We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Lots to recommend - food only OK” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of El Patio Mexican Grille

El Patio Mexican Grille
Ranked #26 of 58 Restaurants in Wytheville
Cuisines: Mexican, Southwestern
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Child-friendly
Dining options: Dinner, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Bedford, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
103 reviews
83 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
“Lots to recommend - food only OK”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 March 2014

We were - as others have said - on our way from Florida to Pennsylvania and Wytheville was a good stopping point. This was ranked #1 in Wytheville restaurants so we decided to try it. Very pleasant décor - they have taken great care to create a Mexican ambience with the décor, and even the music is Mexican. Service was very fast, very efficient, yet very friendly. The food was fine, but not outstanding. I had a tamale (good), a chile relleno (good), and a soft beef taco (OK) combination plate. My husband had the Chile Colorado with red beans and rice - he said the beans were mush and almost liquid, and the rice didn't have much flavor. The beef in the Chile Colorado he said was small strips overcooked and tough.

So ... bottom line, don't expect this to blow your socks off if you're a real Mexican food afficianado.

PS Margaritas a great price - a Jumbo (regular) was a good sized drink and only $6.50.

  • Visited March 2014
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
4 Thank Barbara H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

53 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    29
    9
    7
    4
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Charleston, West Virginia
Level Contributor
41 reviews
30 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“YUM!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 February 2014

Loved the atmosphere. Staff was Great. Had steak mexicano. Cooked perfectly rare very tender. Nice to find a place like this just stopping in travels. My husband had Chili Renos they were just ok. Would recommend this place to anyone.

  • Visited February 2014
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank QueenOfTh3Road
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Syracuse, NY
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Wonderful find!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 January 2014

What a wonderful restaurant! On our long trip home to NY, we had stopped for an overnight stay in Wytheville, Va. I checked out Tripadvisor to find a place to eat. We were going to eat at a BBQ joint that was listed, but found it closed for the Holidays. Our 2nd choice had been El Patio. Wow! should have made it our 1st choice!! The service was great, the food was excellent! I had a very inexpensive Margarita and chips plus salsa as a starter. They brought not only the salsa but another dip that was a mix of refried beans and Queso (husband loved it!). The dinners were delicious! My Chili Relano was one of the best I had ever tried (spicy and fresh!). My husband ordered a ribeye steak with ranchero sauce - he loved it!! Wish we had this restaurant in our hometown!! If we ever make it to that area of VA again, we will definitely stop!

  • Visited December 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank irisheyes25
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Charlotte, North Carolina
Level Contributor
34 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Perfect!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 December 2013

Based on the traveladvisor site we brought our family whilst traveling from NC to WV. For $70 before tip we fed 7 ppl...with fabulous food. The Patio Fajitas were awesome! Highly recommended.Nice service, fast cook times....we will come again if our travels bring us to Wyethville.

Helpful?
Thank LeftatHot
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Virginia Beach, Virginia
2 reviews
“Awesome food and Great Service”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 December 2013

We had been stuck in Thanksgiving day weekend traffic all day and had about four hours left of our trip home to Va Beach. It was almost 9pm when we walked in the door; closing time was 9 for them. They welcomed us in anyway with smiles and great service. The food was excellent and the service was exceptional. Definitely wish they were closer to where I live.

  • Visited December 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Gina P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed El Patio Mexican Grille also viewed

Wytheville, VA
 
 

Been to El Patio Mexican Grille? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing