We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“not too bad”
Review of Towne Place Suites

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Towne Place Suites
Ranked #17 of 25 Hotels in Winchester
Winchester, Virginia
Level Contributor
57 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“not too bad”
Reviewed 3 September 2013

not sure what was going on but they had housekeeping working until after 8 pm on Fri- they were vacuuming the room next to ours. The walls are a bit thin- beds ok. I wish they had more than 1 bathroom in the 2 br suite. Breakfast was fair- waffles, cereal fruit yogurt and jimmy dean sandwiches- wish they had more selection- staff was friendly enough

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank LI MASS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

262 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    80
    98
    48
    22
    14
See reviews for
108
91
22
19
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (58)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Peapack-Gladstone, New Jersey
Level Contributor
10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 August 2013 via mobile

We stopped here on our way to NJ. We had our two dogs and the experience was great from the time we checked in! Such a courteous staff and the suites are clean, well equipped and so comfortable! This is a great value for sure. We will be back!

  • Stayed August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank blueH20lover
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Huntington, West Virginia
Level Contributor
44 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 August 2013

On arriving at this hotel, the grounds are well-kept, the lobby is clean & attractive. The front desk personnel is friendly & accommodating. That's where it stops. The hallway carpeting was stained & dirty. The guest rooms are in real need of updating. The kitchenette cabinets & floors were dirty (felt the need to wash any glass or plate used from the cabinets). Had the need to move both the occasional chair & sofa bed in the living area & found trash left from the previous guests. Carpeting was stained in the living are & bedroom. This hotel is a pet friendly on all floors, although we have pets of our own, we do not appreciate this hotels standard of each floor being pet friendly & NOT changing top bedding between guests. (Woke up to previous guests pet hair in our mouths, a pretty nasty situation.) Our room remained this way during our entire stay, even after requesting housekeeping clean the room more thoroughly & to change the top bedding. Outdoor pool seemed appealing until we saw that the pool liner seemed filthy. Had reserved for four nights but left after the third night. We have future reservations at a Townplace Suites in NC but have decided to cancel those reservations & stay at another hotel. (Spoke with the general manager after our stay & she did award us 5,000 reward points for our displeasure. Although that did not change our opinion of this hotel.)

Room Tip: Request pet free room (or do not stay here).
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank marty067
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Clermont, Florida
Level Contributor
255 reviews
63 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 103 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 August 2013 via mobile

As a person who spends 60 nights a year in hotels, this is the worst Marriott property I have ever been too. First, don't let the beautiful outside fool you. The checkin process was way slow, no big deal. Upon arriving in the room, the window looking outside was all child fingerprints, smudges, and even lip marks. It appeared that it hadn't been cleaned in months. All of the dirt and clouding on it didn't come from the last guest, or even the last week. The clock was flashing, hairs all over the shower walls, ceiling light in bathroom not working, which made me notice that the ventilation fan hadn't been cleaned in years, if ever. Could it get worse, yes. Down to fitness center for a walk. First teeadmill kept stopping for no reason and resetting. No biggie, I'll just use the other one. TV not working on that one, no video input. I would say this hotel is a few years old, and the housekeeping department has never thoroughly cleaned anything. As far as maintenance, I doubt I'm the first person to report thetreadmills. Like some others have said, staff is real friendly, but that doesn't translate to a good stay. A real disappointment for a Marriott property. My first experience with a TownPlace Suites, and last.

Stayed August 2013, travelled solo
Helpful?
2 Thank Jeffrey S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pittsburgh, PA
Level Contributor
29 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 August 2013

I recently spent a long weekend at this establishment and have both positive and negative things to share about it.

Positive:
We were traveling with our dog and were quite happy to find a place that is pet friendly; however, if you are not a fan of dogs and other pets, your feelings about the hotel’s pet policy may differ from mine. Also, dogs are allowed at the pool area, but have to remain on leash; this was nice because it gave our dog a chance to get some fresh air. (We chose a time when the pool wasn’t busy to take advantage of this. We didn’t want to disturb or inconvenience other guests.) People were very responsible when it came to their pets; I didn’t hear any dogs barking during our stay, and saw a lot of owners picking up after their dogs.

The location of the hotel was wonderful for our purposes. It is approximately three miles from Old Town Winchester. It is also less than three miles from several grocery stores; therefore, you can easily pick up groceries and use your in-suite kitchen. For those who enjoy wineries, keep in mind that you are only 20 minutes from Veramar Vineyard, which was an excellent find. There are also tons of other wineries for you to choose from.

We were able to get a great price on the room through Marriott’s web site. This was an added bonus.

Negative:
While our suite appeared to be clean, I noticed that some items could have used additional attention. For example, my dog dropped dog food on the kitchen floor, and when I wiped it up with a wet paper towel, I saw that the towel was extremely dirty from the floor itself. Also, something was splattered on one of the lights in the kitchen, but never cleaned.

Overall:
Overall, if I were traveling with my dog again and in the area, I would stay at this hotel. If you are looking for perfection though, then this may not be the place for you.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Writer416
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Augusta, Georgia
Level Contributor
102 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 August 2013

This hotel had some of the friendliest people at the desk that we have ever encountered in our travels. They did have recognition of our Platinum status & our requests of a room on a higher floor away from the elevator was honored. We were in room 408(king studio with a sofa bed). It had a kitchen with nice Whirlpool microwave, dishwasher, regular refrigerator & stovetop and was stocked with utensils, etc. The room appeared to have new carpet but the mattress on the bed was way too soft for our liking although the bedding was very clean & fresh. The bathroom had a tub/shower combo, good lighting, fan, smallish vanity & really clean but towels were poor quality. The parking lot was large & well lit and they have a nice outside area with tables and grill. Breakfast was so-so but do have a waffle maker. We would definitely stay here again if in the area!

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank stinkytoes10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania, United States
Level Contributor
24 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 August 2013

We stayed here on the way to Virginia Beach and on the way home. Both times we were greeted with smiling faces! The room was clean and worked perfectly for our family of four. My kids used the pull out bed. The space between the bed and the pull out bed is minimal, but we weren't staying long in the room, so we pulled it out only when it was bed time. The breakfast was good and fed us enough to get moving both mornings. We will definitely consider staying here again the next time we pass through Winchester.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Julie K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Winchester hotels
5.9 mi away
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Winchester
0.6 mi away
Hampton Inn Winchester-North
Hampton Inn Winchester-North
#5 of 25 in Winchester
4.5 of 5 bubbles 617 reviews
1.8 mi away
The George Washington A Wyndham Grand Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.7 mi away
Sleep Inn & Suites
Sleep Inn & Suites
#9 of 25 in Winchester
4.0 of 5 bubbles 389 reviews
2.5 mi away
Wingate by Wyndham Winchester
2.4 mi away
Best Western Lee-Jackson Inn & Conference Center
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Towne Place Suites? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Towne Place Suites

Property: Towne Place Suites
Address: 170 Getty Ln, Winchester, VA 22603-4835
Region: United States > Virginia > Winchester
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #17 of 25 Hotels in Winchester
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Towne Place Suites 2.5*
Number of rooms: 109
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Odigeo, Travel Republic (UK), Priceline, Marriott, Traveltool, S.L.U., HRS, Cancelon, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Towne Place Suites reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Towneplace Suites Winchester Hotel Winchester

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing