We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Ok, if you're on a road trip with a dog”
2 of 5 bubbles Review of aloft Winchester

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
aloft Winchester
Ranked #14 of 25 Hotels in Winchester
Atlanta, GA
Level Contributor
19 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Ok, if you're on a road trip with a dog”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 September 2013 via mobile

Eh, very weird hotel. We're Starwood members and I'll admit I hate the W hotel chain and Aloft is a "vision of W Hotels". However, we were travelling with our dog and the location is a perfect overnight.

First, we checked in and with our dog went to our room. Opps, they gave us a room already occupied. Creepy and annoying! That was a first.

Ok, got a new room. These rooms are super ugly, office lighting, but whatever. Very thin walls, your dog will not sleep well keeping guard. You won't sleep well, crappy beds, cement pillows. What is the weird idea of a window to the shower? So stupid, so W hotels.

I understand they have college kids living there. That explains the boys carrying cases of beer in the elevator. Again, weird.

The termastat didn't work, the a/c was noisy and spuratic. The room wasn't very clean...really, dental floss stuck to the wall near the floor..gross. Housekeeping needs a bit more attention.

The next morning discovered no coffee packets by the coffee maker. "We're all out" they said. Well great, that just was the icing on the cake.

May not be worth accruing starwood points even if travelling with our dog. Just weird. I will say though, the staff was pleasant. I bet it's an embarrasing place to work for!

  • Stayed September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank teaaek
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Karen M, Starwood Hotels at aloft Winchester, responded to this review, 24 September 2013
Dear teaaek,
Thank you for taking the time to share your thoughts regarding your recent stay in Winchester. We're sorry to hear that this stay did not meet your expectations and do encourage you to try our other 8 lifestyle brands. Aloft Hotels is very different in design featuring urban, loft-inspired open spaces and caters to the tech savvy, self sufficient travelers. This brand may not be the best fit for your travel style, however, that is why Starwood has 8 other unique lifestyle brands for you to choose from! Thanks again for sharing.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

472 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    174
    171
    77
    34
    16
See reviews for
140
169
35
56
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (85)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Annapolis, Maryland
Level Contributor
16 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 September 2013

So I got the Groupon for two nights, was in Winchester to visit family. I was traveling with my sister and our two kids, ages four and two. Checked in the first night around 10pm. There was a live singer in the lobby, as loud as any bar I have ever been to. Trying to communicate with the guy checking me in was interesting, basically yelling in each others faces, like at a bar. Fortunately, by the time I was checked in and got the kids in, the set was over. It was the most unprofessional customer service I have ever experienced, though I don't fault the hotel employee he seemed irritated too. Room was okay, super modern like other reviewers said, not a super comfortable bed, but clean and above average hotel coffee.

Next night we drive up, it's about 9pm and there looks to be a full on night club in the lobby. Fortunately we could take the kids through a side entrance, while getting them out of the car there were some boys chasing other boys through the parking lot, not playing tag. The hallways were very loud, it sounded like the party downstairs had carried up to some of the rooms. It was disturbing for us because we had the kids. When we got back to the room housekeeping had come, kind of. There were fresh towels but the beds weren't made. There was one new complimentary bottle of water, and the other was half empty with the complimentary tag placed on it. We didn't know if it was one we didn't finish or if housekeeping had it on the cart or what! Are those policy's or was our housekeeper trying to hurry to get ready for the party?

Okay so when we go to check out the most professional and nicest girl helped us, actually all the staff was good, she just didn't have to scream over any live music. So if your kids are twenty-one or over this may be the place for you, if you have little ones I'd pick another hotel.

Room Tip: Ask to be as far from the lobby as possible.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank sarelli15
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Karen M, Starwood Hotels at aloft Winchester, responded to this review, 19 September 2013
Dear sarelli15,
Thank you for taking the time to share your thoughts regarding your recent trip to Winchester with the family. We're sorry to hear your recent visit did not meet your expectations. Aloft Hotels does promote a social vibe allowing our travelers to meet, mix, and mingle with each other. That being said, it should never seem like a "night club" and we will definitely take a look at our volume levels and adjust. Our guest rooms feature platform beds which do take some getting used to if you normally sleep on a boxspring bed. We apologize for the housekeeping service you received. We will take your comments back to our team and re-educate them with the guest room standards and expectations. Thanks again for sharing and we hope this experience does not deter you to try us out again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
USA
Level Contributor
295 reviews
222 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 637 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 September 2013

This is a typical Aloft and pretty new looking. Hotel is in great shape with nice pool and gym. Big breakfast area for the morning and overall appearance is quite good. Secure parking lot, well lit, and rooms are in pretty good shape. I would stay here again. Economical price for a hotel that is better than economical.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Larry8241
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Karen M, Starwood Hotels at aloft Winchester, responded to this review, 19 September 2013
Dear Larry8421,
Thank you for your positive feedback. We're happy to hear you enjoyed the hotel and the value. We look forward to hosting you again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cincinnati
Level Contributor
161 reviews
45 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 64 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 September 2013

This is not your basic chain hotel by any stretch of the imagination. The decor is more postmodern, or, as one reviewer said, cold and industrial. Yes. And interesting. The design of the room is efficient and attractive. Nice public facilities including indoor pool, bar, and snack area with reasonably priced snacks.

The bed was comfortable. I could have used more towels and coffee. In summary, this hotel offers good value for the price.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank WVUNeal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Karen M, Starwood Hotels at aloft Winchester, responded to this review, 19 September 2013
Dear WVUNeal,
Thank you for your positive feedback. We're glad you enjoyed your stay and our loft-inspired decor. We hope you stay with us again the next time you're in the Winchester area.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Belle Vernon, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
100 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 76 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 September 2013

This was to be my wife's birthday weekend with friends and we got a Groupon for 2 nights stay for a wine tasting weekend. The hotel is modern looking, maybe a little too modern for us. The rooms are sparsely furnished, just an office chair to sit on and a king bed. The bed was comfortable for sleeping or maybe it was the wine that put us down for the night. Very modern, plenty of outlets for plugging in any number of items from cell phones to laptops. Large flat screen TV on the wall, but the picture was washout because not every channel is in HD.

The hotel also has the Wxyz lounge. Saturday night was salsa night, and it was loud even five floors up at 1AM in the morning. No Continental breakfast, but if you want a coffee or a pop tart, they sell them in the lobby in the morning. We found ourselves across the street at the Dunkin' Donuts.

One things we immediately noticed was the lobby area was not kept. Their is a pool table in a common area near the check-in desk and it was littered from the night before with candy wrappers and newspapers on the floor and furniture. The lobby television(s) were not on or inoperable or they had them turned off. The 4 or 5 televisions in the lounge were all on, but on the same channel... we found that confusing.

Exercise room, pool and hallways to the rooms were clean, however the elevators could use a wipe down.

For the value of the Groupon package we received, it was acceptable, but at full rate I would have been doing a lot of complaining during our weekend stay.

Room Tip: Check Groupon for package discounts, otherwise I would find another hotel in the area that offers a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Limo_George
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Karen M, Starwood Hotels at aloft Winchester, responded to this review, 19 September 2013
Dear Limo_George,
Thank you for your online review. Aloft Hotels is one of Starwood Hotel's nine lifestyle brands and well a good fit for tech savvy, self-sufficient travelers and may not fit everyone's travel style. Aloft Hotels promotes open spaces and vibrant energy ideal for travelers to meet, mix, and mingle with other guests. We only offer free coffee daily, however, we do have made-to-order breakfast options (like waffles and breakfast sandwiches) available for purchase at Re:fuel, our 24-hour pantry. Thanks again for your comments and we hope to welcome you back in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Greensboro, North Carolina
Level Contributor
26 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 September 2013

We loved how well designed & thought out this hotel is. Normally, to have conveniences like this, you would have to stay in a major urban market and pay triple the price.
From the concession area to the bar to the swimming pool, elevator & rooms, this is one of the most modern hotels we've ever stayed. We absolutely loved our stay.
There was one problem, though. The wireless network is completely open, meaning there is no password required. This convenience also means there is no security protecting your e-mail account. For the first time in 15 years of daily use of my e-mail, my account was hacked & a spammer e-mailed everyone in my contact list to try to sell them weight loss supplements. Not a good thing.
If aloft would simply put security on their wireless internet, I would give them 5 stars.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jan L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Karen M, Starwood Hotels at aloft Winchester, responded to this review, 19 September 2013
Dear Jan L,
Thank you for your positive review. We're thrilled to hear you enjoyed our urban-inspired hotel. We're sorry to hear that someone hacked into your email account, that is never fun. We will definitely take your feedback regarding the wireless connection to our management team. Thanks again for staying and we hope to welcome you back soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
12 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 September 2013 via mobile

If you need a hotel that accepts dogs without charging extra, aloft does. We stay here only we when we have a dog with us. We've taken advantage of their 40% off 2d day stays which makes their rate more appealing. During one of our stays, there was a sizable party going on right off the lobby. Fun maybe if you're an attendee, less fun you're dragging your luggage through to the elevator. Also dispells any quiet relaxed atmosphere if that's what you're wanting.

  • Stayed July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TwoTerriers2010
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Karen M, Starwood Hotels at aloft Winchester, responded to this review, 10 September 2013
Dear TwoTerriers2010,
Thank you for taking the time to share your thoughts. We're glad to hear that your recent stay met your expectations and allowed you to travel with your entire family. We hope your pups had a great time as well. Aloft Hotels does provide travelers with an open concept lobby area designed to let our guests meet and mingle with others while on the road. Thanks again for your comments and we hope to see you and your pups back in Winchester soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Winchester hotels
3.6 mi away
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Winchester
1.9 mi away
The George Washington A Wyndham Grand Hotel
0.4 mi away
Sleep Inn & Suites
Sleep Inn & Suites
#8 of 25 in Winchester
4.0 of 5 bubbles 382 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Holiday Inn Winchester Southeast-Historic Gateway
0.5 mi away
BEST WESTERN Lee-Jackson Inn & Conference Center
0.9 mi away
Wingate by Wyndham Winchester
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to aloft Winchester? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about aloft Winchester

Property: aloft Winchester
Address: 1055 Milwood Pike, Rt. 50 East, Winchester, VA 22602
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Virginia > Winchester
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#10 Romantic Hotel in Winchester
#13 Family Hotel in Winchester
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — aloft Winchester 3*
Number of rooms: 99
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Aloft Winchester Hotelis nestled in Winchester, VA, a community tucked away in picturesque Shenandoah Valley and full of history. Whether you have half a day to enjoy or are planning a week long vacation, our Winchester hotel's accessible location and hip style will answer all your needs. Enjoy our hotel amenities, whether you meet, mix and mingle at w xyzSM bar or play in re:mixSM lounge. Or for a change of scenery, head out and about and peruse the Historic District for the perfect gift and step foot on some of our nation's Civil War battle sites. You will be glad you made the trip! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Travel Republic (UK), Expedia, Ebookers, Booking.com, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your aloft Winchester reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Aloft Winchester Hotel Winchester

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing