We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Short stay”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Hampton Inn Winchester-University/Mall Area
Ranked #4 of 25 Hotels in Winchester
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 20 June 2014

Staff was real nice. Hotel showed signs of age, but was clean and quiet. No complaints, but value for age of property wasn't the best, however, this is a very busy area & not a ton of choices. Frieldliness of staff made up for any negatives.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hampton
Thank Paul K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (632)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

453 - 459 of 632 reviews

Reviewed 20 June 2014

great hotel for a over night stay while traveling home. did not have a reservations but Front desk was very welcoming and was very friendly and efficient. Room spotless and comfortable. Breakfast is good for what it is. A hotel breakfast. Would highly recommond. One of the most welcoming Hampton Inns we ever stay in. Thank you team.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hampton
Thank lindenbb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 June 2014

Luxurious room (for a 'budget' motel), with all of the amenities, a great King bed, bedding and pillows, an unheated, outdoor pool and a terrific adjacent fitness area, free parking, close proximity to the Shenandoah University and the Apple Blossom Mall. Standard cable tv plus one or more premium channel(s), free Internet network access, a nice fridge and microwave, and a very pleasant housekeeper. The nightstand on the outside could use an outlet for C-PAPs (I was able to run the hose from the spouse's side). Lots of eateries nearby. Not a single complaint (unusual for us).
..We would have been comfortable here for an extended stay!! We paid a bit more than we're used to, but for one night (the last of our 35-day excursion around the country), we splurged, and were well-satisfied.

Room Tip: No smoky smell in our room on the 1st floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Linda V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 June 2014

Overall good hotel, except smoky smell on floors that were not smoking floors. Staff was helpful with local information. Room was clean, except for odor. Breakfast was good. Great location to interstate and local attractions.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hampton
Thank Mary L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tonya A, General Manager at Hampton Inn Winchester-University/Mall Area, responded to this reviewResponded 2 July 2014

Thank you for your recent stay with us! I'm so sorry that you had to encounter a smoky smell while staying with us. Our hotel will be moving forward with the 100% nonsmoking in October. We do hope you will return to stay with us again!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 June 2014

We were headed to NC last week and found this hotel on our way. It was about 6 PM when we stopped and they girl at the front desk was very nice telling me they did have rooms and the price. The hotel is located by the university so you will not be at a loss for a place to dine. We opted for Bob Evans. There is a walgreens right across the street (we needed a few things) and that was very convenient. Great stay, cozy room, clean and nice. Breakfast was great as well. Great hotel right off I-81 easy off/on.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank WVClairenmaddy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tonya A, General Manager at Hampton Inn Winchester-University/Mall Area, responded to this reviewResponded 2 July 2014

Thank you for your recent stay at our hotel. It is our pleasure having you stay with us! Yes, being in the heart of Winchester, you will never be lost for a great place to eat or shop that is within walking distance of our hotel! We hope to see you soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 May 2014

I stay at this hotel every time I visit Winchester. The experience is always more than positive. It is centrally located, quiet, and the staff goes out of its way to make my stay comfortable. When I return to Winchester, I expect to stay at the Hampton again.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hampton
Thank Martin W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tonya A, General Manager at Hampton Inn Winchester-University/Mall Area, responded to this reviewResponded 5 June 2014

Thank you for your recent stay! It is wonderful to hear that we were able to exceed youe expectations. We strive in guest satisfaction with each and every guest. We look forward to seeing you soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 May 2014

What is it about these southern hotels? Even though the smoking floor is the 4th floor and I'm on the 2nd floor, the place stinks. Just stuck towels by my door hoping that helps. The entire "non-smoking" floor has that sweet, stinky smoking smell. My guess is the entire hotel was probably smoking and when they converted some of the floors they didn't redo the decor. I'm checking out a day early and moving to a place that does a better job of enforcing their rules. Front desk was very nice and the first floor smelled just fine. I guess that's the place to stay.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Fussymary
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tonya A, General Manager at Hampton Inn Winchester-University/Mall Area, responded to this reviewResponded 28 May 2014

Thank you for sharing your feedback about our hotel. We apologize for the odor you encountered during your stay, and we’re taking steps to make sure it won’t happen again. We know that travel can be stressful, and we try hard to make sure all our guests have a rewarding experience at our hotel. We hope you’ll stay with us again in the future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Winchester hotels
3.5 mi away
Country Inn & Suites by Radisson, Winchester, VA
1.9 mi away
Hampton Inn Winchester-North
Hampton Inn Winchester-North
#5 of 25 in Winchester
698 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Winchester
Hilton Garden Inn Winchester
#6 of 25 in Winchester
730 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Wingate by Wyndham Winchester
2.2 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Winchester
0.7 mi away
Holiday Inn Winchester Southeast-Historic Gateway
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hampton Inn Winchester-University/Mall Area? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hampton Inn Winchester-University/Mall Area

Address: 640 E Jubal Early Dr, Winchester, VA 22601-5177
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Virginia > Winchester
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Romantic Hotel in Winchester
#5 Family Hotel in Winchester
#6 Business Hotel in Winchester
Price Range: £81 - £102 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Hampton Inn Winchester-University/Mall Area 2.5*
Number of rooms: 100
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hilton Hotels Direct, Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com, Ebookers, HotelQuickly, 5viajes2012 S.L. and Cancelon so you can book your Hampton Inn Winchester-University/Mall Area reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hampton Inn Winchester-University/Mall Hotel Winchester
Winchester Hampton Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing