We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Close to perfect”
Review of Econo Lodge North

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Econo Lodge North
Ranked #22 of 25 Hotels in Winchester
Reviewed 4 January 2013

what a nice, clean, quiet place to place. the owner and his wife are very friendly. rooms are spacious and very clean. simple breakfast, about what you'd expect. don't really have anything negative to say and that's not usually my way. if simple breakfast isn't enough, Denny's restaurant is just 15yds. away. wow, that came in real handy during the snow we had while we stayed here. maids really do their jobs. would def stay here again.

Room Tip: parking lot faces only one side of hotel. only two entrances to rooms whose entrances are on the in...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Gordon R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (64)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

46 - 52 of 64 reviews

Reviewed 24 October 2012

Building is very dated. Room was basically clean, but mattress was horribly soft and saggy. Breakfast as advertised consisted of coffee, pastries and juice. However, the orange juice was that in color only, as it tasted as close to water as one can imagine. It is convenient to I-81 and there is a Denny's Restaurant in the same parking lot, but that's about all it has going for it. They also had signs warning anyone caught filling a cooler with ice from their ice machine would be charged a $20 fine. Really? It’s just frozen water that is needed by travelers who haven paid and chosen to stay at this hotel!

  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank GTPM
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 September 2012

I will join the other reviewers and say that although this is an older facility, I had a pleasant stay. The room was clean, one of the cleanest smelling rooms when I first walked in of any place I have ever stayed. I did not check out the breakfast room as I needed to get going in the morning. I would stay here again and recommend it to friends and family.

  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank CRBug
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 September 2012

as my mother used to say about her cooking, it's not very fancy. but, for my money, a very good place to stay when you are in winchester. the other guests with whom i spoke during the (free) breakfast time all agreed. an older place, but well built with good sound insulation. very clean. fridge and micro in the room. and a good price. unless you are expecting all the trimmings, you can't go wrong here. as another reviewer put it well, a lot of bang for the buck.

  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank willizannah
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 August 2012

Tried to change my reservation to one night later and thought everything was fine until I came the next night and they didn't have my reservation. Sure enough went and looked and those crooked thieves had charged me for the night before. Tried to get them to refund the money, but the crooked choice hotel thieves wouldn't help me. Stay here if you don't think business ethic and customer service are important virtues any more.

  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank seitzjus
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 February 2012

We stayed for one night en route to Florida from Ottawa. The last time we stayed at the Comfort Inn across the parking lot, but found the walls to be too thin.

This place is likely older, but is in good shape and the room was quiet. We stayed on the side away from the Interstate and it was quite quiet.

Breakfast was minimal, but what do you expect for $48 for 2 including taxes.

We will stay again at this hotel for sure.

  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank BobOttawa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 November 2011

We needed a place near Winchester so we could tour Skyline Drive. The room was nicely furnished and clean. The desk clerk was very cordial and offered suggestions on restaurants. There was also a Dennys nest door.

  • Stayed: November 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank LeoinNJ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Winchester hotels
0.1 mi away
Comfort Inn
Comfort Inn
#13 of 25 in Winchester
231 reviews
3.9 mi away
Red Roof Inn Winchester
Red Roof Inn Winchester
#17 of 25 in Winchester
322 reviews
3.8 mi away
Best Western Lee-Jackson Inn & Conference Center
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.0 mi away
La Quinta Inn & Suites Winchester
4.3 mi away
Sleep Inn & Suites
Sleep Inn & Suites
#10 of 25 in Winchester
414 reviews
5.4 mi away
Holiday Inn Winchester Southeast-Historic Gateway
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Econo Lodge North? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Econo Lodge North

Address: 1593 Martinsburg Pike, Winchester, VA 22603-5404
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Virginia > Winchester
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #22 of 25 Hotels in Winchester
Price Range: £44 - £66 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Econo Lodge North 2*
Number of rooms: 50
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Choice Hotels, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Expedia, HotelsClick, Evoline ltd, Cancelon, HotelQuickly and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Econo Lodge North reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing