We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The elevator door bites!!”
Review of Sleep Inn & Suites

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Sleep Inn & Suites
Ranked #9 of 25 Hotels in Winchester
West Henrietta, New York
Level Contributor
76 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“The elevator door bites!!”
Reviewed 6 April 2014

..Adquate 'free' breakfast, nice room, convenient location, and a good night's sleep on a stormy night in December. No complaints - worthy of a 5, and a return visit someday - until, while preparing to load our luggage cart onto the elevator that evening, the door closed quite forcefully onto the hand that was 'holding the safety' to prevent it from closing. Be careful!! Apparently, the safety bar doesn't exist. You need to hold the door open (if it's an optical safety, it must require you to put your hand in even farther than I did, to prevent closure).
...Watch the kiddies!! It appears to be designed that way - nothing malfunctioned. At the desk they proudly stated that it recently passed inspections. While startled, I tried several times to pull the arm out quickly. Finally, the door opened by itself after the damage was done (no blood, just bruises). The back of my hand still hurts after five months. We'll try the nearby Hampton for next month's overnight.

Room Tip: Ask for a room on the lower level, or take your chances!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Linda V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Beck K, DOO at Sleep Inn & Suites, responded to this review, 5 May 2014
Dear Linda V,

Thank you very much for taking the time to submit your review about our property. We greatly appreciate your honest feedback. Thank you for bringing the issue with the elevator door to our attention, we sincerely apologize for that. After we got your review, we had a meeting with the elevator servicing company. They have re-inspected the elevator, but did not find any malfunctioning. I will double check with them to find out more information on how to avoid any issues with the elevator door.

Should you have any questions or concerns, please do not hesitate to call us. Our phone number is 540-667-7636.

Thank you,

Beck Kasymbekov
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

391 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    151
    150
    60
    15
    15
See reviews for
137
141
25
42
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (92)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Locust, North Carolina
1 review
Reviewed 27 March 2014

We are only staying one night, but it is one night too long. While checking in at the front desk, the clerk confirmed I wanted a non smoking room. We step off the elevator on the third floor and the stench of cigarette smoke heavily doused in air freshener. The room has the same nauseating smell. I went to shower off the six drive with a hot shower and got more than I bargained for. The temperature would go from perfect to scalding to ice cold every 30 seconds or so. Thank goodness I tried it before giving my daughter a shower.
The rusty fixtures need to be update. A towel rack would be nice instead of piling up the used towels on the floor. The gigantic desk should be replaced with drawers for guests to put their clothing in.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Heather W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Beck K, DO at Sleep Inn & Suites, responded to this review, 31 March 2014
Dear Heather W,

Thank you for taking the time to review our hotel on TripAdvisor. I apologize that you were not completely satisfied with your experience and on behalf of our entire team I would like to extend our sincerest apologies for any inconveniences that you had.

We take all guests comments very seriously and continuously try to improve our services. We want all of our guests to have a relaxing and enjoyable experience. I hope that you will give us another chance. Please do not hesitate to contact me if I can be of any further assistance.

Thank you,

Beck Kasymbekov
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Waynesboro, Virginia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 17 March 2014

I have been staying at the Sleep Inn in Winchester for about a month now. My friend said it was a great place to stay so i gave it a try. When i show up i am always greeted with a smiling face, and i feel as if i am coming home rather than staying the night. The staff is always there to lend a hand when i am booking other reservations or I have a question regarding Choice Privledges. Breakfast is great, and there is a lot to choose from. They also have an indoor heated pool which is really nice after a long day of driving. I will continue to stay at this hotel and i would reccommend it to anyone in the area.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank David M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Beck K, DO at Sleep Inn & Suites, responded to this review, 31 March 2014
Dear David M,

Thank you for taking the time to submit your review about the Sleep Inn & Suites, Winchester, VA on TripAdvisor. We are blessed for the fact that you chose our services and staying with us for a long time. We do greatly value your business.

Thank you for the detailed review and your kind words. I have shared your great feedback with our team.

Thank you again and see you next week!

Sincerely,

Beck Kasymbekov
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Watertown, New York
Level Contributor
38 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 January 2014 via mobile

Once again stayed at this hotel this week on our way to Florida. This has become our go to destination when traveling south or returning from a trip there. The front desk staff is always exceptional..welcoming everyone pleasantly and offering whatever help might be needed..rooms are always clean and quiet and breakfast more than adequate.

Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank Barbara L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manager G, Director of Operations at Sleep Inn & Suites, responded to this review, 3 February 2014
Dear Barbara L,

Thank you very much for trusting our services and deciding to stay with us once again. We are happy to know that we became your home away from home. :) That means we are on a right track. We appreciate your mentioning about our services and our team’s customer service skills.

I do hope you had a great trip to Florida. Stay warm!

Please give us a call on your way back, we would love to see you with again!

Thank you,

Beck Kasymbekov
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Abingdon, Virginia
Level Contributor
11 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 January 2014

On our way to Staunton, Va , we were looking for a comfortable hotel.We had planned to stay in Charles Town, WV. Most of the hotels were right beside Interstate 81 and we knew the traffic noise would be horrific.We stopped in the Virginia Welcome Center to pick up some travel guides to locate a hotel off the Interstate. We found the Sleep Inn on Costello Dr in Winchester and decided to check it out. Although we had a late arrival,we were warmly greeted by the Hostess. The rate was wonderful thanks to a coupon we found in the travel guide ( check them out at most Welcome Centers).This was our first experience with Sleep Inn and we were not sure what to expect. Needless worry, our room was very clean and comfortable. We had a filling breakfast the next morning(the coffee was so good). In the process of checking out, we discovered the Day Hostess was from our area.We had a long conversation with her and actually knew some of the same people.Small world!! This was a wonderful stay in a nice , clean hotel with great employees. Thanks Fern for being so nice to us. You will our choice if we ever stay in Winchester again.

Room Tip: This was a very quiet hotel as it was located away from the Interstate.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Phoebe K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manager G, Director of opeartions at Sleep Inn & Suites, responded to this review, 15 January 2014
Dear Phoebe K,

Thank you very much for choosing the Sleep Inn & Suites, Winchester, VA! We are glad to know that you enjoyed your stay with us and very happy to know the fact that you took the time to share your experience with the Tripadvisor community. You are absolutely right, we are 3 traffic lights away from the interstate i-81, but guests staying with us will not even hear a hint of noise from the busy interstate. I will be very happy to share your feedback with Fern and other team members.

We look forward to seeing you with us!

Beck Kasymbekov
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Petersburg, West Virginia
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 January 2014

Jan. 2, 2014 was our most recent stay at Sleep Inn on Costello Drive. As always we found this a good place to stay. Staff have been consistently friendly and helpful in a sincere manner. We have seen several of the staff over a period of years. Rooms, although relatively small, are clean, beds comfortable, and the bathroom clean with enough towels. Breakfast is good with hot and cold choices. The breakfast area staffer was on her toes keeping tables cleared and cleaned, making sure food and drink was available and helping guests find items, all done in an unobtrusive way with a friendly face. Important to me, a computer is available for guest use .Outside is well kept with good parking. During our stay snow was being kept off the driveway even as it was coming down. From all appearances the motel is in a friendly neighborhood. The location is only a short distance from I/S 81, next door to Golden Corral, with several resturants 5 min drive away. Costo is directly across the street.

Room Tip: My wife and I like two queen beds which give more room to "spead out" than the king bed ro...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Jerry B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manager G, Director of operations at Sleep Inn & Suites, responded to this review, 15 January 2014
Dear Jerry B,

I would like to thank you for choosing our services for all these years. Because of guests like you, we are still in business and still trying all our best to offer the great possible service to our customers. Thank you very much for your support!

On behalf of our entire team I would like to extend our thanks to you for your positive and sincere feedback. We greatly value all those nice words written about our services and team members. I will make sure to share your feedback with them. I am sure they will be thrilled to learn. Additionally, thank you for mentioning about local restaurants. As most of our guests know, there are four to five restaurants, where our guests can get 10% discount. Just show your room key and the key envelope. :) Golden Corral is one them.

Again thank you for staying with us and we look forward to serving you again,

Beck Kasymbekov
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Irmo, South Carolina
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 January 2014

We stayed here one night on our Thanksgiving travels. Great hotel! Nice lobby, comfortable rooms, good breakfast. Both ladies working the front desk were very friendly. The hotel looks like it has been renovated recently. Very nice stay. Way to go Sleep Inn

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Mandy W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manager G, General Manager at Sleep Inn & Suites, responded to this review, 3 January 2014
Dear Mandy W,

Happy New Year!

Thank you for choosing the Sleep Inn and Suites, Winchester, VA. We appreciate your great feedback and are definitely happy that you enjoyed your stay with us. We are glad that you liked our lobby, enjoyed the breakfast and found our rooms comfortable. I will be happy to pass along your kind compliments to our Front Desk Associates and entire team. We are planning on renovating of all our rooms this year.
Thank you,

Beck Kasymbekov
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Winchester hotels
3.2 mi away
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Winchester
0.5 mi away
Best Western Lee-Jackson Inn & Conference Center
0.1 mi away
Holiday Inn Winchester Southeast-Historic Gateway
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
Wingate by Wyndham Winchester
4.3 mi away
Comfort Inn
Comfort Inn
#12 of 25 in Winchester
217 reviews
0.7 mi away
Hampton Inn Winchester-University/Mall Area
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sleep Inn & Suites? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sleep Inn & Suites

Property: Sleep Inn & Suites
Address: 140 Costello Dr, Winchester, VA 22602-4306
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Virginia > Winchester
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Family Hotel in Winchester
#4 Romantic Hotel in Winchester
#4 Business Hotel in Winchester
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2 star — Sleep Inn & Suites 2*
Number of rooms: 72
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Sleep Inn & Suites hotel in Winchester VA near Shenandoah UniversityThe Sleep Inn & Suites® hotel is conveniently located in the charming town of Winchester, less than one mile from Shenandoah University. This Winchester VA hotel is close to the Winchester Medical Center, the Winchester Regional Airport, Dinosaur Land theme park and Summit Point Raceway.For history buffs, the Winchester area is home to George Washington's Office Museum, the Stonewall Jackson House, the Stonewall Jackson Museum at Hupp's Hill, the Old Court House Civil War Museum, the historic Belle Grove Plantation and Cedar Creek Battlefield.For shoppers, Millwood Crossing, a renovated apple-packing warehouse, is home to several specialty shops, galleries and apple products. Visitors will enjoy an array of restaurants and cocktail lounges located in the surrounding area.Guests of this Winchester VA hotel will wake up each morning to a Free Morning Medley Hot Breakfast, including hard-boiled eggs, hot and cold cereals, Danishes, assorted breads and muffins, fresh Belgian waffles, fresh fruits, juice and, of course, the selective coffee.The hotel also offers additional amenities and features, such as free local calls, free weekday newspapers and free wireless high-speed Internet access.For a special treat, take a dip in the indoor heated pool. To keep everyone in shape, the on-site fitness center features a variety of cardiovascular and weight training equipment.Those traveling on business will appreciate conveniences like data ports, voice-mail, telephones and the business center, complete with computer, Internet access and fax and copy machines.All tastefully decorated guest rooms come equipped with coffee makers, hair dryers, irons, ironing boards and cable television with HBO. All rooms feature additional amenities like microwaves and refrigerators. Whirlpool suites and handicap accessible and non-smoking rooms are also available.Coin-operated laundry facilities and valet cleaning services are provided for guest convenience. The Sleep Inn & Suites hotel provides friendly customer service, relaxing accommodations and affordable rates to all types of travelers.We look forward to your visit. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Choice Hotels, Priceline, Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Sleep Inn & Suites reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sleep Inn , Inn And Suites
Sleep Inn Hotel Winchester
Sleep Inn Winchester
Winchester Sleep Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing