We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Convenient and comfortable”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
The George Washington A Wyndham Grand Hotel
Ranked #2 of 25 Hotels in Winchester
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 24 August 2014

We stayed for one night here wanting to be close to the pedestrian mall. Nicely appointed hotel with friendly staff. The room was comfortable, but we didn't love being able to hear everything that the people in the room next door were saying or the automatic additional charges for the room safe ($1.50) and parking ($5). Also the bed had an oversized frame with corners that jutted out so we kept hitting our shins on them :(

Stayed: August 2014, travelled as a couple
Thank Stephanie C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (1,984)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

941 - 947 of 1,984 reviews

Reviewed 24 August 2014

Last month, my wife and I made an escape for a weekend at The Wyndham George Washington in Winchester VA. We understand completely why this hotel and its staff were selected as the top Wyndham Hotel and Resort in the world last year! From the moment that we stepped into the lobby, the desk and valet took care of us. A room service snack before we went out was quick and tasty. As we were about to walk around the corner into town, rain started to pour and so we chose to eat in the hotel restaurant instead... although the food looked and tasted very good, the new manager (I believe his name to be Chris) made the night by making certain every guest was cared for.. he knew to talk and not to talk too much for everyone to enjoy their meal. His suggestions were perfect. Afterwards, we decided just to make the night inside the beautiful old but well kept hotel and went to the very pretty bar. The two women bartending took very good care of us too.
The bed was truly comfortable. The hotel was very clean. The indoor pool was a joy in the morning. We will certain be back in the coming months and have told many people... Worth every bit of our 3 hour drive to stay!

Room Tip: THe Exec King is worth the extra dollars for the sofa area
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Michael D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 August 2014 via mobile

Stopped for 1 night during travel. Wishes could have stayed longer. Beautiful combination of colonial decor and furnishings with modern fixtures.
Room was small, but felt more like a bedroom.
Gorgeous bathroom. Look forward to staying again sometime.

Stayed: August 2014, travelled as a couple
Thank kevandalicia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 August 2014

  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Wyndham Hotel and Resorts
Thank Rick S
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Reviewed 20 August 2014

  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Wyndham Hotel and Resorts
Thank C M
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Reviewed 20 August 2014

The room was abundantly furnished. Attention to detail including the crown molding, the most comfortable bed I have ever slept in as well as the carpeting, the bathroom and the amenties were perfect. What can I say? A wonderful value in a perfect location.

  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Wyndham Hotel and Resorts
Thank William S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 August 2014

Booked the hotel because I liked the the look of "Old World" atmosphere. Our room was spacious and pleasant. Breakfast was good. Winchester is a nice town to visit, especially the newly renovated pedestrian street with restaurants and open air cinema on a small square. My morning run led me through beautiful neighborhoods from old mansions to wooden row houses - including the home of Patsy Cline.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank engholm66
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Winchester hotels
4.8 mi away
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Winchester
2.1 mi away
Holiday Inn Winchester Southeast-Historic Gateway
1.4 mi away
Hampton Inn Winchester-University/Mall Area
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.4 mi away
Wingate by Wyndham Winchester
1.4 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Winchester
Hilton Garden Inn Winchester
#6 of 25 in Winchester
727 reviews
1.9 mi away
La Quinta Inn & Suites Winchester
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The George Washington A Wyndham Grand Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The George Washington A Wyndham Grand Hotel

Address: 103 E Piccadilly St, Winchester, VA 22601-5004
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Virginia > Winchester
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Business Hotel in Winchester
#1 Romantic Hotel in Winchester
#2 Family Hotel in Winchester
Price Range: £80 - £132 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — The George Washington A Wyndham Grand Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 90
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A Wyndham Grand Hotel ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, TripOnline SA, Booking.com, Hotels.com, getaroom.com, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, HotelsClick, Cancelon, HotelQuickly and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your The George Washington A Wyndham Grand Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
George Washington Hotel
Hotel George Washington

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing