We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Where else in Bainbridge can you eat Indian food?”

Spice Route Cuisine of India
Price range: US$30 - US$30
Cuisines: Indian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Child-friendly
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff
Dining style: Casual Dining
Washington
Level Contributor
61 reviews
42 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“Where else in Bainbridge can you eat Indian food?”
Reviewed 2 August 2014

We love Indian food; frequently cook various dishes at home and do understand different cuisines of India. This appears to be Punjabi. Everything is not perfect but the restaurant tries hard and we enjoyed our first visit - certainly will return. The channa masala was good; my husband's lamb masala he declared very good; I thought the naan was excellent and my onion baaji, a weakness of mine, was pretty good. The wine was reasonably priced. The cost was certainly reasonable - we paid $43 including tip for a very satisfactory meal. A little hard to find and probably Bainbridge does not allow outside signs but we will definitely return

  • Visited August 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank mazwoman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

30 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    12
    10
    5
    2
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
healdsburg, CA
Level Contributor
105 reviews
89 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 72 helpful votes
“it seems sad that this place is one of the best liked here”
Reviewed 4 July 2014

The paneer was rubbery, the samosas were inedible and like rocks, and even the (one $2.25) puri was left not completely eaten, a sure sign of a misfire. If you have any inkling of good Indian food, skip this mediocre place. We were Indian style vegetarians for about 5 years and made our own Indian food at home, even as rookies, MUCH better than what is offered here. We ate puris every day for breakfast. There were no ethnically Indian people eating here. My wife does not allow me to tell the staff what we think so we took the inedible left overs in a bag which we deposited in a trash can outside the building. This waste cost over $50 for two!

  • Visited July 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank winewimp
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bainbridge Island, Washington
Level Contributor
13 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Great Indian cuisine another reason to visit Bainbridge Island”
Reviewed 3 July 2014

On the second floor, a bit out of sight, in the Bainbridge Pavilion is a wonderful, quiet Indian Restaurant called Spice Route. It's humble look belies its excellent Indian dishes and very reasonable prices. My favorites include the spinach Naan and the mixed grill which comes with juicy chunks of lamb shoulder, lamb sausage, chicken and prawns all served over a huge plate of stir fried vegetables. This entry can easily serve two and is under $16, making for a bargain dinner. All the usual Indian recipes are also served.

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank EWFredricks
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bainbridge Island, Washington
Level Contributor
25 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Great food and service”
Reviewed 30 June 2014

We always enjoy our visits, because of the great food and friendly, attentive staff. Always a great place to eat before a movie or for takeout

  • Visited April 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Susan B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Olympic National Park, Washington
Level Contributor
75 reviews
64 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
“Excellent Level of Spice, Standard US Indian Restaurant”
Reviewed 24 May 2014

The level of spice was perfect on every dish, although we found the curries to be a little on the sweet side. Everything tasted better on the reheat, the next day, but the blend of spices still wasn't as good as other places we used to frequent. Definitely worth it if you're in the area and craving Indian food. They had a lot of neat items decorating the place.

  • Visited April 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank paper_monkE
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Spice Route Cuisine of India also viewed

 
Bainbridge Island, WA
 

Been to Spice Route Cuisine of India? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing