We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Mountain Rose Magic”
Review of Mountain Rose Inn

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Mountain Rose Inn
Ranked #1 of 1 Woolwine B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
New Jersey
Level Contributor
11 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Mountain Rose Magic”
Reviewed 1 May 2012

My husband and I spent a weekend at the Mountain Rose Inn. We love Bed & Breakfasts and we were celebrating our Anniversary as well as going to the race at Martinsville. What a piece of paradise. We stayed in the Pride of Virginia room and it was quaint and lovely. There are two entrances with porches on either side of the room on the second floor of this lovely Virginia home. It is set back off the quiet, rolling road along a beautiful little river. There are chairs and swings along the river and it was extremely easy to sit and take in nature. Dora Jane and Mike were excellent hosts and even assisted my daughters to setting up champagne, flowers and chocolates for when we arrived! Dora Jane is a wonderful cook and made us feel special. She also set up a dinner for us at the Inn on Sunday night after our long day at the race. Just what we needed. We will definitely be back!

Room Tip: All 5 rooms are great! Fireplaces and traditional furnishings. There are several porches to sit an...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank debbw8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

183 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    168
    7
    4
    1
    3
See reviews for
9
149
2
3
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (41)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Roanoke, Virginia, United States
1 review
Reviewed 30 April 2012

We enjoyed a peaceful and relaxing weekend at the Inn. We enjoyed taking advantage of the surroundings to hike, explore with plenty of lounging around. Star gazing outside on the porch with a glass of wine in the evening is the perfect end to any day. The room was adequate, comfortable and clean. The meals were exquisite, only to be matched by the quality of hospitality offered during out entire stay. The Mountain Rose Inn was the perfect choice for our getaway and we intend to return to enjoy another stay in the future!

Room Tip: If you want to not have to go up and down a flight of stairs during your stay we recommend the Heirl...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Matthew H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oxford, UK
Level Contributor
35 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 April 2012

We stayed just the one night in the Pride of Virginia room and could not fault the experience in any way whatsoever.

Dora Jane was a most gracious and helpful host throughout, the room had every convenience and lots of small thoughtful touches, the setting is both charming and romantic and the breakfast and all the many goodies left for you in every room far too tempting. We should have stayed longer - a most relaxing, stylish and friendly bed and breakfast which was excellent value for money and great fun

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank JohnWilson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Martinsville, Virginia
Level Contributor
18 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 January 2012

We took advantage of Chateau Morrisette's Winter Wonderland Getaway, and were delighted to choose Mountain Rose Inn for our lodging. We have stayed there before, and knew that our second trip would be as wonderful as our first stay at MRI. We were not disappointed! We traveled with another couple, and they too, loved the place. We relaxed by the fireplace before heading to dinner, and then again after we came back down the mountain, before heading to bed. Sat morning's gourmet breakfast was wonderful! Mike and Dora Jane are the perfect innkeepers, and we really enjoyed visiting with them during the course of the stay.

Stay in the Pride of Virginia Room. It offers two porches on either side of the room. Rocking chairs and a porch swing offer a relaxing place to enjoy a cup of coffee!

Room Tip: The Pride of Virginia is our choice from now on!
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank leelee5876
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Charlottesville, Virginia
Level Contributor
102 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 January 2012

We wanted to get away from the hectic schedules and decided to stay overnight at the B&B. Its a beautiful house and a really nice property surrounding the house. The rooms have the old school feel but all the morder necessities. The fridge is stocked with soda, juice, ice cream for all the guests. The B&B is really well maintained. The owners are very friendly and the breakfast (4 course) its fantastic. I will probably go stay there again over the summer to explore the property surrounding the house.

  • Stayed January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank mehtap3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
north carolina
Level Contributor
139 reviews
103 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 65 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 January 2012

We received a night stay at the Mountain Rose Inn for a Christmas present from 1 of our children. My Wife and I enjoy Mountain get-aways and we chose to visit for Valentine. We had a wonderful stay with great host. Everything was wonderful and the Inn is highly recommended. We stay in B&Bs 20 or more nights a year and are very choosy. We like to share our experience both good and bad. This one is definitely GOOD!!!!!!!!!

Room Tip: Choose PRIDE OF VIRGINIA room, very private with porch on both sides of second story room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ronosbornemopars
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Alabama
Level Contributor
38 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 November 2011

We loved our one night stay here at the Mountain Rose. We wish we could've stayed longer, but we'll definitely be staying again. The room was cozy and luxurious. Rarely do you find a place away from home that beats the comfort of your own bed but this place did it. We've never slept better. Our hosts were welcoming and helpful and the gourmet breakfast was to-die-for. we highly recommend this hidden gem and next time we'll take advantage of the outdoor pool and the relaxing grounds.

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank writtenbyheidi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Woolwine
8.7 mi away
Oak Haven Lodge
Oak Haven Lodge
#3 of 4 in Floyd
3.5 of 5 bubbles 48 reviews
20.8 mi away
Hampton Inn Martinsville
Hampton Inn Martinsville
#1 of 6 in Martinsville
4.5 of 5 bubbles 278 reviews
20.9 mi away
Comfort Inn Martinsville
Comfort Inn Martinsville
#2 of 6 in Martinsville
4.0 of 5 bubbles 117 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
22.1 mi away
Baymont Inn & Suites Martinsville
7.9 mi away
Hotel Floyd
Hotel Floyd
#1 of 4 in Floyd
4.5 of 5 bubbles 470 reviews
11.2 mi away
Uptown Suites of Stuart
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mountain Rose Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mountain Rose Inn

Property: Mountain Rose Inn
Address: 1787 Charity Hwy, Rt 40, Woolwine, VA 24185-3606
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Virginia > Woolwine
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 B&Bs / Inns in Woolwine
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Mountain Rose Inn 3*
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
"Historical Country Elegance in the Blue Ridge Mountains." 1901 farmhouse with five rooms, private in room baths, and working fireplaces. Near Blue Ridge Parkway, Chateau Morrisette winery. Gourmet breakfast, 100 private acres, trails, weddings and reunions and trout stream. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Traveltool, S.L.U., Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Mountain Rose Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing