We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent sushi !”

SuBI Japanese Restaurant
Reserve with OpenTable
SuBI Japanese Restaurant is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Price range: US$20 - US$30
Cuisines: Japanese
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining style: Casual Elegant
Cross street: Madison
The Netherlands
Level 6 Contributor
165 reviews
60 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 127 helpful votes
“Excellent sushi !”
Reviewed 19 July 2013

We stayed on Bainbridge Island for a week in July 2013 and sampled a number of the restaurants. Our favorite was SuBi because of the high quality of the sushi. Not just the standard rolls, but lots of creative varieties as well. We enjoyed these delicious options so much that we selected SuBi as the restaurant for our last evening on the island.

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
Thank Schreuder
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

59 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    27
    24
    6
    2
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Bainbridge Island, Washington, United States
Level 6 Contributor
238 reviews
132 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 107 helpful votes
“Great Food, Energetic Vibe”
Reviewed 10 April 2013

We went for Sushi and it is excellent. They offer an extensive variety of rolls, almost too many to choose from unless you are there with friends and we were. Three of us ordered rolls and one went with the Bento box. We began with Edamame and Miso, very good but in line with what you find with other Japaense restaurants. House salad with ginger dressing was fresh and very good. The dinner bento is $25 but is enough food for two people and offers a variety and comes with soup, salad and rice. For the amount of food you get in the bento this is a good value and the food is all delicious. Our party that ordered said it was the best meal they had on the island. The rest of us ordered rolls to share, the Bainbridge, Firecracker, Boss and Red Dragon and they were all delicious. The best sushi we had all had in quite some time. Rolls are priced a bit high compared to some places but they offer a Happy Hour with discounts on some of their rolls but happy hour seems limited in hours unless they recently extended them. This place is busy anytime we have been there for dinner so expect to wait if going for dinner unless you show early. They do offer a good variety in their menu and presentation is beautiful. We will go again and again and ordere different items.

  • Visited March 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Heather A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Victoria, Canada
Level 6 Contributor
229 reviews
130 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 142 helpful votes
“Pretty good”
Reviewed 1 April 2013

We enjoyed our dinner at SuBi but were disappointed by the use of fake crab in the rolls we ordered. Everything else was delicious. Busy, popular and reasonably priced.

  • Visited March 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank blindlemonpie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New Mexico
Level 6 Contributor
184 reviews
100 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 96 helpful votes
“Great Sushi”
Reviewed 18 February 2013

It was easy to walk there from my hotel. The food was delicious. I started with edamame and a seaweed salad. Then, I enjoyed a couple of rolls - Xfile and Red Dragon. Both were nicely spiced.
Would eat there again.

Visited February 2013
Helpful?
Thank lunanegra5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Seattle, Washington
Level 5 Contributor
49 reviews
20 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
“Not Just Creative Sushi Chefs”
Reviewed 30 January 2013

Extensive menu of both raw (sushi/sashimi) and cooked (grilled/simmered) dishes, including fish, chicken, and red meat. The dishes are wonderfully prepared and creatively presented. Menu includes many original sushi preparations. Lunch can be busy, and service then can be slow.

Visited January 2013
Helpful?
Thank Kitsambler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed SuBI Japanese Restaurant also viewed

Bainbridge Island, WA
Bainbridge Island, WA
 
Bainbridge Island, WA
 

Been to SuBI Japanese Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing