We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great food and what a view”

Harbour Public House
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: American
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Bar Scene, Local cuisine
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Breakfast, After-hours, Reservations
Los Angeles, California
Level 5 Contributor
61 reviews
35 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Great food and what a view”
Reviewed 9 July 2014

The Clam chowder was filled with steamed clams added to a wonderful and gluten free chowder. It was just marvelous and not pasty or too full of potatoes. The sauted oysters and french fries were just perfect. The oysters had a light coating and cooked until just done. They were big and plump.

There is a great view of the harbor and a wonderful craft beer list. The service was great. We sent our friends for dinner and they had a great experience also.

  • Visited June 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank travelgirl60
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

554 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    236
    206
    72
    23
    17
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Waimea, Hawaii
Level 6 Contributor
572 reviews
376 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 162 helpful votes
“Terrific Views, OK Food”
Reviewed 3 July 2014

The Public House has an outdoor terrace that has a great view of the water. The food is mainly salads and sandwiches, but they are reasonably priced and quite tasty.

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
Thank BigIsleFoodie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Medford, Oregon
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Consistently good & great views”
Reviewed 1 July 2014

I live out of town but my parents live on 'the island.' If it's not raining, our favorite place is The Pub. The wait staff are always efficient & pleasant and the food is always delicious. It's lovely to sit outside & look toward Seattle & see the variety of boats moored below. It makes for an overall worthwhile time.

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank GC H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Prescott, WA
Level 4 Contributor
29 reviews
22 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Reasonably priced seafood with a wonderful view!”
Reviewed 1 July 2014

We had never been to Bainbridge Island so I checked the reviews here for a place to eat, and the reviews were right. Our friends from CA that were with us said I did a great job picking the restaurant. We got here around 2 and there was a short wait to have an outside table, but we sat at the bar and enjoyed a drink first. I read on the drink menu that they squeeze all their own juices so I tried a Paloma, made with grapefruit juice and tequila, and it was very good. The place was pretty full, but service was wonderful. We were helped by 2 different people, one inside and then another outside and they were both very welcoming. Myself and our friend ordered the "Killer Seafood" which was a sort of seafood stew in a light, slightly spicy soup. Like our friend said, he could have just had the soup by itself, it was THAT good. We could barely make it through the bowl packed with mussels, clams and big chunks of salmon and fish. My friend had a spinach salad that had apple slices and blue cheese on it, that looked really good and my husband had a really yummy looking shrimp melt sandwich that he raved about. All in all, it was a good value for the food, service and view. I would definitely recommend it as the place to go!

  • Visited June 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank mttinc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Juneau, Alaska
Level 5 Contributor
71 reviews
43 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
“A Wonderful Afternoon”
Reviewed 30 June 2014

One of our touchstones to a Seattle visit is a short trip on the Washington State ferry to Bainbridge. It's great for getting out of urban noise and sometimes rewards us with a beautiful sunset. This time we were on a hunt for the best burger available, so when we disembarked, we obtained local directions from the helpful community guide at the terminal. After a fifteen-minute stroll down the harbor trail, we found the "pub," as it's known locally. As noted in other reviews, the deck seating is pleasant and gives a view of the harbor and Seattle in the distance. Efficient, friendly service followed, as did a great salad and, as promised, the best burger around. They seem to be supporters of the slow food/local food movement, and it showed in the plethora of microbrew choices, spirits from local distilleries, and locally sourced ingredients--all good things. All in all, this turned out to be the anchor for a very enjoyable side trip.

  • Visited June 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank drmrru12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Harbour Public House also viewed

Bainbridge Island, WA
Bainbridge Island, WA
 
Bainbridge Island, WA
Bainbridge Island, WA
 
Bainbridge Island, WA
 

Been to Harbour Public House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing