We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Rasonable amenities nearby, walking distance to the harbor, decent value”
Review of Island Country Inn

Island Country Inn
Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Island Country Inn
Arlington, Virginia
Level 5 Contributor
67 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Rasonable amenities nearby, walking distance to the harbor, decent value”
Reviewed 21 July 2011

This inn is a decent option compared to some of the pricier places close to the Frey and the main commercial area. It is within about a 15 minutes walk from the ferry dock and the related co Mercia stuff, but there are a number of eateries and a grocery store nearby as well. Unfortunately the pool was still out of service, and the road noise from 305sometimes intruded, but overall this was a good value. The staff worked hard to accommodate our early arrival, the evening cookies were always welcome, and the breakfast was fine. One odd thing .. Te room could have used a place to put luggage and so forth...

  • Stayed July 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JustinW27
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JoyC222, Director of Sales at Island Country Inn, responded to this review, 21 July 2011
Thank you for taking the time to write your review. We value all of our guests comments. I am glad you found the location a plus, but we do realize that the noise from the road can be a problem. We are working hard to get the pool up and running as soon as possible. I hope that you were able to take advantage of the Aquatic Center down the road. I do agree with the luggage rack, we will look into acquiring some soon. Please come back again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

121 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    10
    38
    31
    20
    22
See reviews for
36
40
11
15
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (20)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
San Diego
Level 6 Contributor
315 reviews
76 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 256 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 July 2011

Nice place for the price; good-sized rooms. The kids were looking forward to the pool, but turned out it was closed for repairs. Check in was disastrous; I still can’t figure out what happened, but long story short, they ended up giving us keys to 2 different rooms, both us which were occupied w/ other people and their stuff, and finally, half an hour later, after carting our luggage all over the hotel, got us into an open room. The free continental breakfast w/ the make-your-own waffles was a nice touch.

Stayed June 2011, travelled with family
Helpful?
Thank SDTraveler01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JoyC222, Director of Sales at Island Country Inn, responded to this review, 21 July 2011
Thank your for your review comments. Unfortunately our pool has been closed due to a Federal Government bill that restricted certain types of drain covers in commercial pools. They recalled a number of different drain covers, so for the safety of our guests, we had to close the pool. We are working hard to get it replaced and make the accessable for our guests. In the meantime we are covering the cost of our guests going to the Aquatic Center, which is just down the road. We will be using your comments as a training tool for our front desk, when they check in a guest. We hope to see you again in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
Reviewed 13 June 2011

Well we came over here for business purposes, and it was just like the pictures, the beds weren't super comfortable, the decor was out of date, tv wasn't a flat screen. The breakfast was AMAZING though, it was hot, and I would come back just for the b-fast!

  • Stayed May 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank v98034
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Seattle, WA
Level 4 Contributor
32 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 May 2011

This place is OK, just as the sart raiting would suggest. If you have thoes expectations going in that you'll be happy staying here. the other reviews are correct: the hotel is dated, the balconies seem a little unsafe, the room was prefectly acceptable, the breakfast was more than acceptable and the staff is straightforward (in my expereince, I thought they were just fine).

  • Stayed May 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank anniebsea
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JoyC222, Director of Sales at Island Country Inn, responded to this review, 21 July 2011
Thank you for taking the time to write your review. We appreciate your comments. We are updating the hotel this summer and hope to have it done by the fall. We are repairing the balconies and all the railings at this time. Please come back and visit us again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 21 March 2011

Good value compared to other hotels near by. Continental breakfast was better than expected. Fresh waffles, good coffee, good selection ect. Not the prettiest rooms, but nothing dirty, just a bit dated.

  • Stayed March 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Kluthe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Portland, OR
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 October 2010

I wish I had something positive to say about the Island Country Inn or Bainbridge Island! The accommodations and cleanliness equaled that of a room for half the price. The bathroom did not smell clean and the breakfast area was depressing. The hotel building siding needs to be replaced and the second-story deck is going soft and it is a safety hazard. We found the shopping and food experience in Bainbridge Island to be overpriced for what you get as well. Sorry, but we will not be back to this hotel or Bainbridge Island.

  • Stayed October 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 2ORtravelers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
sgn53x, Manager at Island Country Inn, responded to this review, 16 December 2010
Good day, all. Bad reviews are always disconcerting, but they happen from time to time. Each traveler's experience is unique, and their responses are justified by the affect their experiences have on them. I'm sorry I've taken so long to respond. There are several points I'd like to mention: 1) We agree about the siding; buildings age and require repair. At the time of the review we were preparing to replace the "siding." We have done so on one building, and the second building will be completed over the weekend (12/18). As to the decks, work on those are primarily cosmetic rather than structural, and repairs will be made in the Spring (new deck resurfacing is planned). Overall, we're in good shape, the building and rooms are well maintained.
2) As to the state of the rooms and cleanliness, sometimes things do get missed. It shouldn't happen, but sometimes it does. If this happened to you I certainly apologize. I do like to hear about these things first-hand so I can deal with them directly. However, I refer you to other reviews on this page and elsewhere (about the breakfast as well).
3) As to Bainbridge Island in general. This is a quiet place. We roll the sidealks up around nine thirty PM. This is a great place for peace and quiet, for kayaking and boating, hiking at many locations of scenic beauty, and wonderful routes for bicycle touring. Restaurants run the range from okay to excellent.
I am sorry your stay was unpleasant. If you return, and I hope you do, you'll see the improvements, and I'd be happy to suggest restaurants and things to do. Best of luck and happy traveling.
Steve Nickerson
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Bainbridge Island hotels

Seattle, Washington
2 reviews
Reviewed 24 September 2010

Nice Service and good pricing. Breakfast was included.

Stayed August 2010, travelled with friends
Helpful?
Thank CassandraA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Bainbridge Island
Best Western Plus Bainbridge Isl...
#1 of 5 in Bainbridge Island
465 reviews
Midway Inn
#7 of 8 in Bremerton
52 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Poulsbo Inn
#2 of 2 in Poulsbo
198 reviews
Oxford Suites Silverdale
#1 of 6 in Silverdale
679 reviews
Belltown
The Edgewater, A Noble House Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Island Country Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Island Country Inn

Property: Island Country Inn
Address: 920 Hildebrand Ln NE, Bainbridge Island, WA 98110-1800
Region: United States > Washington > Bainbridge Island
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 5 Hotels in Bainbridge Island
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:2 star — Island Country Inn 2*
Number of rooms: 45
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Ctrip TA and Evoline ltd so you can book your Island Country Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Island Country Hotel Bainbridge Island
Country Inn Bainbridge Island
Bainbridge Island Country Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing