We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.
Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
The George Washington A Wyndham Grand Hotel
Ranked #2 of 25 Hotels in Winchester
Certificate of Excellence
Write a Review

1,805 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,117
    480
    142
    37
    29
See reviews for
454
718
86
311
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (188)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
129 reviews
66 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 August 2014

This is a renovated hotel property that gives the look and feel of once more glamorous time. The rooms are well done and the lobby area and surrounding ballroom, etc are nicely appointed and take you back in time. The parking is a little limited, but they don't charge any more for valet parking as if you self park in their lot. I did valet one evening because their lot was filled and asked the next morning for my car to be brought to the parking lot entrance of the hotel. After a considerable wait I went back into the hotel and spotted my vehicle sitting out front. The music can be a little loud on a weekend night so I would recommend asking for a room on a high floor and away from the bar area.

Room Tip: Ask for a room on a high floor and away from the bar area.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Scalarnet
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nellysford, VA
Level Contributor
386 reviews
55 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 76 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 August 2014

Great service in old world charm. Stately old hotel had modern face lift. Service was great. AtmosPhere was classy and classic.Easy walk to activities in Winchester. The restaurant uPstairs had jazz and the one downstairs had a wonderful meeting room. Parking was convenient.

Room Tip: Shower, not tub.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank ChefGeorge1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rochester,NY
Level Contributor
49 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 August 2014 via mobile

Booked a room via online bid site and got it for way less than their advertised rates. The hotel was nice, the snooty little 20-something kid named Keith at the desk was annoying, and the rooms were clean. I'd definitely stay again, but at 100/night or less. No more.

  • Stayed July 2014
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank rhoke
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 August 2014

What a wonderful hotel in this historic little town.
5 STARS!!!
We planned to stay there for one day only, but when we realized what a nice place it is, we stayed for another day.
The location is excellent, right downtown near all the restaurants and historic landmarks.
You can't find a better place.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank konrad w
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
South Riding, Virginia
Level Contributor
36 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 July 2014

We stayed at the George Washington Hotel one night for a wedding. The wedding also took place at the hotel. Being that it is a renovated, but old hotel, the rooms are a little small. However, they have been very nicely renovated. The bathrooms were a good size with double sinks and an oversized tub shower. My parents came with us to keep our 6 month old while my husband and I were at the wedding, so we had ajoining rooms - which is always nice to have when traveling with family. They provided a decent porta-crib for our baby. The beds were very comfortable with new linens. There was a fridge and mircowave in the rooms, which was great, especially travelling with a child.
One of the two elevators was broken while we were there, which made for long waits. The bellman was very helpful with all our bags when we first got there. He hurried right out to the car when we pulled up, which is always welcoming. And our rooms were ready by about 1pm, so we could get ready for the wedding.
The wedding was pretty nice, but I am very judgemental of weddings. The food was just so-so, your typical banquet food. The bars were always opening and closing, which was a little odd. The staff was all pretty helpful and friendly. It definitely seemed like they were well organized, and knew how to put one a nice event.
My parents ate downstairs at the Dancing Goat - the hotel restaurant, and they said it was NOT GOOD. So avoid that, but everything else about this hotel was very good.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank OnlyMrsForster
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Winchester hotels
4.8 mi away
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Winchester
1.4 mi away
Wingate by Wyndham Winchester
1.4 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Winchester
Hilton Garden Inn Winchester
#5 of 25 in Winchester
4.5 of 5 bubbles 625 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.4 mi away
Hampton Inn Winchester-University/Mall Area
1.8 mi away
aloft Winchester
aloft Winchester
#14 of 25 in Winchester
4.0 of 5 bubbles 457 reviews
1.2 mi away
Hampton Inn Winchester-North
Hampton Inn Winchester-North
#6 of 25 in Winchester
4.5 of 5 bubbles 585 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The George Washington A Wyndham Grand Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The George Washington A Wyndham Grand Hotel

Property: The George Washington A Wyndham Grand Hotel
Address: 103 E Piccadilly St, Winchester, VA 22601
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Virginia > Winchester
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Business Hotel in Winchester
#1 Romantic Hotel in Winchester
#2 Family Hotel in Winchester
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3.5 star — The George Washington A Wyndham Grand Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 90
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A Wyndham Grand Hotel ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com and Ebookers so you can book your The George Washington A Wyndham Grand Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
George Washington Hotel
Hotel George Washington

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing