We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“WARNING - Do not stay here, regardless of cost”
Review of Potomac Inn

Potomac Inn
Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Potomac Inn
Ranked #15 of 15 Hotels in Woodbridge
Lakewood, OH
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“WARNING - Do not stay here, regardless of cost”
Reviewed 5 October 2006

I chose this hotel for my husband to stay for a week, because of the cost. We are relocating to the area, so we didn't want to spend the more than $75/night at other hotels. I booked online which gave a terrific rate!

As soon as he got there he called to tell me that this place was the worst he ever stayed in. Unfriendly, unhelpful front desk, the room had SEVERAL lightbulbs burned out. Ceiling to floor mirrors (felt like a place for solicitation!). The door had previously been busted in. And such a heavy perfumed odor from god knows what, he had to keep his door open for awhile. It was totally gross!

Yes, they had coffee machines in the room, but after the first day they did not provide him with coffee, nor did they really clean the room. Spots that were left there from him were still there after they "cleaned" it. He complained that he needed coffee when they made the room for the next day. Yes, they provided him with coffee...one package of decaf. And no cups. The cups earlier provided were the thin plastic water cups.

The door didn't close correctly because it was busted in previously. Plus, one day he came back from work to find his door wide open! Thank god he had no valuables in there.

Me trying to call him through the front desk was a total and complete nightmare. They NEVER answered their phones, and I would ring repeatedly for TWENTY minutes before someone would casually answer. EVERY time (no exaggerating!)

The neighborhood is scary as all get out. I wish that we had spent the few more dollars it would have cost to be anywhere but here! Take heed of these reviews, please...!

  • Liked — Nothing at all, except the price seemed reasonable. It was cheap for a reason!
  • Disliked — Everything about it...gross, dirty, unfriendly, bad neighborhood
  • Tips/Secrets — Please read all the reviews before going here
  • Stayed October 2006, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank haberfamily
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MikeHampton, Owner at Potomac Inn, responded to this review, 8 May 2009
I am concerned about the inconvenience you experienced at our hotel during your recent visit. Thank you for taking the time to bring this matter to my attention.

We accommodate many guests each evening, and the principal goal of our hotel is to provide dependable service to each at a reasonable price. Consequently, it's disappointing to learn that you're unhappy. Please accept my sincere apology.

A hotel is defined by the quality of service that it provides to its guests. Because our success is measured by how our guests evaluate our services and facilities, I want you to know that the comments and suggestions we receive are taken seriously. They tell us what we're doing right, what we're doing wrong and how we can improve. Your willingness to share your recent experience is genuinely appreciated.

Please be assured that the issues you have raised have been addressed, and that appropriate action has been taken. We take pride in our hotel, and do our best to prevent problems from recurring. Therefore, I'd like you to give us another chance by staying with us again during your next visit to this area.

Again, I want to thank you for taking the time to share your concerns with us. There's no excuse for anything less than complete guest satisfaction.

We look forward to serving you again in the near future.

Sincerely,
Michael
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

21 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    0
    1
    3
    1
    16
See reviews for
4
4
3
5
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (8)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Commack NY
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 January 2006

This is not just a dump --- it is unsafe and dangerous. Bathrooms are disgusting and there was no hot water. Checked in and out in 15 minutes.

  • Stayed December 2005
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank reheiss
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MikeHampton, Owner at Potomac Inn, responded to this review, 8 May 2009
Thank you for your comment regarding your stay at our hotel. We value comments from our guests and try to use those comments to improve our hotel.

I am sorry about the fact that you were not satisfied with your stay.

I have spoken with the staff and reviewed the importance of proper housekeeping and addressing hot water issues as a top priority for guests. Since this review we have made significant improvements to the guest rooms and lobby.

I hope that you will give us another opportunity to serve you in the future.

We look forward to your next visit with us.

Sincerely,
Michael
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Woodbridge hotels

A TripAdvisor Member
Reviewed 25 June 2004

this place is a real dump. ten years ago it was okay, but as of now, this is one of the worst places to stay in woodbridge.

Helpful?
1 Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MikeHampton, Owner at Potomac Inn, responded to this review, 8 May 2009
Thank you for your comment regarding your stay at our hotel. We value comments from our guests and try to use those comments to improve our hotel.

I am sorry about the fact that you were not satisfied with your stay. Since this review we have made great strides in upgrading our guests rooms and lobby.

I hope that you will give us another opportunity to serve you in the future.

We look forward to your next visit with us.

Sincerely,
Michael
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
A TripAdvisor Member
Reviewed 22 October 2003

Upon entering our room we first noticed a strange smell. As we began to investigate, we found roaches and rodent droppings in the bed and mold growing in the bathroom. We were horrified!!!! The clerks at the front desk said that according to the manager, Amy Latham, nothing could be done and that our credit card had already been charged. BEWARE!!!!!!
Please stay away from these creepy crooks. Spend the extra twenty bucks and stay where you feel comfortable. Preferablly not a Choice Hotel (Comfort Inn, Comfort Suites, Quality, Sleep Inn, Clarion, MainStay Suites, Econo Lodge) Good Luck!!!

Helpful?
9 Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MikeHampton, Owner at Potomac Inn, responded to this review, 8 May 2009
I am concerned about the inconvenience you experienced at our hotel during your recent visit. Thank you for taking the time to bring this matter to my attention.

We accommodate many guests each evening, and the principal goal of our hotel is to provide dependable service to each at a reasonable price. Consequently, it's disappointing to learn that you're unhappy. Please accept my sincere apology.

Come by and meet our new manager, Alan Scott, he is an experienced and capable hotelier. We think he and his staff will exceed your expectations for service.

We take pride in our hotel, and do our best to prevent problems from recurring. Therefore, I'd like you to give us another chance by staying with us again during your next visit to this area.

Again, I want to thank you for taking the time to share your concerns with us. There's no excuse for anything less than complete guest satisfaction.

We look forward to serving you again in the near future.

Sincerely,
Michael
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Woodbridge hotels
0.9 mi away
Quality Inn near Potomac Mills
Quality Inn near Potomac Mills
#13 of 15 in Woodbridge
3.5 of 5 bubbles 52 reviews
2.4 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Woodbridge
Hilton Garden Inn Woodbridge
#2 of 15 in Woodbridge
5.0 of 5 bubbles 379 reviews
1.5 mi away
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Potomac Mills Woodbridge
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.1 mi away
Sleep Inn, Potomac Mills
Sleep Inn, Potomac Mills
#8 of 15 in Woodbridge
4.5 of 5 bubbles 109 reviews
1.3 mi away
SpringHill Suites Potomac Mills Woodbridge
2.6 mi away
Homewood Suites by Hilton Woodbridge
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Potomac Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Potomac Inn

Property: Potomac Inn
Address: 13964 Jefferson Davis Hwy, Woodbridge, VA 22191-2011
Region: United States > Virginia > Prince William County > Woodbridge
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #15 of 15 Hotels in Woodbridge
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:1.5 star — Potomac Inn 1.5*
Number of rooms: 39
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Travel Republic (UK), Cancelon and Evoline ltd so you can book your Potomac Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Rodeway Inn Woodbridge
Woodbridge Rodeway Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing