excellent. Pillows plentiful and of good quality. Towels fresh and fluffy. Hvac worked well. Check inn was quick and easy as was check out. Staff very professional and friendly. I believe it was the owner or manager who was also present at the desk during busy check in and check hours. He was there to greet and welcome. He wanted to ensure satisfaction. This man has excellent business strategy. It pays off. We travel with a german shepherd and I will not allow my dog to lay down anyplace that I feel I would not sleep in. We did not have the hot breakfast but judging by the dare and quality of the rest of the hotel I have no doubt ut was very good. Denny's restaurant is attached and made for a convenient evening meal. I will give this hotel 5 stars in its class. Clean, quiet, safe, well furnished and PET FRIENDLY. A winning combination.

Room Tip: Rooms in the 104 to 120 bank excellent for pets for easy outside access
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank suitcaseannie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kerry F, General Manager at Comfort Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 7 March 2014

Wow, You made the owner, the staff and my day, week, month, etc...Thank you for taking the time to write such kind words, and yes that was the owner who was helping at front desk, as you can tell, he is very involved in the business which I think shows..

We very much appreciate and value your feedback and will share it with our team. Your survey responses will serve as encouragement to all of our staff as we strive to continuously improve the quality of our services to provide an exceptional experience for our guests. It is always a pleasure to receive positive feedback.

Thank you again for sharing your experience, and we hope your next visit will be even more pleasant than the previous one.

Sincerely,

Kerry Fulton
GM
Comfort Inn. Winchester, VA
540-667-8894

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 January 2014

I arrived in the dreadful Arctic Vortex storm of January 2014. The hotel and my room were warm. Check-in was no fuss and quick.

I did not mention it as I did not have time but there is a bit of paint peel in the shower. It was just a contrast from all the other nice things in the hotel that this little issue was a distraction.

TV is an upgrade over the older versions. It is an older almost flat TV screen but some of the stations were not as clear as others.

Food was good in the morning.

All the staff was friendly and cheerful.

I will stay here again if I pass this way again.

Plenty of gas stations , restaurants next to the hotel. This hotel was just off the southbound exit of Rte 81. When you are tired you don't want to be driving around trying to find a hotel.

Bed was great. I got a sound sleep and was not disturbed by any activity outside or inside the hotel.

Room Tip: Lots of food, restaurant, beer, soda snack shops nearby. Denny's is a quick brief walk if you wa...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ted M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kerry F, General Manager at Comfort Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 13 January 2014

Thank you for taking the time to fill out this survey with such positive feedback! I have shared your comments with my staff, and they join me in thanking you for your kind words. We take pride in our hotel and the services we provide and we are so glad you enjoyed your stay.

We are looking forward to providing you the same pleasant accommodations and service the next time you are in town.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 January 2014

The rooms are very clean ..and the staff what can I say Donald & Tiffany and EVERYONE else was WONDERFUL !! We were having a rough trip ..Stayed for two days and it was the best two days of the trip ! Best Hotel experience I have ever had ..

Room Tip: Wonderful place to stay
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Lisa Michele C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kerry F, Manager at Comfort Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 6 January 2014

Thank you so very much for your kind words. Its always great to hear our guests are happy and satisfied after staying with us.

We very much appreciate and value your feedback and will share it with our team. Your survey responses will serve as encouragement to all of our staff as we strive to continuously improve the quality of our services to provide an exceptional experience for our guests. It is always a pleasure to receive positive feedback.

Thank you again for sharing your experience, and we hope your next visit will be even more pleasant than the previous one.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 December 2013 via mobile

Nice, clean, friendly staff. Had to stay here for 3 nights, including Christmas Eve and Christmas Day. Was quiet, rooms are nice and comfortable beds. Nice tv, working mini fridge and microwave. They do offer the complimentary breakfast but I did not eat it, because there is a Dennys connected to the hotel via a door in the lobby very convenient. Has 2 clean washers and 2 dryers use the bottom dryer the top doesn't dry all that great. Got a very good rate on the room with a coupon from the hotel coupon book I picked up at the rest area. My only complaint from my entire stay was the shower, no water pressure with that dinky little shower head. Other than that I would give it a 5..

Stayed: December 2013, travelled on business
Thank Teresa L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kerry F, General Manager at Comfort Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 30 December 2013

Thank you for taking the time to comment regarding your recent stay at our hotel.

We very much appreciate and value your feedback and will share it with our team. Your survey serves as our report card and we are striving for straight "A's". We will take care of that shower head that kept us from getting a perfect score and thank you for letting us know.
Thank you again for sharing your experience, and we hope your next visit will be even more pleasant than the previous one.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Winchester hotels
4.3 mi away
Sleep Inn & Suites
Sleep Inn & Suites
#9 of 25 in Winchester
419 reviews
7.3 mi away
Country Inn & Suites by Radisson, Winchester, VA
3.9 mi away
Wingate by Wyndham Winchester
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.9 mi away
Clarion Inn & Conference Center
3 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Winchester
4 mi away
La Quinta Inn & Suites Winchester
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Comfort Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Comfort Inn

Address: 1601 Martinsburg Pike, Winchester, VA 22603-4612
Region: United States > Virginia > Winchester
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#6 Family Hotel in Winchester
#7 Romantic Hotel in Winchester
Price Range: £60 - £82 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Comfort Inn 2.5*
Number of rooms: 82
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Choice Hotels, Expedia, getaroom.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Comfort Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Comfort Hotel Winchester
Comfort Inn Winchester
Winchester Comfort Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing