We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great hotel!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Winchester
Ranked #11 of 25 Hotels in Winchester
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 2 September 2011

We decided to stay here as a halfway point in our travel. It was a great choice. Checkin was easy and clerk was very nice. Our room was perfect and very clean and quiet. The pool area was also clean and refreshing, especially the hot tub. the breakfast was also great, with many choices, both hot and cold. The staff person working it was always either cleaning up after others, or keeping the selections full.
It is also next door to Arby's, and short walk to KFC and a convienience store/gas station.
This place should be the model for all hotels. We will stay there again.

  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank metalhead
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (258)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

196 - 202 of 258 reviews

Reviewed 22 August 2011

I stayed here overnight on my way to somewhere else. The hotel, and the room, were scrupulously clean and in excellent condition. Staff was extremely friendly and helpful. It was very quiet. Excellent wireless internet. Better than average free breakfast. The downtown pedestrian mall is a must-see.

  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank havses
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 August 2011

Great service, great breakfast, fantastic room, Great hottub and pool inside, clean room, plus all the amenties

  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank producers63
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Spunky007, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Winchester, responded to this reviewResponded 24 August 2011

Hello Producer 63!
Thank you for the wonderful comments about the Holiday Inn Express. It means alot that you take time out of your busy schedule to share the experience you encountered here.
We look forward to coming back soon!
Mistie Donison
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 August 2011

My step daughter moved near Winchester and her friends recommended this hotel saying it was a really nice place. They were right.

The staff here make all the difference. The internet in the rooms is not wireless but hardwired. We did not see our cord in the room and called the front desk, we were going to send my son down to get it and the desk clerk (Matt) offered to bring it up to us. We found the cord before he got there. After I hooked my Computer up to the cord I was unable to connect to the internet so called the front desk again (Matt Again). He told me to try a couple of things. I did that still did not work. So Called him back and he came up to the room to see if he could help figure it out. Although he came up, we were both unable to figure out the problem.

In the morning, I took my computer down to the breakfast area as they have wireless internet there. That worked very well. I was looking for a hotel in or near DC and Shannon, who was at the front desk was very helpful in locating a hotel near DC. She told me the best areas to look in so that I was near a metro station. After I booked the hotel, She was kind enough to print out lists of kid friendly restaurants in DC for me. She also took the time to give advice on riding the metro and other things to do in DC.

I would stay here again. The Staff made all the difference for me with this stay.

Room was clean, comfortable and very roomy.

  • Stayed: July 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Christine H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 July 2011

This HIE is about 4 miles or so from 81 or Downtown Winchester. It is not the newest design, but still in good condition. The room was clean, the bed was OK as are the pillows. The room also had a microwave and mini fridge (always nice to have thhose in the room). The TV has decent selection of channels if you can watch it. During our stay the picture was so bad we could not watch the TV. We were offered a new room, but the TV picture was the same. You may not encounter the same issue, but I would check the TV before signing on the bottom line, if TV is important to you.

But our room faced north and exit ramp from 37. The traffic noise is pronounced especially with big trucks engine breaking. I would suggest the south facing rooms even with the Sheetz gas station next door.

The breakfast bar is the standard fare of breads, eggs, cinnamon buns, etc. Just the same boring offering like everywhere else. There’s Martin’s supermarket across the street and if you get tired of the breakfast bar they have fresh, baked daily goods. Combine those with some Swiss cheese and freshly sliced cold cuts and you may get inquiries from other guest as where you got those items (as we did).

We spent most of our short stay in Winchester with choices of shopping and restaurants. It is about 15 min drive from the hotel.

It wasn’t bad stay by any means, but at the same time we were not really impressed with our stay and when in the area will try other places.

  • Stayed: July 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank KHL12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Spunky007, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Winchester, responded to this reviewResponded 28 July 2011

Dear KHL12,
I thank you for taking the time out of your schedule to offer your opinions of our hotel. We do strive to offer the best accomodations and services for every guest and are very sorry you encountered issues with your television reception. We were waiting on replacement parts from our cable provider which has since been corrected. We hope that you will take the time to stay with us again when in Winchester! We promise to put you on the "quieter side" of the hotel and guarantee a better tv viewing experience.
Warm Regards,
Mistie

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 May 2011

We are frequent guests at this location for many reasons. The front desk stafff is always friendly and helpful. In today's economy, having a free breakfast is a bonus. There is always something for everyone at the breakfast bar and the dining staff is always friendly as well even when swamped with dining guests. They hustle! They allow us our favorite room when it is available when we call for a reservation. The room is always clean and smells that way too. The pool and hot tub is always at a nice temperature. The truly treat you as a guests in their hotel. # 1 in our book!

Room Tip: First floor offers less noise.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Shirl-55
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Spunky007, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Winchester, responded to this reviewResponded 28 July 2011

Dear Shril55,
Thank you for your wonderful review of the Holiday Inn Express! We strive hard everyday to provide the best service and quality to every guest. We look forward to having you back soon!
Mistie

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 May 2011

The mattresses were terrible, lumpy and they sagged. Complained to the front desk the following morning and the clerk said that they would replace the mattresses as they were unaware of the problem. That statement indicates management is unaware of the condition of their facility. The room and hotel in general were neat and clean, the breakfast service was excellent . The wireless internet service was not available in the rooms only a direct hard wired connection.

  • Stayed: May 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank mccool547
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Winchester hotels
5 mi away
Country Inn & Suites by Radisson, Winchester, VA
2.9 mi away
Holiday Inn Winchester Southeast-Historic Gateway
2 mi away
Wingate by Wyndham Winchester
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.2 mi away
Hampton Inn Winchester-University/Mall Area
1.2 mi away
The George Washington A Wyndham Grand Hotel
2.5 mi away
Hampton Inn Winchester-North
Hampton Inn Winchester-North
#5 of 25 in Winchester
698 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Winchester? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Winchester

Address: 142 Foxridge Ln, Winchester, VA 22603-4201
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Virginia > Winchester
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#7 Family Hotel in Winchester
#9 Business Hotel in Winchester
#12 Romantic Hotel in Winchester
Price Range: £69 - £90 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Winchester 2.5*
Number of rooms: 81
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Holiday Inn Express & Suites, Winchester, VA is located at the north end of town only 2 miles from Interstate 81. Positioned in the heart of the Shenandoah Valley, our award-winning hotel offers 81 over sized rooms including 25 suites. With focus on both the business & leisure traveler, the Holiday Inn Express & Suites offers something for everyone. Our hotel offers an indoor heated pool with Jacuzzi, fitness center, business center, and the complimentary Express Start breakfast. This Winchester hotel is located 2 miles from the Historic District. Here you can enjoy local eateries such as Cork St. Tavern, Village Square & Violinos, along with museums, galleries and antique shops. We are also within 10 minutes of the Apple Blossom Mall, The Museum of the Shenandoah Valley, George Washington s & Stonewall Jackson Headquarters and Abrams Delight. Within 30 minutes you can take in the splendor of the Shenandoah National Park, Berkley Springs & Harpers Ferry, WV . You can also enjoy rounds of golf at Rock Harbor & Cacapon. If you are on business, this Winchester hotel is only mile from Winchester Medical Center, Trex and SU Pharmacy School. Within 10 minutes of FEMA, FBI Records Division, National Fruit, Crown Cork & Seal, Kraft, Quebecor, Pactiv, Greenbay Packaging, Home Depot & Valley Proteins. Play hard and Stay Smart with the Holiday Inn Express & Suites. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with IHG, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, HotelsClick, HotelQuickly, 5viajes2012 S.L., getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Winchester reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Express Hotel And Suites Winchester
Holiday Inn Express Winchester
Holiday Inn Winchester
Winchester Holiday Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing