We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Superb gelato”

Gelarto Italian Ice Cream and Global Arts
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$3 - US$5
Cuisines: Italian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Special Occasion Dining
Description: We are a gelateria and fair-trade retailer serving artisan gelato, which is handcrafted from the finest ingredients. To complement our world-class gelato, we offer carefully-selected local artworks and fair trade handicrafts that will appeal to conscientious consumers and the communities they touch, both at home and around the world. Our aim is to provide an enriching experience that leaves customers satisfied in knowing they have made the world a little bit better through their purchases.
Seattle, Washington
Level Contributor
22 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Superb gelato”
Reviewed 15 June 2014

I hate to share this little gem because it is a local secret. This place is fantastic, a bit off the beaten path, and a great price for top quality.

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Michele B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

84 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    59
    18
    6
    0
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
New Jersey
Level Contributor
30 reviews
23 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Meh”
Reviewed 14 June 2014

Had tiramisu gelato here with my husband a couple of weeks ago on a visit to Bainbridge Island. The shop was a very clean and interesting place and the owner was very friendly but the gelato was nothing special. We had had amazingly delicious tiramisu gelato the previous night in Seattle and this was a big disappointment. Looking at the other reviews I have to wonder if we just hit an off batch.

  • Visited June 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank lucha02
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Texas
Level Contributor
143 reviews
79 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 113 helpful votes
“Thank You God!!”
Reviewed 21 May 2014

I will make this short and sweet, go to Bainbridge Island and find Gelarto, eat massive amounts of gelato and thank me later!!

Really a wonderful place with an authentic Italian gelato maker who cares about his craft. Best I have had since being in Vernazza, Italy years ago. The rest of the island is very nice as well but for God's sake visit Gelarto!!

  • Visited April 2014
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank exracer16
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lacey, Washington
1 review
“The best pistachio ever”
Reviewed 18 May 2014

Oh my God this is my first review but I had to let everybody know about it.
This is by far the best pistachio Gelato, ice cream or whatever you want to include in this category. I just happened to be visiting Bainbridge Island which is beautiful and stopped here. If you are visiting this Island I sure recommend visiting this place, and I say visiting because I'm pretty sure the locals all know this place by now.

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Alberto C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
santa rosa, CA
Level Contributor
50 reviews
20 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
“What a treat!”
Reviewed 6 May 2014

We were on our way to lunch at Doc's when we spotted Gelarto. Because I am a gelato lover I had to check it out to see if I should save room for desert. The owner was so welcoming and excited about sharing any and all flavors with us. Even though I made it clear we were not buying anything at that time he never once made us feel like we were asking to much to sample the flavors. I have to admit that after one taste I was hooked. My sister owns a gelato shop in California so I do know the difference between quality gelato and cheaper products. We most definitely returned, even after a filling lunch, and ordered our cups because I just couldn't stand passing up on such great options and supporting such a welcoming and pleasant shop. Gelarto is a little of the main street so I do hope that tourists find it (I know the locals already know about it) because it really is a delight. A perfect island treat-even in the rain.

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
Thank gettygirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Gelarto Italian Ice Cream and Global Arts also viewed

 
Bainbridge Island, WA
Bainbridge Island, WA
 

Been to Gelarto Italian Ice Cream and Global Arts? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing