We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great babymoon getaway!”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Mountain Rose Inn

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Mountain Rose Inn
Ranked #1 of 1 Woolwine B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Arlington, Virginia
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Great babymoon getaway!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 February 2014

We just spent a short weekend here from DC and it was definitely worth the drive. We elected for the babymoon package to get some nice R&R and it was wonderful. Great rooms, great service, great food! The in-room massages were wonderful. It is located in a remote area of Woolwine, but restaurants and other attractions are just a 20-30 minute drive away. The Chateau restaurant was definitely worth the drive for an upscale dining experience and I imagine would be a great winery tour had I had been able to drink! The innkeepers definitely take great care of the Inn and we would recommend it to anyone looking for a remote weekend getaway. I can imagine how nice it would be in the warmer months when the pool is open and there are other things to do. In the winter, this was the perfect quiet getaway to just relax and read by the fireplace.

Room Tip: We stayed in the Daisy Delight room which faces the front of the property. It had a king sized bed a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank LindsayM10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

180 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    165
    7
    4
    1
    3
See reviews for
9
147
2
3
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (40)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Lawsonville, North Carolina
Level Contributor
9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 January 2014

My husband and I just spent our 9th anniversary at the Mountain Rose Inn. We could not have chosen a better place to spend time together. The house is splendid and has been beautifully restored. The property is private, surrounded by woods and winding roads, yet easy to locate. The innkeeper, Dawn, greeted us with a smile and had everything ready for our arrival, including afternoon sherry and a cheese and cracker platter. Dawn is truly a lovely person, being friendly and helpful, yet non-intrusive. (We had visited before and found the previous innkeepers to be slightly arrogant/aloof) Any amenity you could wish for was at our disposal, and the bed slept so well!! (Love those Comphy sheets!) The house is a wonderful mix of antique furniture and modern conveniences - it is a true gem. Our breakfast was right on time, absolutely delicious, and we were seated at a table by the window where we could enjoy the snow falling. FYI: They have their own blend of coffee which is far better than any you can buy from Starbucks (Thank you Dawn, for my gift :) Please have no reservations if you are considering the Mountain Rose Inn...you will enjoy every minute of your visit!

Room Tip: Daisy's Delight has a great view from the windows and access to the upstairs porch
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Reece2005
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lebanon, Oregon
Level Contributor
20 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 November 2013

My wife and I decided to elope. While we were not having a crowd (or any guests) for our wedding, we still wanted a wedding experience. After some searching, we decided to book the elopement package at the Mountain Rose Inn.

We booked online shortly after the Innkeepers switched, and were concerned because our booking had been based on reviews from the previous Innkeepers; however, Christie, the current Innkeeper, handled everything beautifully. We had several special requests, and she was able to accommodate everything we asked for. We were able to specify the type of ceremony, select our flowers, select a photographer, give preference of wine, schedule massages, schedule a dinner at the Inn, and pick the flavor of wedding cake baked for us.

The ceremony on the grounds was wonderful. The officiant selected did an excellent job, and the photographer, Robert Lipscomb, provided us with top-notch photos. Christie provided us with sparkling wine, and the assistant Innkeeper Dawn baked us a delicious red velvet cake. We definitely received the wedding experience we were looking for.

As for the Inn itself, it is a charming old house. The creek running across the front is peaceful and pretty. There were various trails through the woods around the Inn, and walking these was a source of enjoyment for us. The room we stayed in, The Pride of Virginia, was more spacious than I’d expect for a bed and breakfast. The Mountain Rose Inn makes a big deal about their sheets, and for good reason- these were some of the most comfortable sheets we have ever slept on. The room was surprisingly warm; we never had to use our in-room fireplace. The shower is spacious, with great water pressure and heat. We missed having a bathtub, but the quality of the shower almost made up for it. Having an HDTV with DirecTV was nice; however, the built-in DVD player seemed to have some problems. We were able to get movies to play, but were not able to skip scenes, pause the movie, etc. Also, if I were to have one complaint, the bathroom is stocked with one-ply toilet tissue. One-ply! Bring your soft tissue from home.

The food was great. I am a meat eater and my wife is a vegetarian; Christie and her staff were able to provide and cook a menu that accommodated us both. The dinner was excellent, as were each of the breakfasts. The breakfast buffet on Sunday had a bowl of bacon; really, what more could you ask for? We selected a breakfast in bed for one morning, which was nice, and served to us well. We also did a wine and cheese basket. This was just superb, one of the best things we experienced while at the Mountain Rose Inn. There were a variety of sliced cheeses and crackers, several types of chocolate, fresh fruit, utensils, and the wine itself. Each of the wines selected for us was good, and most of them were local Virginia wines. We were surrounded by chocolate: chocolate on our pillows, on our cups, in a bowl in our room, in a bowl by the guest book, in our gift basket, in our wine and cheese basket, and laid out for us when we arrived. Some of these were from the elopement package, but there was an overall abundance of chocolate at the Inn.

The coffee was some type of flavored coffee. Not our preference, but perhaps it is overall a crowd pleaser. Having sherry laid out in the afternoon was a good touch, and I strongly recommend sitting in the study while sipping on a glass.

I am not a fan of massages, but my wife assures me the masseuse did an excellent job.

To say we were pleased was an understatement. Christie and her staff went well out of their way to make us feel special not just on our wedding day but for our entire stay. We most highly recommend the Mountain Rose Inn, whether for a special occasion or a simple weekend getaway.

Room Tip: The Pride of Virginia is the only room with private porches. Great for a romantic getaway!
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank JosephAndBrown
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Centennial, Colorado
Level Contributor
13 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 November 2013

My husband and I had the wonderful good fortune to stay at the Mountain Rose Inn on a recent vacation. The Inn is beautifully decorated, immaculately clean, and the rooms are very spacious. Our hosts were very friendly and generous with information about the Inn and the surrounding gorgeous property. We enjoyed a peaceful walk along the river, and a late night glass of wine on the upstairs veranda, while we watched the distant cars navigate the winding mountain roads. Breakfast was a gourmet treat including baked apples, southwest egg bake with roasted corn and tomatoes, and blackberry confit. It was elegantly served by one of the hosts, who went out of her way to make our stay comfortable and satisfying.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Deborah E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Indiana
Level Contributor
27 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 October 2013

My husband and I stayed overnight at this bed and breakfast on a fall vacation. Everything was as described on the website. The room we stayed in "The pride of Virginia" was beautiful. The bed was very comfortable, the room nicely decorated, and the wifi worked well. When we arrived a snack of a bread bowl with dip and vegetables was set out for the guests but we were going out to dinner and didn't have any of it. Drinks and other snacks were also available. There are many places to sit and relax inside and outside. The quiet location ensures a great night's sleep. Coffee was set out before breakfast in the morning. Breakfast was served at individual tables and was a three course gourmet treat. I highly recommend this inn if you are traveling through southwestern Virginia. If we travel to this area again I would love to stay again!

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank lighthouseladysb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Medina, Ohio
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 May 2013

Mike and Dora Jane were great and very helpful for all our needs. It is a very peaceful place and very well run and maintained. Would go back again! Again we "Loved" it !!!! It is a little out of the way but that's what we were looking for. We didn't mind driving the mountain roads to reach such a beautitul place. It is a very old house but restored to the utmost.

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Charles M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Santa Barbara, Calif
Level Contributor
184 reviews
93 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 110 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 April 2013

The Mountain Rose Inn is just outside of Woolwine, and it is a few miles up and over the Blue Ridge to Clyde, Va. The Blue Ridge parkway is nearby. We arrived by driving North on the Parkway and the directions supplied were good and helpful.

The Inn is in a quiet, almost secluded location along a lovely creek. The environment is very fine, and a bright Spring or Fall day would invite lounging on the veranda or the outside decks. A BBQ might even be a good idea.

The B&B is excellent, the room we had was very comfortable. Mike and Dora may now be on their way back to South Carolina from whence they came so we don't know who may be the hosts if you go; Mike and Dora were gracious and helpful hosts. Breakfasts were fine and they gave us good tips for dining out and for hiking.

The only drawback to the location is that Dinner venues are a bit of a drive away, and the road up to Clyde is a very winding road. We had no real trouble with it but we might have preferred to be closer to a nice dinner spot.

It was snowing in late March on the Sunday we left, and we took it slow and easy down the mountain to the East. A drive to dinner in the snow on a dark night might have been troublesome, but fortunately did not have that problem.

We did encounter a block on the Blue Ridge parkway returning from dinner and the detour directions Mike and Dora supplied worked fine.

Room Tip: Ask good questions of the Innkeepers to assure you get what you want.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Oski80
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Woolwine
8.7 mi away
Oak Haven Lodge
Oak Haven Lodge
#3 of 4 in Floyd
3.5 of 5 bubbles 48 reviews
20.8 mi away
Hampton Inn Martinsville
Hampton Inn Martinsville
#1 of 6 in Martinsville
4.5 of 5 bubbles 274 reviews
20.9 mi away
Comfort Inn Martinsville
Comfort Inn Martinsville
#2 of 6 in Martinsville
4.0 of 5 bubbles 115 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
22.1 mi away
Baymont Inn & Suites Martinsville
7.9 mi away
Hotel Floyd
Hotel Floyd
#1 of 4 in Floyd
4.5 of 5 bubbles 463 reviews
11.2 mi away
Uptown Suites of Stuart
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mountain Rose Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mountain Rose Inn

Property: Mountain Rose Inn
Address: 1787 Charity Highway (Rt 40), Rt 40, Woolwine, VA 24185
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Virginia > Woolwine
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 B&Bs / Inns in Woolwine
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Mountain Rose Inn 3*
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
"Historical Country Elegance in the Blue Ridge Mountains." 1901 farmhouse with five rooms, private in room baths, and working fireplaces. Near Blue Ridge Parkway, Chateau Morrisette winery. Gourmet breakfast, 100 private acres, trails, weddings and reunions and trout stream. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Traveltool, S.L.U., Booking.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Mountain Rose Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing