We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“It works....”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Sleep Inn, Potomac Mills
Ranked #9 of 15 Hotels in Woodbridge
Certificate of Excellence
Novato, California
Level Contributor
25 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“It works....”
Reviewed 13 May 2009

Yeah it smells a little like a previous traveler stated but it's cheap, clean and comfortable. The check out time is 11 am which I thought was a little early considering we came from California and has a jet lag issue.

  • Stayed May 2009, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank GoGoXC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SleepInnPotomacMills, Owner at Sleep Inn, Potomac Mills, responded to this review, 22 May 2011
We wanted to apologize for not responding sooner, as we did not have a TripAdvisor account until recently. We appreciate your feedback as to the value of the stay.

We heard the feedback about the moldy / smoky smell that was driven by old wallpaper and our smoking rooms. As a result we have renovated the property, removing all wall-paper, redoing them with paint. We also eliminated the smoking rooms, making the property non-smoking exclusively. However, we do still accommodate smoking guests through designated outside smoking areas on the property. This was a massive undertaking, but early feedback about the changes have been very promising.

We are sorry that jet-lag made our check-out time tough for you. We have the time set so that we can prepare the property efficiently with new travelers that afternoon. In the future, we would be happy to accommodate a late check-out if available.

If your travels bring you back to the DC area, we hope to see you again here at the Sleep Inn.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

108 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    66
    26
    11
    2
    3
See reviews for
31
30
10
26
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (30)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
MEMPHIS,TN
1 review
Reviewed 29 September 2008

I stayed at this hotel on a recent trip to Washington, DC. After checking in at the front desk, I went to my room. As soon as I walked in, the room smelled like strong mildew. It was an awful smell. I went to the front desk and asked for another room. The hotel attendant gave me one, after I told her about the horrible smell. My family and I left the air conditioner on in our new hotel room while visiting Washington the following day. When we came back to the hotel, our new room smelled like the first one. It made me sick at my stomach. I went to the front desk and talked to the same attendant about this same disgusting smell. I was thinking about going to another hotel, but due to it being late and us only having one more day, we stayed here the last night. I was given another room, because I told the lady at the front desk that we would not stay in this room. I think that there is someting wrong with the air conditioning system in this hotel, which causes the rooms to smell like this. We moved to the next room. This was a huge inconvenience, because (1) it was late at night and (2) we were tired from the day and ready to sleep. The next morning, which was check out, I told the managers about this and asked for a discount. They gave me a discount, but it wasn't much of one. The breakfast was horrible. The bagels were like rocks. I didn't even eat here, because of the food. The only good thing about this hotel was the location. I will never stay in this hotel again.

  • Liked — location
  • Disliked — horrible mildew smell in rooms; terrible breakfast
  • Stayed September 2008
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank BILL030
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SleepInnPotomacMills, Owner at Sleep Inn, Potomac Mills, responded to this review, 22 May 2011
We wanted to apologize for not responding sooner, as we did not have a TripAdvisor account until recently. We are sorry for the issues you encountered when staying with us but want you to know that we took the feedback and have worked hard to return the Sleep Inn to the levels that should be expected. We have outlined some responses below that speak to your concerns:

I understand that you felt like the rooms smelled like mildew. We determined that this was driven from moisture that was building up behind the older wallpaper we had in the building. As part of a massive renovation, we removed all of the wallpaper, replacing it with primer and paint. This along with the elimination of our smoking rooms has, on all accounts, eliminated this problem. Though, we would love to have you visit us again and see for yourself.

I understand you discussed this with our manager and you had a partial refund for your issues. I understand that situation was a challenge for you, and want you to know that is is a big deal to us. We feel like we have addressed the problem through the renovation, but hope to have you stay with us again and see it first hand.

We hear your feedback loud and clear on the breakfast. We are going to deploy hotel staff to address breakfast-related issues and questions in that area every morning. Also, as part of our breakfast strategy, we have increased seating / flow and are finalizing details on offering a free hot breakfast every morning.

Please contact us with any other questions. Hoping to re-earn your business and have you stay with us again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Boston MA
Level Contributor
15 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 September 2008

Very nice hotel. Quiet. Very clean. Nice desks. Fitness center has treadmill , bike. Plenty for breakfast : limited seating though.

  • Liked — Cleanliness
  • Stayed September 2008
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank Bobb2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SleepInnPotomacMills, Owner at Sleep Inn, Potomac Mills, responded to this review, 22 May 2011
We wanted to apologize for not responding sooner, as we did not have a TripAdvisor account until recently. Thanks for your positive feedback. We have added more breakfast seating as part of a large renovation project. Hoping to see you again soon if you trek now I-95...Thanks!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Raleigh, North Carolina
Level Contributor
21 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 August 2008

This hotel is fine, close to shopping (including Ikea), and our room was around $100 with tax. No surprises, comfortable enough for one night, average breakfast bar.

Stayed August 2008
Helpful?
Thank TravelerDurham
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SleepInnPotomacMills, Owner at Sleep Inn, Potomac Mills, responded to this review, 22 May 2011
We wanted to apologize for not responding sooner, as we did not have a TripAdvisor account until recently. Thanks for your feedback about the value we offer. As part of a large renovation, we have replaced / upgraded almost every single element in the property, as we aim to move in the consumer mind from average to above-average. We heard the feedback on breakfast from you and others and are finalizing the addition of hot-breakfast menu items to our line-up. We hope to have you visit us again to see the refresh of the hotel and the steps we have made. Thanks!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
WYOMING
Level Contributor
18 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 June 2007

Off of busy road on a very quiet street. Spartan lodging with few amenities. Smaller size room that is spotless with a comfortable bed. Ample and quick continental breakfast. Friendly & helpful staff. Several nice restaurants, mall, and IKEA nearby.

  • Liked — Quiet and clean.
  • Disliked — No bathtub, just shower
  • Stayed May 2007, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Simplified-life
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SleepInnPotomacMills, Owner at Sleep Inn, Potomac Mills, responded to this review, 13 May 2015
We are sorry it does not seem like our previous response went through to you. In any event, we do thank you for your stay. We wanted you to know that, since your last stay, we have not dropped the bar on the spotlessness of the hotel, but we have renovated quite a bit. While our hotel is built for travelers of all kinds, we do have showers in most every room, but feel free to request a room with a tub when you come next time and we will try our best to accommodate you!

We look forward to the opportunity to host you again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Salt Lake City, U
Level Contributor
19 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 March 2007

We stayed here for several days and we were really comfortable. The staff was friendly and accomodating. The room was a little small but it had a fridge and micro, the bed was comfortable, the decor was new, they have a laundry room and a work out room. Their breakfast was the typical spread. Overall we really enjoyed it, or we wouldn't have stayed as long as we did.

  • Stayed March 2007, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank travelerjane
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SleepInnPotomacMills, Owner at Sleep Inn, Potomac Mills, responded to this review, 13 May 2015
Thank you for your review. For some reason, it appears that our response to your review did not go through. In any event, we have renovated our property and we would love to have you come visit us when your travels bring you back to the area!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Morganton, North Carolina
Level Contributor
9 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 October 2006

I spent 4 nights here and enjoyed my stay. The hotel looked new - either that or it was recently renovated because I saw no signs of wear and tear. The bed was comfortable, and the room was clean. The breakfast they provide is nice (they have a waffle maker which I love) but the seating is very limited. There were a total of 4 tables, so I took stuff back to my room a few times because no tables were free. There are several places close by to eat (Panera Bread, Macaroni Grill, TGI Fridays, Smokey Bones...) and several places to shop. I've stayed in other hotels in Woodbridge and this one is definately worth the price.

  • Liked — The cleanliness of hotel.
  • Disliked — Limited breakfast seating.
  • Tips/Secrets — From hotel, entrance ramps to I-95 North and South are on right (South exits first).
  • Stayed October 2006, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank RhiaB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SleepInnPotomacMills, Owner at Sleep Inn, Potomac Mills, responded to this review, 22 May 2011
We wanted to apologize for not responding sooner, as we did not have a TripAdvisor account until recently. Thanks for your positive comments. We took your feedback and, during a large hotel-wide renovation, remodeled our breakfast are to include more guest seating. We also moved the serving area to the back of the room. We hope to have you as a guest again soon to check out the changes and upgrades!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Woodbridge hotels
0.6 mi away
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Potomac Mills Woodbridge
0.9 mi away
SpringHill Suites Potomac Mills Woodbridge
1.7 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Woodbridge
Hilton Garden Inn Woodbridge
#2 of 15 in Woodbridge
5.0 of 5 bubbles 376 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.7 mi away
Quality Inn near Potomac Mills
Quality Inn near Potomac Mills
#13 of 15 in Woodbridge
3.5 of 5 bubbles 52 reviews
2.9 mi away
Hampton Inn Potomac Mills/Woodbridge
1.7 mi away
Homewood Suites by Hilton Woodbridge
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sleep Inn, Potomac Mills? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sleep Inn, Potomac Mills

Property: Sleep Inn, Potomac Mills
Address: 14080 Shoppers Best Way, Woodbridge, VA 22192-4131
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Virginia > Prince William County > Woodbridge
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Business Hotel in Woodbridge
#4 Family Hotel in Woodbridge
#6 Romantic Hotel in Woodbridge
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2 star — Sleep Inn, Potomac Mills 2*
Number of rooms: 61
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Sleep Inn® hotel is ideally located within one mile from the Potomac Mills shopping mall and Strayer University. This Woodbridge hotel offers easy access to popular attractions like the Quantico National Cemetery, Gunston Hall Plantation and George Mason University. The Ronald Reagan Washington National Airport is 22 miles away. The Woodbridge area offers activities to suit all visitors. History buffs will appreciate George Washington's Mount Vernon Estate & Gardens. Limited tours are available at nearby Marine Corps Base Quantico. For nature lovers, Prince William Forest Park offers hiking trails, bicycle trails and wildlife viewing opportunities. Shoppers will enjoy a unique shopping experience in the quaint village of Occoquan. Visitors will have an easy time deciding on what to eat for lunch, dinner or a snack in between with over 30 major restaurants within two miles of the hotel. Guests of this Woodbridge hotel will enjoy many amenities and features, including a free continental breakfast, free coffee and a free weekday newspaper in the morning. The hotel also offers free local calls. Work off the day's stress in the fitness center. Business travelers will appreciate modern conveniences like wireless high-speed Internet access, voice mail and access to fax and copy services. All spacious guest rooms come equipped with microwaves, refrigerators, coffee makers, irons, ironing boards, hair dryers and cable television with free HBO. Select rooms feature additional amenities, like whirlpool bathtubs. Laundry facilities are located on the property for guest convenience. Whether traveling to the Woodbridge area for business or pleasure, enjoy friendly service at the Sleep Inn hotel. Our staff looks forward to your visit. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travel Republic (UK), Expedia, Booking.com, Choice Hotels, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Priceline, Traveltool, S.L.U., Cancelon, getaroom.com, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Sleep Inn, Potomac Mills reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sleep Inn Woodbridge
Woodbridge Sleep Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing