We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“You can do better.”
Review of Motel 6 Wytheville

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Motel 6 Wytheville
Ranked #19 of 20 Hotels in Wytheville
Nashville
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“You can do better.”
Reviewed 11 August 2014

Molding falling off walls . Floors creeking with every step. Bed mobile. The Shining all over again. I was unhappy with room . It had a wet moldy smell. Like a boarded up cabin . No ventilation except a/c.

  • Stayed August 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank joro1169
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

130 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    18
    38
    37
    16
    21
See reviews for
41
30
26
14
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (22)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Glade Spring, Virginia
Level Contributor
23 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 August 2014

Very reasonable at $39.99 for a single. Also pretty up to date with granite counters and Flat screen tv. Clean and quiet too. Short walk to Cracker Barrel or Bob Evans but steep! Only complaint was that the bed was rock hard.

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled on business
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank TomL54
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Muncie, Indiana
Level Contributor
313 reviews
53 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 116 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 August 2014

We normally stay at more mid level hotels, but thought I give a budget hotel a shot. The family wasn't thrilled when I pulled into this Motel 6. But overall the hotel was good for the price. Our room was one of the remodeled rooms, but I wouldn't call it a complete remodel. There was a lot of poorly done patch work on the walls and the lament floor was already showing some wear. But still pretty clean.

Pros:
1/2 the price of most other mid range hotels
Generally Clean
Newly painted / quasi-remodeled rooms


Cons:
Towels had rust spots (at least I hope it was rust)
I did find a stray hair in the bed sheets
Slight funky smell
One bed had stains on the comforter
Family would rather I pay for a nicer hotel (if mama ain't happy no one is happy)

Room Tip: As for a remodeled room
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
Helpful?
1 Thank indyemmett
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Florida and Oklahoma
Level Contributor
53 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 August 2014 via mobile

Half way between FL & PA. I would stay here again. I am not sure the office is accessible. Built on a hillside there are steep steps although the rooms are on one level. Choose a room close to the office and the pool where the renovated rooms are. I would stay again.

  • Stayed June 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Okiegirls
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
WILMINGTON
Level Contributor
231 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 70 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 August 2014 via mobile

The motel is a little difficult to find and it is on the side of the hill. The parking for the lobby is small. The desk staff was efficient and our room was ready upon our arrival. The room was well used but clean. The TV had lots of channels. Our car was parked right outside our door, which is good for security but not so good when the man from the next room didn't know how to get in his car without sounding it's alarm. It was an okay place for an over night stay.

Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank DEBORAH H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
137 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 137 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 August 2014

Wytheville is a good place to stop on a long roadtrip if you're looking for cheap and convenient. This Motel 6 is slightly better than average, though it looks a little dodgy at first glance. The chief benefit: It's really cheap.

Motel was clean-ish. Bed, sheets and bathroom were fine. As long as you didn't look too closely at the walls or the nightstand, it was okay. Towels were clean and smelled comfortingly of bleach.

Motel 6 is bare bones, so it was as expected. Coffee was available in the morning, but it unpalatable and served with powdered coffee whitener (which really makes it not coffee in my books). On the plus side, they did not charge for wi-fi and it was sufficient, if a bit slow.

Still, it's cheap, clean-ish, close to the highway and surrounded with all of the inexpensive chain restaurants that permit a fast, cheap meal on your way to the next stop.

Does the job.

Room Tip: I think they're probably all the same - choose a room closer to the office if possible.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank 007_nic
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Raleigh, NC
Level Contributor
163 reviews
77 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 118 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 July 2014

I stayed here for a single night on a trip going north- this motel is just off a convenient exit for I-81/I-77, and there are some restaurants in the immediate area, although the "main" restaurant/shopping district is within a couple of miles.

Price for a Friday night was a deal at 39.99 plus tax- coming to just under $45 total. The desk staff, and I was registered in minutes.

This is a single-story motel, with parking directly outside the door- something I like. The room looks like it has been recently remodeled, with a nice wide-screen TV, microwave and mini-fridge. Instead of carpet, the floor looks like some sort of wood paneling. Everything was nice and clean, and there were no bugs. The wi-fi was very fast and easy to connect. There was not a hair dryer in the bathroom area, nor was shampoo/conditioner supplied, so bring your own.

The bed was very clean and comfortable, and the room was very quiet- no road noise here- and I was able to get a very good night's sleep. I would definitely recommend this motel as a good value for a low price, for anyone traveling on the nearby highways.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled solo
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank htomc42
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Wytheville hotels
0.2 mi away
Red Roof Inn & Suites Wytheville
0.3 mi away
Travelodge Wytheville
Travelodge Wytheville
#6 of 20 in Wytheville
284 reviews
0.2 mi away
Budget Host Inn
Budget Host Inn
#17 of 20 in Wytheville
147 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
La Quinta Inn Wytheville
La Quinta Inn Wytheville
#7 of 20 in Wytheville
588 reviews
1.3 mi away
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Wytheville
0.2 mi away
Quality Inn & Suites
Quality Inn & Suites
#16 of 20 in Wytheville
161 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Motel 6 Wytheville? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Motel 6 Wytheville

Property: Motel 6 Wytheville
Address: 220 Lithia Rd, I-77/I-81 North at Exit #73, Wytheville, VA 24382-5122
Region: United States > Virginia > Wytheville
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
Ranked #19 of 20 Hotels in Wytheville
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2 star — Motel 6 Wytheville 2*
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Motel 6 Wytheville is conveniently located off I-81. A pet Friendly location with Free Wifi in all modern guest rooms. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Hotel.de, Traveltool, S.L.U., Priceline, Agoda, HRS, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Motel 6 Wytheville reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Motel 6 Wytheville Hotel Wytheville
Motel Six Wytheville
Wytheville Motel Six
Wytheville Motel 6

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing