We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Once or twice a year for about 6 years”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Wytheville
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Cripple Creek Bed and Breakfast Cabins
Ranked #2 of 5 Wytheville B&B and Inns
Cleveland, OH
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Once or twice a year for about 6 years”
Reviewed 6 January 2012

My wife and I first visited Cripple Creek Cabins about 6 years ago. We live in northern Ohio and found the place as a half-way point to stay on a trip we were planning.

Our first visit was only for one short night. The next morning, after enjoying an amazing home made breakfast delivered to our door, we agreed that we had to return again some day. We've been back at least 10 times since then. Even though it's a ~6 hour drive, we generally make the trip at least once a year and sometimes twice.

When you arrive at your secluded (but easily accessible) cabin, you are greeted with relaxing classical music and (depending on time of day) a homemade snack. The mini-fridge is stocked with several types of beverages, and you will find coffee and tea packets, microwave popcorn, comfortable chairs, and board games to enjoy. We usually opt to read books by the stone fireplace and then enjoy the relaxing in-room jacuzzi tub before bed. After enjoying breakfast delivered right to our door in the morning, we will generally enjoy a scenic drive through the countless winding roads around the area.

The cabins also have satellite television, however we've never used it. With such relaxing accommodations in a secluded area, why would you want to?!

The owners - Paul and Donna - have always done a fantastic job of making us feel welcome. Paul knows the area well and is always happy to recommend places to visit. Paul has even been known to give us a couple of cookies and cans of pop at checkout. He knows we have a long drive ahead.

If you are looking for a relaxing and romantic getaway, look no further. This is the place to go - I'm confident you will not find a better experience within a few hundred miles.

Room Tip: The first three cabins are the originals - the fourth and fifth cabins are a bit newer. I personall...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mattopia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

97 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    94
    3
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
2
84
1
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (24)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Norfolk, Virginia
2 reviews
Reviewed 28 November 2011

We cannot believe it has taken us 10 months to write this review! Where has the time gone?
We discovered Cripple Creek cabins a few years ago and had enjoyed several stays there. When we began to plan our wedding, we knew we wanted only a small intimate affair with close friends. Because both of us have adult children who live states away and were not going to be able to attend, we decided Cripple Creek would be the perfect setting. We arrived in late January with two other couples, finding snow on the ground, our cabin partially decorated for the event, and Paul (and the cats) anxiously awaiting our arrival with an afternoon treat. We grilled steaks on the deck of one of the cabins on Friday evening and were all able to dine together around a magnificant round table belonging to Paul's family in front of the fire! Paul and Donna had been so helpful in the preceeding months, helping us make our plans. Paul had suggested a wonderful local wedding officiate who performed the ceremony on Saturday. The setting was perfect--sunshine, lingering snow, beautiful tulips, music, delicious wedding cake and our best friends--we could not have asked for a more memorable day! As we began our life together, we left on Sunday for Charleston and then on to Florida to visit our children and grandchildren.
We can both tell you---when you meet Paul, it is as if you have known him all your life. Even though he was getting the flu on Saturday (and decided not to attend our wedding), he went "beyond the call of duty" to accomodate us in every way! He and Donna have definitely found their "calling" in life and we look forward to our next trip to Cripple Creek, hopefully for our first anniversary!

Room Tip: I think we've stayed in each of the cabins and would recommend any one of them. They are all &q...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ktd123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Madison, Wisconsin
Level 5 Contributor
85 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 September 2011

What a treasure these cabins are. We stayed for two nights in Barnwood and basked in the comfort and hospitality these cabins offer. When the owner told us our cabin had been there for 10 years I could not believe it. The upkeep has been so terrific I would swear it had opened this year. The cabins are down a small private paved road and the parking for each cabin is safe and adequate even if you need wheelchair access. The cabins are angled such that you can barely glimpse the next one from your front porch rockers and I had no problem sitting out there in the morning drinking coffee in my pajamas. We were there as Hurricane Lee came through and dumped 10 inches of rain for 36 hours straight, but the porch was deep enough to stay cozy and dry.
The greeting committee is 7 or 8 cats, so if you don't like cats you may not be happy. We love cats and one of them, JD (juvenile delinquent) seems to have self appointed himself to sit on our porch as we rocked and relaxed. You are warned that these are strictly outdoor cats and they are forbidden to enter the cabins and JD never even asked to come in. He never even asked for a bit of our delicious breakfasts that are cleverly delivered to the porch in insulated carriers so your quiche and cinnamon rolls are hot, and your juice and butter are cold. We also had stuffed french toast. The coffee maker is in the room, as well as a small refrigerator and microwave.
The biggest suprise was the full bells and whistle satellite TV and music system. This isn't exactly a "roughing it" cabin folks. Speakers are placed directly above the whirlpool tub and you can luxuriate while listening to music. They have thoughtfully placed oil lamps made out of wine bottles around the tub to further the romance vibe.
The bathroom was huge and beautifully tiled. The shower was great. There was always hot and plentiful water. Not sure how they managed that.
It was warm enough that we didn't need the fireplace, but it looks great. The airconditioner we did need because of the monsoon weather and it worked great.
I found the bed too firm, but my husband loved it. There was a beautiful quilt and great linens on the bed. The cottage was perfectly clean.
There are no restaurants in the area, but a 15 mile drive will take you to several small cities and the county seat.

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Evansthecat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Los Angeles, California
Level 5 Contributor
59 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 July 2011

We had three couples on the trip, and split into three cabins. We all really enjoyed the rest and relaxation that Cripple Creek Cabins offers. The cabins are quite large so there was plenty of space for us all to get together for a rousing games of dominoes inside, and out on the porch, but there was also ample time to cozy up for the two of us and spend quality time together. The bed, the shower, and the jacuzzi were great! As was the breakfast brought to your cabin - breakfast in bed or on your private porch. We were there for a great storm - sitting on the porch just listening to the wind and rain and watching the trees dance was wonderful. We've recommended this place to friends and will certainly get back there ourselves. It's a one of a kind retreat!

  • Stayed June 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Nigel1127
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Virginia Beach, Virginia
1 review
Reviewed 8 July 2011

My wife Robin and I stayed in "Lottie's Cabin" between July 4 & 7 2011. It was unimaginable and breathtaking! We left a visit log with Paul and Donna about their cabin resorts, and including our entry, and reading the many other entries left by personal experiences, were many positive adjectives of the english language. One that captured me was "serendipity;" The couple that wrote that said that "they were going to fight to have a picture of "Lottie's Cabin" placed next to that word in the dictionary! Another person wrote things like "stupendous" and many other positive adjectives. What we would like to write in this review transcends just adjectives into the world of personal relationships, experience and calling. Although everything was so very fabulous, the homemade snacks like cobblers, cookies, pound cake that you receive every evening to the delightfully unsurpassed breakfast that you receive every morning just by picking up the phone and saying "We're ready for breakfast! (brought usually within 30 minutes) to the immaculate attention to detail and extreme cleanliness and efficiency of "everything" in the cabin, I want to spend the remaining of this review commenting on what Paul and Donna Turpin really have!
If and you should visit this wonderful cabin resort, you will find that Paul and Donna Turpin transcend the mere business world into the arena of a calling that was placed on their lives. My wife and I were fortunate to find each other in 2008 to which we were married in 2009. Here as couples often need to do in today's world, we found each other again. We have a lot going on in our lives, personally as well as being a chaplain and a social worker respectively and working with traumas and emergencies giving much to others but seldom for ourselves, the story of many caregivers. Here at Cripple Creek Cabins, Paul and Donna gave back to us with profound caregiving and perfection and compassion! The cabins and the surrounding area are far more than beautiful and logistical. Here is where many have found refreshment, rejuvination, where many have started their lives together and as I have stated where many have found each other again and returned in essence to simpler times and appreciation for the world around us and each other. We enjoyed "everything" including watching "Little House on the Prairie" and "The Waltons" simulating we too lived like that for all to short of a time, BUT WE'LL BE BACK!!!! Roger and Robin Gauthier, Virginia Beach, VA

Room Tip: Tips are for bed & breakfast cabin resort; some items non-applicable
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank chpln77
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lake Lure, North Carolina
Level 4 Contributor
24 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 June 2011

This was our first visit to a B&B and we are spoiled. This place is perfect to fall in love all over again. When we arrived Paul greeted us with an afternoon snack and suggestions for dinner. The next morning a light knock at the door and we found the most delicious 2 course meal for breakfast. We were able to enjoyed these meals in the privacy of our front porch.

The cabin was well equipped with a gas grill for an evening steak dinner and a glass of wine. A candle light soak in the jacuzzi tub for two. Fall asleep in each others arms in a comfortable king size bed. The fireplace adds the perfect touch to set the mood with light jazz playing in the background. Whatever you need to fall in love again, you will find at Cripple Creek Bed and Breakfast.

Paul and his wife have created the perfect place for lovers in Virgina.

Room Tip: All five cabins are extremely nice.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Ames_Travels
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 June 2011

I was curious to see if the Cripple Creek cabins could be as great as the reviews on here proclaim. I am happy to report that they were! Everything was clean, cozy, and comfortable. The food was delicious and Paul was friendly and helpful. The price was right for the value and I left yesterday feeling like it was money well spent. Very satisfied and planning on returning.

  • Stayed May 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank CharityRae
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Wytheville
8.5 mi away
The Bolling Wilson Hotel, an Ascend Hotel Collection Member
9.5 mi away
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Wytheville
18.2 mi away
General Francis Marion Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
9.5 mi away
Holiday Inn Express and Suites Wytheville
9.5 mi away
Red Roof Inn & Suites Wytheville
9.5 mi away
Comfort Suites Wytheville
Comfort Suites Wytheville
#4 of 20 in Wytheville
370 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Cripple Creek Bed and Breakfast Cabins? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cripple Creek Bed and Breakfast Cabins

Property: Cripple Creek Bed and Breakfast Cabins
Address: 155 Log Cabin Ln, Wytheville, VA 24323-3191
Region: United States > Virginia > Wytheville
Amenities:
Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 5 B&Bs / Inns in Wytheville
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Secluded individual cabins designed for a romantic getaway or just a quiet relaxing evening during your travels and we are only 15 minutes from I-77 and I-81. King sized beds, large two person whirlpool tub, wood burning fireplaces all in one room with a home made breakfast delivered to your cabin. Enjoy the rocking chairs on the porch and reconnect with Mother Nature. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Cripple Creek Bed And Breakfast Cabins Hotel Wytheville
Cripple Creek b&b Cabins

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing