We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“a very nice alternative to chain hotels”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Woodstock
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Inn at Narrow Passage
Ranked #1 of 3 Woodstock B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 21 July 2013

Stayed two nights at the inn.It was a very pleasant alternative to the chain hotels.However,be aware it is not a full service hotel and is probably best for independent travelers.The rooms are very pleasant-nice size,clean and tastefully decorated.The rooms each have their own entrance and are in separate wings from the lobby/dining area.
The lobby is comfortable.I got a particular kick from sitting in same area where general Jackson stayed.The place is full of history and makes a great base for exploring the area.The grounds are nicely groomed and its pleasant to walk down to the river.
Breakfast was very nice.The inn keeper was great-very hospitable.
TVs are a bit small,but we rarely watched it.

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank bdi123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (169)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

94 - 100 of 169 reviews

Reviewed 21 July 2013

We have been coming to this area to visit our child at camp for several years now, and only found out about this place because of Tripadvisor. We found all the positives that have been mentioned by others to be true - the owner is a font of knowledge about the area, and the inn was well appointed. I'd mention a few things that others haven't - I found the grounds in particular lovely, and there's a nice put-in to fish or canoe (and I suppose swim!) in one of the branches of the Shenandoah for those who like the river. I would characterize this inn as not luxurious, but comfortable and homey. Breakfast was simple and good - scrambled eggs and bacon, and fresh fruit. We found the rooms to be very clean and comfortably appointed, and I suppose the television services have been updated from one of the reviewers, because there were many channels, as well as Wi-Fi. An excellent place to stay if you're in the area - like another reviewer, I was surprised there were not more guests on a summer weekend.

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Friquent_traveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 July 2013

This is the perfect location for a weekend getaway; large room with comfortable pillow-top mattress, fireplace, quiet setting overlooking Shenandoah River, close to Civil War historic sites, close to Blue Ridge Parkway, and delightfully hosted by owners Ed and Ellen. We recommend you also visit Joe's Steakhouse for dinner, and Shenandoah Vineyards for wine tasting.

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank PaTravelfan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 July 2013

My sister and I stayed here this past week and couldn't believe that the B&B wasn't packed.
I had read about how romantic it was and wasn't sure that two sisters would enjoy it. But, it was more than we hoped for. Our room had two huge queen beds with a fireplace and rocking chairs on the front porch. We hiked up the Civil War Trail and dipped our toes in the creek and even went over the suspension bridge which was fun. We stopped at Shenandoah Vineyards and did a wine tasting and then brought back wine, cheese, crackers and fruit and had a picnic on the expansive front lawn. We also went to Joe's steakhouse and the staff was the friendliest and most helpful I've seen in a long time (and the bread is amazing!). The innkeeper spent time with us telling us about all the history of the inn and the area. And what a breakfast he made in the morning. Only complaint: the coffee could have been stronger with a Dunkin Donuts or Starbucks bean. Don't miss the covered bridge and caverns. Thanks, Ed for the advice.

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank mambolina51
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 June 2013 via mobile

Great location, clean, mountain cabin feel. Lovely owners.

We are picky Colorado natives now NYC/ DC residents, so have quite a high bar when 'mountain' 'cabin' and 'breakfast' is thrown around. We loved it. Will go back.

  • Stayed: June 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Slbard
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 June 2013

My fiancee and I enjoyed a very peaceful evening here after nine hours on the road. Woodstock is a short, five minute drive with several dining options. (We had dinner at Joe's Steakhouse and it was excellent for the price.) Our bedroom at the inn was clean, comfortable, romantic. We look forward to going back and staying more than one night so we can take full advantage of the peaceful surroundings at Inn at Narrow Passage.

  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Jake V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 June 2013

My husband and I just spent 3 wonderful days at this historic inn! Knowing that it was our anniversary, the owners upgraded our room and presented us with the Virginia Bed & Breakfast Cookbook! The inn's setting is private and secluded but close to all valley attractions! Grounds are meticulously groomed , showcasing the pride that Ed and Ellen have in their property! Breakfasts were delicious with plenty of variety! Thank you for making our anniversary memorable!

  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank kerry0k
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Woodstock
1.6 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Woodstock / Shenandoah Valley
1.6 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Woodstock
1.8 mi away
Comfort Inn
Comfort Inn
#2 of 4 in Woodstock
284 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
13.4 mi away
Hotel Strasburg
Hotel Strasburg
#3 of 5 in Strasburg
243 reviews
13.0 mi away
The Mimslyn Inn
The Mimslyn Inn
#1 of 9 in Luray
1,012 reviews
1.0 mi away
Econo Lodge Woodstock
Econo Lodge Woodstock
#4 of 4 in Woodstock
82 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Inn at Narrow Passage? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Inn at Narrow Passage

Address: 30 Chapman Landing Rd, (Rt. 672), Woodstock, VA 22824-2857
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Virginia > Shenandoah County > Woodstock
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 B&Bs / Inns in Woodstock
Price Range: £64 - £136 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 12
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Historic lodging near Woodstock, Virginia, on the Shenandoah River. River Access for fishing and canoeing. free internet full breakfast included ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing