We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Soup Sandwich”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Clarion Inn & Conference Center
Ranked #8 of 25 Hotels in Winchester
Reviewed 25 November 2013

This place is more messed up than a soup sandwich. They should change the name to Worst Western.

Booked a pet friendly, smoke free room for a week while staying in Winchester. Check in was fine, our room was on the first floor as requested. The room was ok and everything was clean. No issues.

Day two around lunch time I receive a call from the owner / manager Jody saying that we needed to move to a different room as they had put us in a room that doesn't allow pets.

Jody was extremely rude and sarcastic. I asked if we would still be on the first floor and was told no, they were overbooked and that we would be on the second floor. She said she was waving the $5 pet fee as compensation but if I didn't like moving to the second floor she could charge the pet fee. You have got to be joking?!? I was also told we needed to come back to the hotel and get our things out so the room would be available for other guest.

We get back to the room and find that our key card has been deactivated. As you can imagine, I am less than happy. Go to the office and of course Jody is gone. Talked to another manager Don. He apologized and was very nice. He provided a replacement key as well as the card key to the new room.

I asked for a luggage cart as the new room is in another building on the opposite side of the property. I was told no, they don't have carts. No elevators either. Yay, I get to make a coupe of trips dragging our stuff across a parking lot and up a flight of stairs.

So after packing up our stuff and making the first trip to our new room we were greeted with a door that has a busted lock (see pic). You can imagine the warm and fuzzy feelings I have.

Back to the office and get another room. Woo hoo!!! This one has a working lock. The downside is that this room reeks of stale cigarette smoke. It was supposedly a smoke free room, I think not. Nothing like waking up in the morning and smelling like you had been sleeping in an ashtray.

One thing to note. This hotel caters to the local construction worker. Our room was at the top of the metal stair case that leads to the second floor. If your room is anywhere near the stair case you will hear the pitter patter of steel toe work boots going up and down the staircase all hours of the night. You may also receive a wake up call as doors are being banged on at 5am to let the crew know its time to go to work.

So in conclusion no I wouldn't stay here again. I would rather sleep in a wet cardboard box under a bridge naked during a blizzard than stay here. Yes, it was that bad.

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank 888Scott888
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
donald v, Owner at Clarion Inn & Conference Center, responded to this reviewResponded 29 November 2013

Thank you for filling out the review. I hope you will give us another chance.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (854)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

685 - 691 of 854 reviews

Reviewed 21 November 2013

Bugs in the room, very noisy between rooms, lukewarm water, etc.. We have a cat and I fell that we were put in a room where cleaniness and up dating wasn't important. The microwave was not working properly and the freezer in the fridge was not freezing.

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western
1  Thank Doffie1974
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
donald v, Owner at Clarion Inn & Conference Center, responded to this reviewResponded 22 November 2013

Thank you for your review of our property. We sent you an email earlier today offering you a free room for your next trip to Winchester. We hope to see you again and that you will have a better stay.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 November 2013

Very convenient excellent location. Restaurant in hotel was very good. very nice restaurants close by. all the employees made you feel welcome. Didn't play golf, but the course looked as if it were in very good condition. Spa was close by

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western
Thank Chave2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
donald v, Owner at Clarion Inn & Conference Center, responded to this reviewResponded 18 November 2013

Thank you for your review. We appreciate your business and hope to see you again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 November 2013

Hotel should be torn down and rebuilt! Odor upon entering rooms. Broken furniture, uncomfortable beds, drafty rooms, HVAC not working properly. Escort Drivers allowed to idle/rev diesel engines at 5:00 AM for at least 45 minutes (parking is in front of your doors). Due to doors not sealing properly, diesel fumes enter into your room. Registration area is small (too much furniture in there); if one person is standing at counter, no room to walk between the guest and the furniture to get to the door of Perkins Restaurant. Be careful when parking car at your door - drainage area (not marked) undercarriage of car gets scraped if you pull up too close to the cement parking curb.

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western
1  Thank Ruth H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
donald v, Owner at Clarion Inn & Conference Center, responded to this reviewResponded 18 November 2013

Thank you for giving us a try. I'm sorry you were disappointed.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 November 2013

Having bad experiences at other best westerns, I hadn't stayed in one in many years, but since this was a good location to what we wanted to do in Winchester, Va. I thought I would give it a shot. Very clean and room was in good repair. Not much noise at night. Will stay here again.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank producers63
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
donald v, Owner at Clarion Inn & Conference Center, responded to this reviewResponded 18 November 2013

Thanks for your review. We appreciate your patronage and hope to see you again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 November 2013

Location- Hotel is conveniently located near I-81 but I had difficulty finding the check in. Facilities- It is an older facility but good value for the price. The exercise facility was adequate for my purposes and clean. The outdoor pool looked was closed for maintenance. Parking-Adequate outdoor parking lot Nearby- You are within 20 minutes walking distance of several restaurants and grocery stores. It is a 10 minute drive to the lovely & historic Winchester old town pedestrian district.

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western
Thank glenw947
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
donald v, Owner at Clarion Inn & Conference Center, responded to this reviewResponded 8 November 2013

Thank you for your review. We do appreciate your business and hope to see you again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 November 2013

Booked this hotel on short notice because my regular hotel in Northern Virginia was charging thirty dollars more for the night. Large hotel of two stories. Staff knew my name as I checked in after asking my first name, had my keys and paperwork ready, and were very friendly and sharp. Room was incredibly clean, and TV had many signals and worked well, as did Wi-Fi. Young lady at checkout was also very friendly and sharp, and made my leave-taking a pleasure itself. Hotel offers a 2.50 voucher for breakfast in an adjoining Perkins. Very good Perkins, where I got two eggs over grilled veggies for, essentially, $2.50! Excellent waitress. Only downside was noise from a talkative neighbor who left at 5:30, and car doors whose noise was amplified due to my room's hallway location. I turned on some classical music and actually slept late. Unexpectly fine stay.

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western
Thank Mark H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
donald v, Owner at Clarion Inn & Conference Center, responded to this reviewResponded 5 November 2013

Thank you for your review. We appreciate your patronage and hope to see you again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Winchester hotels
0.5 mi away
Sleep Inn & Suites
Sleep Inn & Suites
#9 of 25 in Winchester
419 reviews
3.5 mi away
Country Inn & Suites by Radisson, Winchester, VA
0.4 mi away
Wingate by Wyndham Winchester
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Red Roof Inn Winchester
Red Roof Inn Winchester
#17 of 25 in Winchester
329 reviews
3.9 mi away
Comfort Inn
Comfort Inn
#12 of 25 in Winchester
234 reviews
0.5 mi away
La Quinta Inn & Suites Winchester
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Clarion Inn & Conference Center? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Clarion Inn & Conference Center

Address: 711 Millwood Ave, Winchester, VA 22601-5168 (Formerly Best Western Lee-Jackson Inn & Conference Center)
Region: United States > Virginia > Winchester
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Best Value Hotel in Winchester
#11 Romantic Hotel in Winchester
Price Range: £45 - £64 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Clarion Inn & Conference Center 2.5*
Number of rooms: 140
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, getaroom.com, TripOnline SA, Choice Hotels, Ebookers, Travel Republic (UK), Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, 5viajes2012 S.L. and Cancelon so you can book your Clarion Inn & Conference Center reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Lee-Jackson Hotel Winchester
Best Western Lee-Jackson Inn And Conference Center
Best Western Winchester
Winchester Best Western

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing