We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Hilly sites, conjested in front, not up to KOA”
Review of Wytheville KOA

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Wytheville
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Wytheville KOA
Certificate of Excellence
Richmond, VA
Level Contributor
15 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Hilly sites, conjested in front, not up to KOA”
Reviewed 26 July 2013

Sites are very unlevel. The front sites have sewer but the back one are up a hill and very "rounded" or highly sloped making it difficult to level out a big unit. They should pick up the trash on the site. Our fire pit was full of trash. Just a kid showing people to sites. Had to change site because we could not level out. Good dog parks but there should be water available. C'mon folks, give the dogs a break in the hot sun. Pass on this one, not up to what you generally get with KOA. Try Claytor Lake Campground just down the interstate. We will next time.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank lstoneham
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brian S, Public Relations Manager at Wytheville KOA, responded to this review, 6 August 2013
Thanks for your honest feedback, I'm so sorry you had a bad experience at our campground. We are under new ownership and this is the first full season since that change. We have many improvements planned and one of the first (which has already started) is building brand new sites that are level and larger. With regards to the dog park, that is an absolutely fantastic idea to have water out, especially on busy weekends. We'll look into that right away. I hope you'll give us another chance as we continue to improve!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

83 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    50
    26
    6
    1
    0
See reviews for
50
21
1
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (5)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Newark, Delaware
Level Contributor
303 reviews
89 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 130 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 June 2013

We pulled in at 8PM and the office just closed and was locked. We had reservations that we made from some time ago. They reluctantly came to the door and I told them we had reservations. They said they will let us in only because they hadn't placed the late arrival paperwork outside the office yet. They gave me the map of the grounds and where our spot was and that was it. Come back tomorrow, if you want a receipt. Not very welcoming and not KOA-like. They were definitely in a hurry to get out of there and not concerned about us.
We found our spot as the pull-thrus are very close together...with slide-outs you are less than 5 feet from your neighbor. Kids enjoyed the arcade and pool. We got a good night's sleep, which is important. This is close to I-81 so it was convienent for us. We typically stay at KOAs because we know what we get there. But, the first impression here was a lasting one. Not an awesome as others have said..just disappointingly average

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Werbrichfamily
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brian S, Public Relations Manager at Wytheville KOA, responded to this review, 6 August 2013
I'm sorry to hear you only had an average experience at our campground. We do usually close our office around 8pm during the week because most of our campers have already arrived and it sounds like you got there right after we did that. I apologize for the impression that our employees wanted to close up and were not concerned with you, that should never have happened and we'll investigate the situation. With regards to the receipt, we cannot print them out once the computers are shut down for the night so that's probably why you were asked to come back the next day. We're also in the process of building out brand new sites that will not only be more level but more spacious so I hope you'll consider us again in the future. Thanks so much for the honest feedback.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Annville, Pennsylvania, United States
1 review
Reviewed 31 May 2013

We love this campground it is very clean employees are very friendly. Very nice amenities, lots of things for the family to do. Even though we did not personally use a cabin our daughter has and they are very nice and clean. We will return to this campground as much as we can.

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Tammy C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brian S, Public Relations Manager at Wytheville KOA, responded to this review, 6 August 2013
Love your review Tammy, thanks for the honest feedback. Since the new owners took over in September of 2012 we've been working hard to improve the campground even more. I'm so glad you'll be back so you can see all the new improvements we are making!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Battle Creek, Michigan
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 January 2013

My husband and I have been traveling in our rv for over a year and a half, across the US and back. This KOA campground is my favorite campground out of every one we've been to. It is peaceful; open; lots and lots of room to walk my dogs. The staff is VERY friendly!!! We limped into the campground after breaking down on the highway; the staff was very helpful, stopping by the rv while my husband was working on it, asking if he needed help and if everything was going ok. The campground is being worked on like no campground I've seen yet; the sites are kept clean, the leaves are blown, and everything looks well cared for. It's under new ownership, and these people really care about this campground; you can tell they are putting their hearts into the place. They also have a beautiful pond with clean water and goldfish; saw one other fish too; pool wasn't open, nor the family room. I can just imagine how fun this place will be this summer!!!

  • Stayed January 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank GrammyMD
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brian S, Public Relations Manager at Wytheville KOA, responded to this review, 6 August 2013
Thanks for the awesome review. We are so glad you enjoyed your stay at our campground and hope you'll come back and see us again soon. Stay tuned, we've got many more improvements coming including brand new sites! Have a wonderful day!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Wytheville hotels
4.4 mi away
The Bolling Wilson Hotel, an Ascend Hotel Collection Member
2.9 mi away
Holiday Inn Express and Suites Wytheville
3.1 mi away
Red Roof Inn & Suites Wytheville
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.2 mi away
Comfort Inn
Comfort Inn
#15 of 20 in Wytheville
3.5 of 5 bubbles 102 reviews
4.3 mi away
Comfort Suites Wytheville
Comfort Suites Wytheville
#4 of 20 in Wytheville
4.5 of 5 bubbles 365 reviews
4.3 mi away
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Wytheville
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Wytheville KOA? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Wytheville KOA

Property: Wytheville KOA
Address: 231 Koa Rd, Wytheville, VA 24382-5670
Region: United States > Virginia > Wytheville
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Speciality Lodging in Wytheville
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 77
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Wytheville KOA is conveniently located right off the highway in an area of the state known for its natural beauty. We offer convenient access to the Blue Ridge Parkway as well as Skyline Drive and many other area attractions. Here at the campground we have a 50 foot water slide, family fun center, fishing and spacious campsites for recreational vehicles, fifth wheels or travel trailers. We even offer cabins for those traveling without their own equipment or tent sites for that back to nature getaway. ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing