We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“I Miss The Man”
Review of Dixie's BBQ

No photo provided
Got a photo?
Add it.
Dixie's BBQ
Ranked #375 of 542 Restaurants in Bellevue
Price range: US$1 - US$20
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Child-friendly
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Seating, Takeout
Seattle
Level Contributor
204 reviews
140 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 105 helpful votes
“I Miss The Man”
Reviewed 15 June 2013

The food is still great, the atmosphere is what it is, and the cost reasonable. But no one can replace "The Man", who always had me laughing.

I miss him.

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank BBSeattle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

35 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    7
    18
    5
    3
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Woodinville, Washington
Level Contributor
32 reviews
21 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Seattle-Style BBQ, under an overpass”
Reviewed 7 June 2013

The waitstaff at the local Outback Steakhouse recommended Dixie's. (Anytime a steakhouse recommends somebody else's BBQ, I figure it's worth a try.)

Dixie's can be an adventure to find. It lives in a refurbished garage, beneath an overpass. The dining area is actually *in* the garage. (You can see the garage door tracks overhead.)

I've always had my doubts about "combination" establishments (such as "Frank's French Cheese and Used Tire Emporium") -- some things just don't go together very well. And Dixie's seemed to fit into that category. Granted, a garage-based restaurant is hip, kitschy, and unusual. But the quality of the food is nothing really special.

  • Visited August 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Nightbeacons
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Santa Cruz, California
Level Contributor
233 reviews
173 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 65 helpful votes
“Solid barbecue in an industrial setting!”
Reviewed 11 March 2013

A revered institution on Seattle's eastside, Dixie's is famous for serving up a hot sauce (dubbed "The Man") that will blast your socks off. Food is good and filling - best to arrive early for lunch to avoid the line (and also because occasionally they run out of barbecue). Setting (in an automechanics compound nestled under the 520) is charming in an industrial way - both indoor and outdoor seating available to accomodate Pacific Northwest weather.

Visited June 2012
Helpful?
Thank brocdog
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Seattle, Washington
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“This place is not as good as it used to be”
Reviewed 23 August 2012

This place is not as good as it used to be.
the worst part of the dining experience was the service, by far.
Quality of the food went down as well. And since Gene is no longer there there is no fun to come back.

  • Visited September 2011
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank MACTEP2K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Long Island, NY
Level Contributor
8 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Food pretty Good; Man Sauce- Ridiculous!!! :-)”
Reviewed 21 August 2012

The food was good at this tight little spot in Bellevue- I have had better, but I certainly have had worse. The highlight of the meal was a little friendly boy who sat outside while his mom worked inside. His warning of the man sauce was a life saver lol. Sooner or later a man walks out with a pot of "man sauce"- try it if you dare- it is hotter than any restaurant sauce I have ever had, and I am an avid hot sauce lover. Be warned- but be brave. Try also the lemon cake which is delicious!

  • Visited August 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Jays0nT
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Dixie's BBQ also viewed

 

Been to Dixie's BBQ? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing