We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Perfect mountain escape!”
Review of Mountain Rose Inn

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Mountain Rose Inn
Ranked #1 of 1 Woolwine B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Hong Kong
Level Contributor
35 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
“Perfect mountain escape!”
Reviewed 17 May 2006

The Mountain Rose Inn could not be better situated or more beautifully maintained. If you are looking for an incredibly relaxing weekend getaway, there is no better place. Tucked off of a windy, quiet road, the Mountain Rose Inn stands out as a true Virginia destination. The proprieters are incredibly friendly and generous, and the rooms are beautifully decorated so each bedroom has a unique feel. In the sitting room, there are board games, a piano, puzzles, chess, etc to while away the quiet evenings or rainy nights. We will definitely be back again and I recommend it to anyone traveling through the Blue Ridge Mountains!

  • Stayed April 2006
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank bikingrenee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

182 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    167
    7
    4
    1
    3
See reviews for
9
149
2
3
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (41)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Richmond, VA
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 11 May 2006

We booked the entire Inn for our wedding weekend. We booked all 5 rooms for family and ourselves and had a wonderful weekend. The ceremony was in the beautiful garden and the reception under a tent in the side lawn. The Innkeepers were wonderful, we could not have asked for better people to help us arrange every thing. They went out of their way to make our weekend a most memorable and wonderful wedding weekend possible.

The breakfast was incredible. More food than you would normally have for breakfast but so divine there is no way to walk away from any of it. Breakfast alone was well worth the trip back.

The management makes you feel at home and part of the family. It was over all a wonderful experience.

We plan on celebrating an anniversary or two at the Inn.

  • Stayed April 2006
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Kristi W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
A TripAdvisor Member
Reviewed 5 April 2006

We highly recommend this B&B to anyone travelling down the parkway or visiting the mountains of Virginia. The hosts are friendly and ready to insure your stay is enjoyable and no detail is too small for them to attend to. We will definitely be going back!

  • Stayed March 2006
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hawkinge, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
428 reviews
159 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1,283 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 August 2005

Spent a fantastic night here on our trip along the Blue Ridge Parkway and can thoroughly recommend the Inn.

We are a family of 4 (2 adults, 2 teens) and we booked Daisy's Den (my younger daughter is called Daisy) and the Heirloom Room and they were both gorgeous rooms with wonderful antique fittings, excellent linen and every comfort including books etc . The inn is a lovely turn of the century building set in an idyllic location where deer roam across the lawns. We particularly enjoyed the outdoor swimming pool - very unusual in a b&b but so very necessary in the summer.

We were very pleased to be the first guests under the new inn managers and also to meet one of the owners who grew up in the inn when it was his family home. They were absolutely charming and will no doubt be very successful.

Breakfast was absolutely delicious - blueberry stuffed pancakes, bacon, muffins, fruit - a feast!!

Our only regret was that we had only one night here - it would have been bliss to stay much longer and enjoy the river and the garden hammocks.

They don't do dinner, but there are lots of restaurants nearby. We ate at a nearby one (opposite Sara Lee) and I wish I could remember the name but the innkeepers will know as they have the brochure. The steaks were quite superb and excellent service.

Very highly recommended. Not pretentious at all or prissy which sorry to say many b&bs are (imo obviously), but tasteful and absolutely first class.

  • Stayed August 2005
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank alliebdive
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Woolwine
8.7 mi away
Oak Haven Lodge
Oak Haven Lodge
#3 of 4 in Floyd
3.5 of 5 bubbles 48 reviews
20.8 mi away
Hampton Inn Martinsville
Hampton Inn Martinsville
#1 of 6 in Martinsville
4.5 of 5 bubbles 278 reviews
20.9 mi away
Comfort Inn Martinsville
Comfort Inn Martinsville
#2 of 6 in Martinsville
4.0 of 5 bubbles 116 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
22.1 mi away
Baymont Inn & Suites Martinsville
7.9 mi away
Hotel Floyd
Hotel Floyd
#1 of 4 in Floyd
4.5 of 5 bubbles 469 reviews
11.2 mi away
Uptown Suites of Stuart
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mountain Rose Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mountain Rose Inn

Property: Mountain Rose Inn
Address: 1787 Charity Hwy, Rt 40, Woolwine, VA 24185-3606
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Virginia > Woolwine
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 B&Bs / Inns in Woolwine
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Mountain Rose Inn 3*
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
"Historical Country Elegance in the Blue Ridge Mountains." 1901 farmhouse with five rooms, private in room baths, and working fireplaces. Near Blue Ridge Parkway, Chateau Morrisette winery. Gourmet breakfast, 100 private acres, trails, weddings and reunions and trout stream. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Traveltool, S.L.U. and Priceline so you can book your Mountain Rose Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing