We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Top Notch Historic Inn”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Woodstock
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Inn at Narrow Passage
Ranked #1 of 3 Woodstock B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Lititz, Pennsylvania
Level 6 Contributor
115 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 71 helpful votes
“Top Notch Historic Inn”
Reviewed 17 July 2013

This is the perfect location for a weekend getaway; large room with comfortable pillow-top mattress, fireplace, quiet setting overlooking Shenandoah River, close to Civil War historic sites, close to Blue Ridge Parkway, and delightfully hosted by owners Ed and Ellen. We recommend you also visit Joe's Steakhouse for dinner, and Shenandoah Vineyards for wine tasting.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank PaTravelfan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

164 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    140
    15
    7
    2
    0
See reviews for
24
99
4
4
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (31)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Chappaqua, New York
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 July 2013

My sister and I stayed here this past week and couldn't believe that the B&B wasn't packed.
I had read about how romantic it was and wasn't sure that two sisters would enjoy it. But, it was more than we hoped for. Our room had two huge queen beds with a fireplace and rocking chairs on the front porch. We hiked up the Civil War Trail and dipped our toes in the creek and even went over the suspension bridge which was fun. We stopped at Shenandoah Vineyards and did a wine tasting and then brought back wine, cheese, crackers and fruit and had a picnic on the expansive front lawn. We also went to Joe's steakhouse and the staff was the friendliest and most helpful I've seen in a long time (and the bread is amazing!). The innkeeper spent time with us telling us about all the history of the inn and the area. And what a breakfast he made in the morning. Only complaint: the coffee could have been stronger with a Dunkin Donuts or Starbucks bean. Don't miss the covered bridge and caverns. Thanks, Ed for the advice.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank mambolina51
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 16 June 2013 via mobile

Great location, clean, mountain cabin feel. Lovely owners.

We are picky Colorado natives now NYC/ DC residents, so have quite a high bar when 'mountain' 'cabin' and 'breakfast' is thrown around. We loved it. Will go back.

  • Stayed June 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Slbard
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Atlanta, Georgia
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 June 2013

My fiancee and I enjoyed a very peaceful evening here after nine hours on the road. Woodstock is a short, five minute drive with several dining options. (We had dinner at Joe's Steakhouse and it was excellent for the price.) Our bedroom at the inn was clean, comfortable, romantic. We look forward to going back and staying more than one night so we can take full advantage of the peaceful surroundings at Inn at Narrow Passage.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jake V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Norwich, Connecticut
1 review
Reviewed 8 June 2013

My husband and I just spent 3 wonderful days at this historic inn! Knowing that it was our anniversary, the owners upgraded our room and presented us with the Virginia Bed & Breakfast Cookbook! The inn's setting is private and secluded but close to all valley attractions! Grounds are meticulously groomed , showcasing the pride that Ed and Ellen have in their property! Breakfasts were delicious with plenty of variety! Thank you for making our anniversary memorable!

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank kerry0k
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Coshocton, Ohio
1 review
Reviewed 18 May 2013

We stayed at the Inn at Narrow Passage on the last night of our honeymoon get away and we wish we had planned to stay more than one night. We were very pleased to see the beautiful surroundings when we pulled in. Ed, the Inn keeper, was very gracious and friendly, recommending a great place to get dinner in Woodstock. When we returned from dinner there was a plate of fresh chocolate brownies and strawberries waiting for us in our room. Our room was very nice and comfortable. Breakfast was very good. Not only was the food delicious, but Ed provided us with great conversation. He truly takes an interest in the people that stay at the Inn. We even got a personal tour of the historic inn. After breakfast we took a walk to the nearby river and walked across the suspension bridge, which was challenging for those of us afraid of heights, but it was fun and the scenery was beautiful. We had a great experience and hope to return.

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Bev L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Keswick, Ontario
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 April 2013

What an excellent place to stay. The ambiance, the history, the scenery and our host Ed made our stay the best vacation in years. Ed was busy getting the grounds ready when we arrived. My only disappointment was that we were there in early spring and things were just beginning to bud.
We are definitely going back again. As a history enthusiast I loved the place. For any ACW reenactors reading this The Inn is a place you have to experience. I highly recommended the Inn at Narrow Passage.

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank BruceW564
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Woodstock
1.6 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Woodstock
1.6 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Woodstock / Shenandoah Valley
13.0 mi away
The Mimslyn Inn
The Mimslyn Inn
#1 of 9 in Luray
984 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.8 mi away
Comfort Inn
Comfort Inn
#2 of 4 in Woodstock
277 reviews
15.0 mi away
Fairfield Inn & Suites Strasburg Shenandoah Valley
13.0 mi away
Hotel Laurance
Hotel Laurance
#3 of 9 in Luray
46 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Inn at Narrow Passage? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Inn at Narrow Passage

Property: Inn at Narrow Passage
Address: 30 Chapman Landing Rd, (Rt. 672), Woodstock, VA 22824-2857
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Virginia > Shenandoah County > Woodstock
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 B&Bs / Inns in Woodstock
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 12
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Historic lodging near Woodstock, Virginia, on the Shenandoah River. River Access for fishing and canoeing. free internet full breakfast included ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing