We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Almost surprisingly good pizza!”
Review of CJ's Pizza

CJ's Pizza
Ranked #4 of 59 Restaurants in Wytheville
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$7 - US$12
Cuisines: Italian, Pizza
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine, Kids, Child-friendly
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Accepts Discover, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Seating, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Description: C.J's is your hometown Pizza Shop. We make our dough and sauce from scratch every day. We use only the freshest toppings. We also use 100% real White Cheddar Cheese instead of Mozzarella which gives our pizza a great and unique taste. We hope you will also try our famous stromboli and Gluten-Free Pizza! It's Great! We also use the best quality meats and toppings for our subs. Our Steak and Cheese Sub is made with thinly sliced Rib Eye Steak. We hope you will also enjoy our fresh salads and pasta dishes. We have been serving the Wytheville area since 1982. It has been our pleasure to serve you. If you have any problems with our food or service, please let us know so that we will be better able to serve you! Sincere Thanks and God Bless! Tommy & Tina Cline
Atlanta, Georgia
Level Contributor
53 reviews
29 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Almost surprisingly good pizza!”
Reviewed 13 January 2014

The room is rustic and not particularly notable. The service is very friendly but not extraordinary. ... but the pizza is really quite good! Wytheville is not a culinary paradise, and pizza is not native to Southwest Virginia, but CJ's is worth going out of your way for. Plentiful toppings and a tasty crust. Unusual in that they use cheddar instead of mozzarella on their pizzas, but very tasty, very fresh, and, even as leftovers the next morning, very satisfying.

There is a reason the parking lot is generally full.

  • Visited December 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank ohr999
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

133 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    92
    29
    8
    2
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Asheville, NC
Level Contributor
35 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Great pizza!”
Reviewed 13 July 2013

My husband and I are a bit picky about our pizza so we were hesitant to try a small town pizza place but at 2:00 in the afternoon the place had a lot of cars in front so we decided to try it. Unlike other reviews I've read we had plenty of toppings on our pizza and the crust was crisp but not dry. Much, much better than Papa Johns! The service was excellent and it's a very home town kind of place. The deco could be upgraded but obviously they like Elvis. For a small town pizza place we were very pleasantly surprised.

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank SassyPh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Winston Salem, North Carolina
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Ok but not great”
Reviewed 6 April 2013 via mobile

We always like to try local pizza restaurants when traveling and saw this had good reviews. The pizza was OK but not great. There were relatively few toppings for the price but the crust was good. Would've been better getting delivery from Papa John's.

  • Visited April 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank WTALAU
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Winston-Salem, NC
Level Contributor
40 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“Small Town Sub Shop for Big-Time Appetites”
Reviewed 2 April 2013

We stopped in at CJ's because it was convenient at the time and we always like to try the local fare when we are traveling through some place. It's certainly not a high-class establishment, but it was clean, our waitress was friendly, and the food was good--average pizza and grinders menu--but fresh and flavorful. I'm sure we'd consider stopping in again if we were ever back in town.

Visited April 2013
Helpful?
Thank KtbC_NC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cortland, Ohio, United States
Level Contributor
35 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Great pizza with great service”
Reviewed 30 March 2013 via mobile

We stopped at CJs for dinner on our way to FL. Thanks to TA, we enjoyed their special of two salads, two drinks, and a medium two-topping pizza. The server was sweetness and light. The salads were large and tasty, the drinks cold and refilled often, and the pizza delicious! Believe it or not, this meal fed our whole family - two adults, two teens, and one preteen. We will definitely be making this stop more often in our travels.

Helpful?
Thank Marlissa H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed CJ's Pizza also viewed

 

Been to CJ's Pizza? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing