We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Not bad for non-smokers in a smoking room”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Best Western Of Wise
Ranked #1 of 2 Wise B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
33 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
“Not bad for non-smokers in a smoking room”
Reviewed 12 June 2012

We were there for a nephew's college graduation and at the time of booking, the only room available was a king bed with Jacuzzi, smoking room. As we got closer towards the date of arrival, we tried to see if there were any non-smoking rooms available, but unfortunately, no; we expected that to be the case, being that all the area lodging facilities would be booked for commencement guests. When we arrived, we were told by the front desk that our room isn't booked often because most folks do not want to be in a Jacuzzi room, so the smoke odors may not be a problem. Thankfully, she was right!

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank gwlc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

185 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    99
    56
    21
    4
    5
See reviews for
76
15
17
52
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (16)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
VERONA
Level Contributor
208 reviews
41 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 91 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 June 2012

stayed here Thursday 5/24, the staff stay was very friendly and helpfull, the motel and room was very clean. The only negitive was a bad musty smell in the room, this is the only thing keeping the motel from getting a excellent review from us. I would stay here again and take room freshener with me in case the problem has not been resolved.

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank RandyHodge
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Quinn B, Owner at Best Western Of Wise, responded to this review, 18 June 2012
Dear RandyHodge,

Thank you for your comments regarding your stay at the Best Western of Wise. I appreciate you taking the time to give us your opinion and let us know how we can improve. We have investigated your comments and found the problem behind the musty smell in the room. The housekeeping staff has taken corrective measures to ensure that this problem does not happen again.

We appreciate you patronage and hope that you will stay with us at the Best Western of Wise the next time you are in Wise, Va.

Sincerely,
Quinn Bowling
Owner
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Traveler
Level Contributor
171 reviews
171 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 224 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 June 2012

It was with some hesitation that I went to check in here. At $87.19 (including tax) it was about $25 less than the last Best Western Plus I stayed in.
The rooms are decent enough with all the amenities one would expect in this price range.
They have flat screen TVs here which is always nice.
They have an indoor pool and fitness center here but I didn't use either one.
The breakfast was not too bad either.
Overall I would recommend this property to most types of travelers.

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Ozcfied
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chattanooga, Tennessee
Level Contributor
72 reviews
55 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 March 2012

Thinking of the Norton / Wise area for a nights stay? Best Western Wise is your #1 choice... Halls need a bit of help BUT, The Hotel is a great place. Rooms are BIG and Clean...
Don't think twice about picking this location.

Room Tip: Close to center for best WiFi
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ray S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Quinn B, General Manager at Best Western Of Wise, responded to this review, 12 May 2012
Dear Ray s,

Thank you for your comments regarding your recent stay at our property.

Your business is very important to us and we value your feedback. By telling us what you liked about your stay and how we can improve, you are helping us deliver a superior experience for you and other guests in the future. We hope you will come back and see us again soon.

If I can be of assistance in the future, please don't hesitate to contact me at 276-328-3500.


Sincerely,

Quinn Bowling
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ohio
Level Contributor
47 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 September 2011

Overall, a clean, comfortable room, although when we were in our room I always felt like I had to sneeze. I assume it’s due to whatever is used to clean the room or the laundry because I’m sensitive like that. The windows do not open, so we couldn’t get any fresh air. The showerhead was one that had different settings, which is nice, and we had plenty of towels. To be honest, aside from not being able to open the windows and have some fresh air, my biggest complaint was the pillows. They were small and flat. Sometimes when you walk into a hotel room and see all those pillows on your bed, there’s a choice of a couple firm and a couple fluffy ones. These ones were all on the fluffy/flat side. Since that’s a personal preference thing, most other people may not even notice that. The breakfast was typical free breakfast stuff (make-your-own waffles, cold cereals, oatmeal, bagels, pre-made French toast, assorted packaged pastries), and coffee. The staff was friendly and helpful. I’d stay there again. I agree with other people regarding the elevator. Each time we were in the elevator, there was a different smell, and it was never good, but I would never let that deter me from staying there.

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled on business
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank granolagirl23
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Virginia Beach, Virginia
Level Contributor
176 reviews
55 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 212 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 June 2010

Our room was large, clean, no foul odors, staff very nice, bed very comfortable with 3 pillows and I liked the crisp white top sheet and duvet instead of standard dark comforter (never quite know what might be on those paisley etc. comforters....I can't get them off the bed fast enough). Room TV was flat screen but not great reception. Fitness center was being painted and out of service, pool looked nice, continental breakfast was just OK, very basic offerings but was clean and neat in a small room with 3 tables. Rate was a good value at $70 total and I will stay again when in the area.

  • Stayed June 2010
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank goneagain2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
saltville va
1 review
Reviewed 14 March 2010

This Best Western is nice. It's not fancy, so don't expect that. The beds were soft and fluffy and the pillows were real nice. The breakfast was good. The receptionists need to learn to smile and quickly ask someone standing there if they can help them. The kids enjoyed the pool, it was a little cool though. Overall, good place to stay, nicely priced and will stay again.

  • Stayed March 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank allison6a
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Wise
3.4 mi away
Holiday Inn Norton
Holiday Inn Norton
#2 of 4 in Norton
3.5 of 5 bubbles 130 reviews
2.3 mi away
Days Inn Norton VA
Days Inn Norton VA
#3 of 4 in Norton
3.5 of 5 bubbles 101 reviews
11.7 mi away
Comfort Inn
Comfort Inn
#1 of 2 in Big Stone Gap
4.5 of 5 bubbles 22 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
14.5 mi away
Sleep Inn & Suites
Sleep Inn & Suites
#1 of 1 in Clintwood
4.5 of 5 bubbles 72 reviews
1.0 mi away
The Inn at Wise
The Inn at Wise
#2 of 2 in Wise
4.5 of 5 bubbles 80 reviews
2.3 mi away
Super 8 Norton VA
Super 8 Norton VA
#1 of 4 in Norton
4.0 of 5 bubbles 189 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Best Western Of Wise? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Best Western Of Wise

Property: Best Western Of Wise
Address: 124 Woodland Drive SW, Wise, VA 24293-4622 (Formerly BEST WESTERN Of Wise)
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Virginia > Wise
Amenities:
Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 B&Bs / Inns in Wise
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Best Western Of Wise 2.5*
Number of rooms: 40
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Travel Republic (UK), Traveltool, S.L.U., Agoda, Evoline ltd, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Best Western Of Wise reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing