We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Peaceful mountain retreat!”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Mountain Rose Inn

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Mountain Rose Inn
Ranked #1 of 1 Woolwine B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Indiana
Level Contributor
27 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Peaceful mountain retreat!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 October 2013

My husband and I stayed overnight at this bed and breakfast on a fall vacation. Everything was as described on the website. The room we stayed in "The pride of Virginia" was beautiful. The bed was very comfortable, the room nicely decorated, and the wifi worked well. When we arrived a snack of a bread bowl with dip and vegetables was set out for the guests but we were going out to dinner and didn't have any of it. Drinks and other snacks were also available. There are many places to sit and relax inside and outside. The quiet location ensures a great night's sleep. Coffee was set out before breakfast in the morning. Breakfast was served at individual tables and was a three course gourmet treat. I highly recommend this inn if you are traveling through southwestern Virginia. If we travel to this area again I would love to stay again!

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank lighthouseladysb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

180 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    165
    7
    4
    1
    3
See reviews for
9
147
2
3
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (40)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Medina, Ohio
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 May 2013

Mike and Dora Jane were great and very helpful for all our needs. It is a very peaceful place and very well run and maintained. Would go back again! Again we "Loved" it !!!! It is a little out of the way but that's what we were looking for. We didn't mind driving the mountain roads to reach such a beautitul place. It is a very old house but restored to the utmost.

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Charles M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Santa Barbara, Calif
Level Contributor
184 reviews
93 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 110 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 April 2013

The Mountain Rose Inn is just outside of Woolwine, and it is a few miles up and over the Blue Ridge to Clyde, Va. The Blue Ridge parkway is nearby. We arrived by driving North on the Parkway and the directions supplied were good and helpful.

The Inn is in a quiet, almost secluded location along a lovely creek. The environment is very fine, and a bright Spring or Fall day would invite lounging on the veranda or the outside decks. A BBQ might even be a good idea.

The B&B is excellent, the room we had was very comfortable. Mike and Dora may now be on their way back to South Carolina from whence they came so we don't know who may be the hosts if you go; Mike and Dora were gracious and helpful hosts. Breakfasts were fine and they gave us good tips for dining out and for hiking.

The only drawback to the location is that Dinner venues are a bit of a drive away, and the road up to Clyde is a very winding road. We had no real trouble with it but we might have preferred to be closer to a nice dinner spot.

It was snowing in late March on the Sunday we left, and we took it slow and easy down the mountain to the East. A drive to dinner in the snow on a dark night might have been troublesome, but fortunately did not have that problem.

We did encounter a block on the Blue Ridge parkway returning from dinner and the detour directions Mike and Dora supplied worked fine.

Room Tip: Ask good questions of the Innkeepers to assure you get what you want.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Oski80
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
9 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 April 2013

We spent last night and this morning at the Rose Mountain Inn and had a wonderful experience. We got stuck in a bit of a late season snow,but Mike and Dora Jane were lovely when we arrived after typical check-in time. The Inn has been well thought out with attention to detail. Breakfast was FANTASTIC! It is a definite re-visit for us!

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Nicole T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melton Mowbray, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
287 reviews
47 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 168 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 February 2013

We decided to stay here after we read the reviews and where also recommended on a TA forum. We were doing a US roadtrip which was completed by driving the BRP.

The house itself is beautiful, off the beaten track and by the side of a small river. The house is old and is decorated to compliment this. We didn't go into the lounge area, it was so very dark and unappealing. The veranda was excellent though, with several rocking chairs to enjoy the surroundings.

Our room was nice, in keeping with the period. It was clean and the bed was small but comfortable. It did have a musty smell though..ok it’s an old house, but we have stayed in similar period houses which managed to be rid of such odours.

The breakfast was very nice, as with most good B&B breakfasts in America, there was plenty of it.

The owner helped by recommending a good place to eat that night – an Italian (Mike Gs?), one of the best we’ve ever had! He also kindly opened a bottle of wine for me, after an all day driving stint, a glass of wine on the veranda was most welcome. There was homemade cake on the side for guests to be tempted with.

The owners, while helpful and accommodating were quite distant (for want of a better word), although all our needs were met, they were not the most welcoming of hosts (seemingly judgemental / lack of smiles). An example was when we were leaving; we couldn’t find anyone to say thank you to. We could hear chores being carried out in the kitchen so knocked on the door a couple of times, there was no answer, so without being rude and just leaving without saying good bye, we opened the door to tell them we were off. We were met with a cold response from the owner (Mike), who seemed quite unhappy we had dared open the door to the kitchen area. Not the response we were looking for! For me it's not only the cleanliness and facilities of a B&B that matter, people who go for the B&B experience also quite rightly expect to be welcomed into the house and to feel comfortable at all times. It's a shame this one fell short in that area.

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank ElizabethGClaxton
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chesapeake, Virginia
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 November 2012

My husband and I got married at the Inn in October, and it was amazing! I really hate planning events because I don't like making decisions, and the Inn Keepers made it so easy. They asked us a few simple questions, and all we basically had to do was show up. Everything was PERFECT - they knew exactly what I wanted and how I wanted it. My husband and I were blown away by the hospitality and kindness of them, along with the entire town. Everybody there is extra nice, like in the movies. Plus, if they suggest a location, place, or person for your event - just trust them. The hair dresser did my hair EXACTLY how I wanted it, the cake was EXACTLY how I imagined it, and the photographs (done by the Inn Keepers) were of professional quality - even though they claim to not be professionals. I would highly recommend the Mountain Rose Inn!!!

Room Tip: They are all good
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank everafter107
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Antonio, Texas
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 October 2012

What an ideal setting. Quiet, clean, and comfortable house and rooms. Mike and Dora Jane were great hosts...............................................................................................................

Highly recommended,

D. Kirkland

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank David K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Woolwine
8.7 mi away
Oak Haven Lodge
Oak Haven Lodge
#3 of 4 in Floyd
3.5 of 5 bubbles 48 reviews
20.8 mi away
Hampton Inn Martinsville
Hampton Inn Martinsville
#1 of 6 in Martinsville
4.5 of 5 bubbles 274 reviews
20.9 mi away
Comfort Inn Martinsville
Comfort Inn Martinsville
#2 of 6 in Martinsville
4.0 of 5 bubbles 115 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
22.1 mi away
Baymont Inn & Suites Martinsville
7.9 mi away
Hotel Floyd
Hotel Floyd
#1 of 4 in Floyd
4.5 of 5 bubbles 463 reviews
11.2 mi away
Uptown Suites of Stuart
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mountain Rose Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mountain Rose Inn

Property: Mountain Rose Inn
Address: 1787 Charity Highway (Rt 40), Rt 40, Woolwine, VA 24185
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Virginia > Woolwine
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 B&Bs / Inns in Woolwine
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Mountain Rose Inn 3*
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
"Historical Country Elegance in the Blue Ridge Mountains." 1901 farmhouse with five rooms, private in room baths, and working fireplaces. Near Blue Ridge Parkway, Chateau Morrisette winery. Gourmet breakfast, 100 private acres, trails, weddings and reunions and trout stream. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Traveltool, S.L.U., Booking.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Mountain Rose Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing