We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great service and lovely rooms”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Winchester
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Old Waterstreet Inn
Ranked #1 of 3 Winchester B&B and Inns
Level Contributor
95 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
“Great service and lovely rooms”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 August 2013

As soon as we entered we felt at home. the service was really great, welcoming us and putting on the hot water jug straight away. We were the only ones staying one this particular night so the house was quite and spacious. Our room was very nice and big enough for two. There is great history on the block of land and in the house which you can read about in the information booklet provided in each room. The location is also in the centre of town with just a short walk down one block to the main restaurants, shops and bars. A great find!!

Room Tip: We stayed in the room called Mrs Moore's study which was beautiful.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Livah5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

104 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    86
    10
    4
    2
    2
See reviews for
5
78
8
4
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (21)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
41 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 July 2013

a lovely inn with gorgeous rooms, well appointed and a gorgeous living and dining communal area. It is perfectly located nearby to shops and many restaurants and Jeannie was very helpful despite being very busy. We were very happy with our choice and hope to visit again. Highly recommend this Inn. Shannon was very efficient in taking our reservation and helping with the breakfast. A nice plus was a small kitchenette where one could keep one s own food cool and also a free service of tea, coffee, pop and water which was greatly appreciated.

Room Tip: We stayed in the winesap room which was gorgeous. It was well appointed and had a lovely strong shoe...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Marion J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Delaware Water Gap, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
39 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 July 2013

The house is just beautiful, large public rooms, that are varied and very comfortable. Bools are everywhere with comfortable reading chiars. Jeanie is a very attentive host. Our room was very comfortable and a noise fan was provided since we were on the first floor and right on the street. We slept very well. It is well located for exploring on foot and has a private off street parking space in the back.

Room Tip: We stayed in the downstairs study. It might be noisy, since its right off the dinning room but we...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank travelnanny5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Greenville, North Carolina
Level Contributor
14 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 June 2013

We were traveling to PA for a a wedding and stayed one night here on our way. Accommodations were most comfortable and the location was great as we parked our car when we arrived and then walked through the town and pedestrian mall. The hostess recommended a wonderful restaurant and made reservations for us. A lovely inn and we will go back again.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank jlm1211
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
oldwaterstreet, Owner at Old Waterstreet Inn, responded to this review, 11 June 2013
Thanks so much! We are very lucky to have such a great location in Old Town. The restaurant, One Block West, is a special dining experience. The chef is creative in the menu planning and preparation, and he is also very much into using local and regional farms for produce and meats. Therefore he changes his menu daily to reflect what is in season.

Pleasure meeting you, and thanks for making our Inn the stopover on your trip to Pennsylvania.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Shanghai, China
Level Contributor
13 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 June 2013

My wife and I spent one night at the Old Waterstreet Inn and were delighted. The home is well-appointed and very tastefully decorated. The inn's location is ideal for exploring downtown Winchester on foot. We parked our car when we arrived and didn't move it until we departed the following day. Jeannie was very informative and made us feel at home. Her breakfast was exceptional and although we had really overdone dinner (and dessert) the night before I couldn't help but devour the delicious quiche and chicken sausage. We were very pelased with our visit and will definitely come back.

Room Tip: Mr. Moore's study is an amazing example of quality historical craftsmanship on the first floor...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank PeteAndTheFam
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
oldwaterstreet, Owner at Old Waterstreet Inn, responded to this review, 11 June 2013
Thanks so much for the positive comments. I especially liked that you found appreciation in the craftsmanship of the Study - a special room I think. Not everyone's "cup of tea" because of all the wood, but we find that guests who love it... really love it! Having great guests like yoursleves makes our job easier and enjoyable, and interesting. Thanks again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Alexandria, Virginia
Level Contributor
19 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 June 2013 via mobile

Immaculate, with wonderfully decorated and comfortable rooms. Delicious breakfast -best coffee cake ever. Walking distance to historic Winchester, and we appreciated the detailed guidance and assistance from the inn keeper to chose a great restaurant. Lovely terrace and yard. Choose a room in the back, as street noise at night is problematic. Our bed was outrageously comfortable but squeaked with every turn. Bath had plumbing issues - sink leaked and toilet ran and had to be shut off, given the noise.

  • Stayed June 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank joAnn0716
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
oldwaterstreet, Owner at Old Waterstreet Inn, responded to this review, 10 June 2013
Thank you, Joanne, for taking the time to write a review, and for the good rating and positive comments. Glad you enjoyed the breakfast, and the recommendation to go to Violinos for dinner - one of our best restaurants !
Regarding the negative aspects - I do wish you had mentioned the bathroom to us. We try very hard to stay on top of repairs. However, none of the prior guests had mentioned anything to us, and my housekeeper also didn't notice it, so we just didn't know or we certainly would have made every effort to correct this. So I am sorry if this was an inconvenience.
Since we are located in the heart of the Old Town, there is some street noise, usually not bad, but of course occasionally it can be disturbing to some guests. I am sorry the noise bothered you that night. And I will check the bed! Not sure why it's creaking except that it's an old house with crooked floors, and might just need to be shifted.
Thanks again for staying with us! We hope you will stay with us again if you're in the area, and perhaps try the Cortland Room at the back of the house.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 April 2013

This lovely B&B is nestled in the town of Winchester, VA. A perfect location for easy walks to the pedestrian outdoor mall and lots of dining options. The inn has a quiet and relaxing charm. The home is decorated with a relaxing elegance and gives you the freedom to walk about. There is a sunroom upstairs open to all guests as well as an open living room for relaxation and reading.

The breakfast is really to die for! Each morning a different experience with the hot breakfast along with morning coffee, juice, fruit and yogurt. Sleep in and join in with the others for a leisurely breakfast each morning

I adored the table settings. Each morning a different set, complete with one of a kind napkin rings, napkins and an adorable knife holder! Something truly unique.

We stayed in the Moore Study on the first floor. The bed was very comfortable. Parking is very convenient and private and there are chairs out back to enjoy the outdoors. Seeing the tulips in bloom was extra special.

The inn is accessible to many attractions. We spent one day in DC and another at Luray and Shenandoah Drive while also spending some time in town. So the options for adventure are plentiful and within a reasonable drive. What more is there to ask for??

If you can try to get there for the Apple Blossom Festival! We are heading home but maybe next year!!

Carol & Bob

  • Stayed April 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Chickie1235
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
oldwaterstreet, Owner at Old Waterstreet Inn, responded to this review, 26 April 2013
Thanks for all of your positive comments! One of the best things about running a B&B is when you have people stay who really enjoy themselves, and you feel you have helped to create a special memory for them. Yes, Winchester is a good base to do a lot of things in the area, and it has a number of things to do right here as well. We appreciate that these guests noticed our efforts to give the Inn a sophisticated but relaxed atmosphere. As for my breakfasts... your enthusiasm is great! but I don't want future guests to have too high of an expectation! I consider myself to be a very good cook, and my breakfasts are usually fairly simple but very tasty. I don't cook with a lot of cream or butter and try to offer entrees that are relatively healthy and I think most of my guests like that. Thanks again to these guests, it was a pleasure to meet them and chat with them.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Winchester hotels
0.4 mi away
The George Washington A Wyndham Grand Hotel
4.6 mi away
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Winchester
1.3 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Winchester
Hilton Garden Inn Winchester
#6 of 25 in Winchester
4.5 of 5 bubbles 652 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.6 mi away
Hampton Inn Winchester-North
Hampton Inn Winchester-North
#5 of 25 in Winchester
4.5 of 5 bubbles 607 reviews
1.7 mi away
Courtyard Winchester Medical Center
1.4 mi away
Hampton Inn Winchester-University/Mall Area
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Old Waterstreet Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Old Waterstreet Inn

Property: Old Waterstreet Inn
Address: 217 W. Boscawen St, Winchester, VA 22601
Region: United States > Virginia > Winchester
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 B&Bs / Inns in Winchester
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A lovely 1840 home in the heart of Winchester's historic district. Walk to the quaint pedestrian street in Old Town, where you'll find shops, great restaurants, and nightlife. The casual elegance creates a charming, relaxed atmosphere. A full breakfast is included, as well as complimentary soft drinks, tea, and light snacks. Wine and cheese package available. ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing