We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“2nd Time” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of Potomac Inn

Potomac Inn
Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Potomac Inn
Ranked #15 of 15 Hotels in Woodbridge
Boston, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
46 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“2nd Time”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 April 2010

Well we stayed for the second time on the night of April 9th, 2010, the young man on duty when we pulled in was very acommadating a little nervouse but willing to please. We stay in the front like the last time. It was little nosiey with the Highway and Carnival across the street till about 11 or so then it quite down I had a pleasant night rest. We'll possibly be trying it again in Dec on the way South again. Really don't know about the return North only because of the traffic around DC . The minor problem was a draft under room 104 door which I reported when I left, hopefully will be taken care of on our return

  • Stayed April 2010, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
Helpful?
2 Thank johnnyrebell12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MikeHampton, Owner at Potomac Inn, responded to this review, 24 September 2010
On behalf of our hotel staff, I am writing to let you know how delighted we were to receive your kind words of praise.

Given the very nature of the hotel business, the hours are long and demanding. Day or night, good service depends upon people willing to give their very best at all times. That's why it's truly rewarding when a guest recognizes our staff’s efforts, and takes the time to say thank you.

We accommodate many guests each evening, and we strive to make their night's stay a satisfying one. The principal goal of our hotel is to provide dependable service to all of our guests at reasonable prices. But, it's only through their eyes that we can accurately assess the quality of the accommodations and services we provide.

Again, let me thank you for your kind words. We're committed to total guest satisfaction, and we look forward to your next visit.

Sincerely,
Michael
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

21 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    0
    1
    3
    1
    16
See reviews for
4
4
3
5
Rating summary
  • Location
    2.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    1.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    1.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    1.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    1.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    1.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (8)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Queens
1 review
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 December 2009

I was up for a weekend family reunion during the Thanksgiving weekend. this facility was clean, close and convenient. This is my second stay there (first was my Cousins Wedding in July) and I would include this motel in my future travels to Virginia.


Thank you

Edwin S.

  • Stayed November 2009, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank salsa_Eddie66
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MikeHampton, Owner at Potomac Inn, responded to this review, 24 September 2010
On behalf of our hotel staff, I am writing to let you know how delighted we were to receive your kind words of praise.

We accommodate many guests each evening, and we strive to make their night's stay a satisfying one. The principal goal of our hotel is to provide dependable service to all of our guests at reasonable prices. But, it's only through their eyes that we can accurately assess the quality of the accommodations and services we provide.

Again, let me thank you for your kind words. We're committed to total guest satisfaction, and we look forward to your next visit.

Sincerely,
Michael
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Texas
Level Contributor
31 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 November 2009

I checked in before my family members who had made the reservations. Other guests were checking in with 12 packs of malt liquor. Room was filthy, walls with smudges, broken handle on dresser, random lamp in the corner, shower head leaking, toilet paper holder broken. The security lock on the door had been reinstalled with a bare piece of wood under it and it still did not close. There was a plastic cup left in the room with some liquid in it.
Men next door loitering in the parking lot finishing their beer then driving off. Horrible, scary place. Staff was nice but the rooms/facilities are so run down, I thought we would witness some sort of police sting operation.

  • Stayed October 2009, travelled with family
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Paguirre14
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
allenproperties, Sales Manager at Potomac Inn, responded to this review, 1 December 2009
Thank you for your comment regarding your stay at our hotel. We value comments from
our guests and take your concerns to heart.
We consider our guests comments, as an opportunity to better serve our guest in the future.
I am sorry about the fact that you were not satisfied with your stay. The staff and I hope that you give us another opportunity to serve you in the future.

Best Regards,
C. Bergey
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
45 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 August 2008

A friend booked us here, as cheap and convenient for the Potomac Mills shopping centre. We were kind of put off, looking at the reviews. When we got there late, there was some drama at another room (someone had a car parking error). The check-in was OK and the rooms were basic but fine, right next to the car parking, with the backrow being quiet and set back from the main road. We got the suite room and another room and for the price it was OK, with a working whirlpool bath, tv, noisy aircon, etc. and good free wifi Internet connection. The location was convenient for the shopping centres and restaurants, provided we had a car, the area was a bit bleak. The family that run it were friendly and helpful the next morning. Everything looked clean-ish, although there were some burns and paint stains on the bathroom stuff, and the bedsheet had a torn corner. Wasn't tempted to try the coffee machine. We got a good night's sleep after a 10-hour drive the previous day and it didn't break the bank, but nothing in that area inspired, either.

Stayed August 2008
Helpful?
Thank wideyed_wander
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MikeHampton, Owner at Potomac Inn, responded to this review, 28 April 2009
On behalf of our hotel staff, I am writing to let you know how delighted we were to receive your kind words of praise.

Given the very nature of the hotel business, the hours are long and demanding. Day or night, good service depends upon people willing to give their very best at all times. That's why it's truly rewarding when a guest recognizes our staff’s efforts, and takes the time to say thank you.

We accommodate many guests each evening, and we strive to make their night's stay a satisfying one. The principal goal of our hotel is to provide dependable service to all of our guests at reasonable prices. But, it's only through their eyes that we can accurately assess the quality of the accommodations and services we provide.

Again, let me thank you for your kind words. We're committed to total guest satisfaction, and we look forward to your next visit.

Sincerely,
Michael
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Raleigh
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 November 2007

Oh my gosh.....talk about creepy, there were pubic hairs all over the bedspread....yes, this place has polyester bedspreads. this was supposed to be a one night rendevoux with my secret lover, but ended in both of us going to the emergency room with an unknown rash.........you might want to head north a few more miles for a better place, but if you're only here for the shopping, 6 hours won't hurt sleeping here....bring plenty of lysol and liquid sanitizer since there is not hot water...

Stayed September 2007
Helpful?
2 Thank cufflin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MikeHampton, Owner at Potomac Inn, responded to this review, 8 May 2009
Thank you for your comment regarding your stay at our hotel. We value comments from our guests and try to use those comments to improve our hotel.

I am sorry about the fact that you were not satisfied with your stay.

I have spoken with the staff and reviewed the importance of proper housekeeping procedures. We try hard to offer clean comfortable accomodations at the best value in the area.

I hope that you will give us another opportunity to serve you in the future.

We look forward to your next visit with us.

Sincerely,
Michael
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lakewood, OH
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 October 2006

I chose this hotel for my husband to stay for a week, because of the cost. We are relocating to the area, so we didn't want to spend the more than $75/night at other hotels. I booked online which gave a terrific rate!

As soon as he got there he called to tell me that this place was the worst he ever stayed in. Unfriendly, unhelpful front desk, the room had SEVERAL lightbulbs burned out. Ceiling to floor mirrors (felt like a place for solicitation!). The door had previously been busted in. And such a heavy perfumed odor from god knows what, he had to keep his door open for awhile. It was totally gross!

Yes, they had coffee machines in the room, but after the first day they did not provide him with coffee, nor did they really clean the room. Spots that were left there from him were still there after they "cleaned" it. He complained that he needed coffee when they made the room for the next day. Yes, they provided him with coffee...one package of decaf. And no cups. The cups earlier provided were the thin plastic water cups.

The door didn't close correctly because it was busted in previously. Plus, one day he came back from work to find his door wide open! Thank god he had no valuables in there.

Me trying to call him through the front desk was a total and complete nightmare. They NEVER answered their phones, and I would ring repeatedly for TWENTY minutes before someone would casually answer. EVERY time (no exaggerating!)

The neighborhood is scary as all get out. I wish that we had spent the few more dollars it would have cost to be anywhere but here! Take heed of these reviews, please...!

  • Liked — Nothing at all, except the price seemed reasonable. It was cheap for a reason!
  • Disliked — Everything about it...gross, dirty, unfriendly, bad neighborhood
  • Tips/Secrets — Please read all the reviews before going here
  • Stayed October 2006, travelled on business
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Check-in / front desk
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank haberfamily
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MikeHampton, Owner at Potomac Inn, responded to this review, 8 May 2009
I am concerned about the inconvenience you experienced at our hotel during your recent visit. Thank you for taking the time to bring this matter to my attention.

We accommodate many guests each evening, and the principal goal of our hotel is to provide dependable service to each at a reasonable price. Consequently, it's disappointing to learn that you're unhappy. Please accept my sincere apology.

A hotel is defined by the quality of service that it provides to its guests. Because our success is measured by how our guests evaluate our services and facilities, I want you to know that the comments and suggestions we receive are taken seriously. They tell us what we're doing right, what we're doing wrong and how we can improve. Your willingness to share your recent experience is genuinely appreciated.

Please be assured that the issues you have raised have been addressed, and that appropriate action has been taken. We take pride in our hotel, and do our best to prevent problems from recurring. Therefore, I'd like you to give us another chance by staying with us again during your next visit to this area.

Again, I want to thank you for taking the time to share your concerns with us. There's no excuse for anything less than complete guest satisfaction.

We look forward to serving you again in the near future.

Sincerely,
Michael
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Commack NY
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 January 2006

This is not just a dump --- it is unsafe and dangerous. Bathrooms are disgusting and there was no hot water. Checked in and out in 15 minutes.

  • Stayed December 2005
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank reheiss
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MikeHampton, Owner at Potomac Inn, responded to this review, 8 May 2009
Thank you for your comment regarding your stay at our hotel. We value comments from our guests and try to use those comments to improve our hotel.

I am sorry about the fact that you were not satisfied with your stay.

I have spoken with the staff and reviewed the importance of proper housekeeping and addressing hot water issues as a top priority for guests. Since this review we have made significant improvements to the guest rooms and lobby.

I hope that you will give us another opportunity to serve you in the future.

We look forward to your next visit with us.

Sincerely,
Michael
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Woodbridge hotels
1.5 mi away
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Potomac Mills Woodbridge
2.1 mi away
Sleep Inn, Potomac Mills
Sleep Inn, Potomac Mills
#8 of 15 in Woodbridge
4.5 of 5 bubbles 106 reviews
0.9 mi away
Quality Inn near Potomac Mills
Quality Inn near Potomac Mills
#13 of 15 in Woodbridge
3.5 of 5 bubbles 48 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.4 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Woodbridge
Hilton Garden Inn Woodbridge
#2 of 15 in Woodbridge
5.0 of 5 bubbles 347 reviews
2.6 mi away
Homewood Suites by Hilton Woodbridge
1.4 mi away
Courtyard Potomac Mills Woodbridge
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Potomac Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Potomac Inn

Property: Potomac Inn
Address: 13964 Jefferson Davis Hwy, Woodbridge, VA 22191-2011
Region: United States > Virginia > Prince William County > Woodbridge
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #15 of 15 Hotels in Woodbridge
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:1.5 star — Potomac Inn 1.5*
Number of rooms: 39
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travel Republic (UK), Expedia, Odigeo and Agoda so you can book your Potomac Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Rodeway Inn Woodbridge
Woodbridge Rodeway Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing