We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Not a great Park to walk/hike.”

Leesylvania State Park
Ranked #2 of 19 things to do in Woodbridge
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: A beautiful park located on the Potomac River that offers historical sites and recreation facilities.
Woodbridge, Virginia
Level Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Not a great Park to walk/hike.”
Reviewed 25 November 2013

I'm fairly biased towards hiking. The trails in this park did not do it for me. Compared to nearby Prince William Forest, and Julie J. Metz Wetlands bank I found the trails here over priced and uninspiring.

Visited April 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Stuart P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

134 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    71
    46
    11
    6
    0
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Woodbridge, Virginia
Level Contributor
85 reviews
4 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“Recharge yourself and the family”
Reviewed 25 November 2013

Spectacular Views by the water. Space galore to have a picinic without feeling you are on top of people. Fishing did I say Fishing yes go out on the rocks and just relax. Away from the hustle and bustle of D.C. is this Oasis.

I visited the park in 2010 (no selectio for 2010 when I first found the park). Then moved and settled here in Woodbridge 2011. There is nothing like being here and living with nature. Deer, Possums, Raccoons, Eagles, Hawk, and Buzzards ewwwwwwwwwwwwwwwww. Coming from NY I am in HEAVEN!!!!!!

If you come to visit please respect the Park keep it CLEAN!!!!

Visited December 2012
Helpful?
Thank theflo22191
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Woodbridge, Virginia
Level Contributor
20 reviews
7 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“State park”
Reviewed 7 August 2013

Leesylvania is a great state park with hiking trails, rental kayaks and fantastic guides. There is a boat dock and launch facilities. Guided tours are also provided.

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
Thank bobbnick
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Woodbridge, Virginia
Level Contributor
7 reviews
“Picnic 2013”
Reviewed 30 July 2013

This is a great park to visit. I was there on 7/27/13 for a picnic and the admission charge was $5.00 per vehicle. The picnic was held under one of the biggest shed in the park and the kids had enough space to play. There are paddle boats to rent and the park police were all over the place making sure everyone is safe. This is a great place for group gatherings and relaxation

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
Thank 601bigirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Woodbridge, VA
Level Contributor
157 reviews
55 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
“Beautiful park”
Reviewed 30 July 2013

The park is located on the river and has boating access and nice picnic areas with playgrounds. Additionally, there are hiking trails that weave through the historical parts of the park. It is busy, especially on nice weather days.

Visited October 2012
Helpful?
Thank GallivantingGranny
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Leesylvania State Park also viewed

Woodbridge, Prince William County
Woodbridge, Prince William County
 
Woodbridge, Prince William County
 

Been to Leesylvania State Park? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing