We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great hotel- but don't go to breakfast.”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Hampton Inn Winchester-North
Ranked #5 of 25 Hotels in Winchester
Certificate of Excellence
Washington DC, District of Columbia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Great hotel- but don't go to breakfast.”
Reviewed 22 August 2010

I liked this hotel. We stayed overnight. The restaurant in town that was recommended to us was not very good. We got there & there was a 70 people birthday party going on. They were out of entrees that we wanted- it was noisy & parking around the restaurant was limited. We won't go back to this place.
We went for the hot tub and it was worth it. I liked the bed- but I wanted 2 more pillows- i tried to call the front desk- I kept getting a busy signal.

We heard the trucks exiting I81 all night.

Breakfast the next day was not even worth being free. The "scrambled eggs" were so overcooked- I didn't even know you could get that overcooked. The fruit salad was slimy- it must have been a few days old. They should stick to things that don't need any cooking- bananas, apples, cereal, bagels, etc...
I'm been to other Hampton Inns- this was not the best- but it was ok. I didn't go for the free breakfast. I went for the hot tub & not disappointed. I would go back.

  • Stayed August 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Marymadog
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

617 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    323
    202
    52
    30
    10
See reviews for
183
242
48
98
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (74)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Raleigh, North Carolina
Level Contributor
21 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 August 2010

This chain has always been pretty reliable for us in the past. This one is no exception. Bed was comfortable. Wifi was strong. Plenty of towels, etc. We thought the hot water temperature was way too hot. You could scald yourself easily. They could save some money and turn the temperature down a little. The room was clean. The elevator carpet, however, needs some TLC; use the vacuum cleaner crevice nozzle and clean around the the edges! The breakfast was good, too. The room was kind of opened to the lobby and you didn't feel boxed in like some places. We Stayed one night enroute to NC and enjoyed visiting Winchester. It has tons of history starting in Colonial times, and was very interesting. we ate at the Cork St .Pub and had a great time there. We would definitely come back.

  • Stayed August 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TravelerDurham
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Warwick, New York
1 review
Reviewed 23 July 2010

Couple routine maintenance items reported to deak. Handle on sink about to fall off, and shower head not installed tightly, with result aprayed small leak. Nothing drastic.

  • Stayed July 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank kdurland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Balt, MD
1 review
Reviewed 23 July 2010

I selected this Hampton inn for its relatively close proximity to Summit Point Raceway.

Not the best location if you're towing a trailer, but there's seems to be enough room to fit most rigs. The hotel abuts to a residential neighborhood which seemed to be quiet and sedate.
This Hampton Inn lived up to my expectations with a clean room, quiet, fresh breakfast, and courteous service.
I'll stay there again...

  • Stayed July 2010, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TDF31070
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sherman Oaks, CA
Level Contributor
50 reviews
47 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 71 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 July 2010

I stayed one night passing through Winchester. No recognition of my HH Diamond VIP status on checkin, although there was a letter in the room (but no water or other usual Diamond Hampton Inn amenity). The A/C was a little hard to balance. My wife (who has a very sensative nose) thought she smelled smoke in the room. I did not, although air could have been a little fresher. The furnishings seemed on the newer side. Some noticable dings and dents in the walls. doors -- property seems to get heavy use. Generally seemed clean. We did the prepaid, non-cancellable rate of around $80. A walkup in front of me checking in (11:00 PM) was quoted $110. Pays to reserve in advance. It seems like a popular property with the parking lot nearly full on our checkin and others coming in behind us.

One strong highligh was the wonderful lady running the breakfast room. She really worked hard and was among the friendliest people I have run into in a while. She really brightened my day.

  • Stayed July 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TransCon1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Charlotte, North Carolina
1 review
Reviewed 20 July 2010

We have stayed here several times en route from the Carolinas to New Jersey. It is a convenient location, easy on/off, with many restaurants nearby. Always friendly service too.

Stayed July 2010, travelled with family
Helpful?
Thank BRyanSC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Greeneville, Tennessee
Level Contributor
20 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 July 2010

I already knew Hampton Inns for their cleanliness and comfort. But at the Winchester North Hampton Inn (exit 315 off I-81), I was treated to hospitality above and beyond. Yes, there were the usual fresh baked cookies waiting for me at the front desk. Yes, the desk clerk was friendly during my arrival process. But we had a sudden and severe downpour as I arrived. Someone else was already parked in the entryway for protection from the rain. I pulled in at an angle to try to keep fairly dry while I unloaded stuff from the car. The manager offered me an umbrella, and told me to stay in the portico for as long as I needed to. Then, when I mentioned wanting to go out for Italian food, the desk clerk handed me a menu from a local restaurant, and said they would deliver to the hotel. You couldn't ask for more hospitality!

  • Stayed July 2010, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank hillivie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Winchester hotels
5.4 mi away
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Winchester
1.9 mi away
Hampton Inn Winchester-University/Mall Area
1.2 mi away
The George Washington A Wyndham Grand Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.1 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Winchester
Hilton Garden Inn Winchester
#6 of 25 in Winchester
4.5 of 5 bubbles 662 reviews
2.0 mi away
Wingate by Wyndham Winchester
2.2 mi away
Sleep Inn & Suites
Sleep Inn & Suites
#9 of 25 in Winchester
4.0 of 5 bubbles 389 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hampton Inn Winchester-North? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hampton Inn Winchester-North

Property: Hampton Inn Winchester-North
Address: 1204 Berryville Ave, Winchester, VA 22601-5942
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Virginia > Winchester
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Romantic Hotel in Winchester
#5 Business Hotel in Winchester
#8 Family Hotel in Winchester
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Hampton Inn Winchester-North 2.5*
Number of rooms: 100
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Here at the Hampton Inn®N/Convention Center, we're eager to make your stay more pleasant. Our 100 amenity-filled rooms will relax you. Feel like a run or swim? Our exercise room and outdoor pool are ready for you. When you need to get a little work done you can use our complimentary high speed internet, or employ our business center, conference room or meeting room (which accommodates up to 250 people). Lastly, when you're looking for advice on what to do and where to eat near our hotel in Winchester, just ask our in-house experts (that would be, of course, anyone on our friendly Hampton team).If you make the Hampton Inn® & Conference Center your headquarters on your next trip to Virginia, you'll be in good company. After all, George Washington's first office was here in our historic town. President James Madison lived here at Belle Grove Plantation. The brilliant strategist and Civil War general, Stonewall Jackson, also made Winchester his home base. You may still see his headquarters and Washington's office today. Like much of the town, we've preserved both. They're just minutes from our hotel in Winchester. While you're here, make sure to explore our historic district, just 1.5 miles from our hotel. But wear your walking shoes. Our district spans an incredible 45 blocks. Once you're done downtown, don't miss our other attractions such as the Patsy Cline Driving Tour, the Apple Blossom Mall and the beauty of the Shenandoah Valley. It's all just minutes away. So come check into the Hampton Inn & Conference Center, your home base in historic Virginia. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travel Republic (UK), Hotels.com, Expedia, Hilton Hotels Direct, Priceline, Hotel.de, Booking.com, HRS, getaroom.com, Evoline ltd, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hampton Inn Winchester-North reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hampton Inn North Hotel Winchester
Hampton Inn Winchester
Winchester Hampton Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing