We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Love this place!”

Skeeter's World Famous Hotdogs
Ranked #6 of 61 Restaurants in Wytheville
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$1 - US$10
Cuisines: American
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Groups
Dining options: Breakfast, Lunch
Description: Serving up great food since 1925, Skeeter’s has been serving world famous “SKEETERDOGS” to locals and travelers for generations. Experience Skeeter’s “World Famous Hotdogs” a true Wytheville tradition!
Reviewed 2 August 2013

This place is all about the history and the atmosphere. You have to eat here at least once just to say you've done it. We eat here every time we come to Wytheville. Love "The Works" hot dogs - chili, cheese, onions and slaw. Yum! Not fancy. Just good!

1  Thank travelgal_0511
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (216)
There are newer reviews for Skeeter's World Famous Hotdogs
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

190 - 194 of 216 reviews

Reviewed 29 July 2013

Skeeter's is an icon here in Wytheville, Va. They are famous for their chili hotdogs and they've sold at least millions of them since their beginning. The décor of their store is "the 50's-60's era standing still." The counters, stools that still spin, and pictures depict how it was many years ago and gives you that "back in time" feeling. It's a unique lunch experience and great for the memory books. Make sure you take some pics while you're there.

Thank edie0429
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SkeetersVA, Owner at Skeeter's World Famous Hotdogs, responded to this reviewResponded 31 July 2013

@edie0429
Thank you for the Trip Advisor review! We are proud to keep the store and tradition of having a Skeeter Dog (or two!) as an icon. We look forward to having you coming back again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 July 2013 via mobile

The restaurant was very quaint and old timer. Had the old counter that you sit at to eat. The loaded hot dogs were only $1.89. Great service. Friendly atmosphere.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Wingfoot3912
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SkeetersVA, Owner at Skeeter's World Famous Hotdogs, responded to this reviewResponded 25 July 2013

@Wingfoot3912
We are glad you had a great experience at Skeeter's in Downtown Wytheville! We hope that you will come and visit us again soon. Thank you for sharing your review on TripAdvisor.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 July 2013

I visit Wytheville every summer and go to skeeters 3 to 5 times on my visit. The building is very cool and the Hot Dogs taste very good.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Zach T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SkeetersVA, Owner at Skeeter's World Famous Hotdogs, responded to this reviewResponded 9 July 2013

Zach T,
Thanks for the shout out on Trip Advisor! We are proud that you choose to come and enjoy Skeeter Dogs so often during your summer visit to Wytheville. Looking forward to seeing you again in Downtown Wytheville at Skeeter's!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 July 2013

Great dog. Throw back place. We love to go local when traveling. This fit the bill. So glad we stopped. Great service.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank DietCokeAddicted
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SkeetersVA, Owner at Skeeter's World Famous Hotdogs, responded to this reviewResponded 4 July 2013

We are happy that you enjoyed you trip to Skeeter's and shared on Trip Advisor! We hope you come back again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Skeeter's World Famous Hotdogs also viewed

 
Wytheville, VA
 

Been to Skeeter's World Famous Hotdogs? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing