We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great food, a bit pricey” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Gilbert's Main Street Bagel

Gilbert's Main Street Bagel
Ranked #15 of 538 Restaurants in Bellevue
Cuisines: American, Cafe, Delicatessen
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine, Child-friendly, Kids
Dining options: Brunch, Breakfast, Lunch, Highchairs Available, Seating, Takeout, Wheelchair Accessible
Seattle, Washington
Level Contributor
47 reviews
22 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Great food, a bit pricey”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 September 2013

I really like this place. The tomato soup is especially yummy, as are the salads and the matzoh ball soup. I was charged $2.50 for a coke.That was a shock. You order at the counter and they deliver, pretty speedily.

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
Thank lois.gore
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

96 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    37
    39
    15
    3
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Any
English first
Oakdale, Minnesota
Level Contributor
91 reviews
40 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
“Exactly what we were looking for”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 September 2013

We were a party of 8 adults and 4 children in town for a wedding and were happy to find this little place for breakfast on our first day. There was room for all of us outdoors on a beautiful morning. You order your food inside, (there is some seating indoors too), and. it is delivered to your table. Everyone had something a little different and all selections were timely and quite tasty. Coffee was excellant. A number of our party stayed at the Westin in Bellevue and had eats here more than once, it is just a medium sized walk from the hotel. We wanted a nice little "cafe" type eatery and were more than happy here. Check it out, on Old Main St. in Bellevue.

  • Visited August 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank LeoLadyUpperMidwest
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Seattle, Washington
Level Contributor
30 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“Amazing food and service but be prepared to spend”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 May 2013

The food is amazing hands down, no questions asked. The pastrami is the best I've ever had and the pear spinach salad keeps you craving more. I don't know of anyone who has had a bad food experience here. Just be prepared to spend. Somehow my husband and I cannot leave this place without dropping $50 on food. Sandwiches run around $15 a pop, add in a side salad or a drink and with tax you're suddenly experiencing sticker shock, Thankfully the quality of food helps you overcome this because let's face it, they're probably not changing their prices in the consumers favor anytime soon. Go at least once and try and pastrami and pear spinach salad. You'll be glad you did.

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
Thank Jennifer R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bellevue, Washington
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Great, but EXPENSIVE Food”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 April 2013

The food is fantastic, but be prepared to pay for the wonderfully large portions of beautifully prepared foods.

Visited April 2013
Helpful?
Thank CarolinBellevue
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kirkland, Washington
Level Contributor
115 reviews
103 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
“Great spot for breakfast or lunch”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 April 2013

This is a great little restaurant in Old Bellevue for breakfast or lunch. Weekday prices are especially competitive. You can have a micro-scramble or omelet for $5.99, mini pancake and egg for $4.99, and larger offerings for larger prices. Everything is served very fresh and very ample. Many dishes are large enough to share. Sandwiches and salads are piled sky high and, again, very fresh. The designer- produced wall decorations are great . . .just need a bit of touch up on the corners to keep it looking fresh. Coffee is OK (not Starbucks) but you can pour the "endless cup." On a warm, sunny day it is pleasant to sit out on the walk and watch the passing parade (cars and people). Some afternoons they serve crepes (which we have yet to sample).Some weekends they have music - a low key, fairly quiet trio, which enhances the experience. Imagine what it could be like if they served wine!

  • Visited April 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Foodlover_12203
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Gilbert's Main Street Bagel also viewed

 

Been to Gilbert's Main Street Bagel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing