We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“About the only buffet I ever visit”
3 of 5 bubbles Review of Old Country Buffet - CLOSED

Old Country Buffet
Cuisines: American
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Groups, Child-friendly, Cheap Eats
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Seating, Wheelchair Accessible
Glide, Oregon
Level Contributor
116 reviews
84 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 61 helpful votes
“About the only buffet I ever visit”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 July 2014

I don't like buffet's perhaps a carry over from my time in service, but my mother-in-law always takes us there once during each visit. What can I say. Putting all that aside, the menu selection can hardly be beat and most of the food is pretty darn good and is accompanied by very reasonable prices.

  • Visited December 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank John G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

35 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    3
    3
    15
    8
    6
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Kirkland, Washington, United States
Level Contributor
104 reviews
65 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 61 helpful votes
“A very Good Place for Lunch”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 November 2013

They have a wide variety of items on the menu to choose from. Very clean, and good service. The selection includes a very good salad bar, Mexican and American cuisine. A good value for the money spent.

  • Visited November 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Radhakrishnan R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bellevue, Washington
Level Contributor
10 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Plenty of food choices - but menu is stagnant”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 November 2013 credit card Amex Cardmember Review

I have been to this place for lunch on a Sat recently - the menu was ok for the price - lots of choices - but the menu has not changed much since my last visit 2-3 months back.

The salad bar has lot of stuff - there's a well stocked taco bar as well. The dessert choices were plenty and the pecan pie was quite good - so its a good idea to save some room for dessert !

Tip: If you are having a late lunch and you stick around after 3:30 pm, you can help yourself to the dinner special - usually steak / ham in the carving station !

Visited November 2013
Helpful?
Thank Sroych
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bellevue, Washington
Level Contributor
92 reviews
45 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
“Price reflects on the quality”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 October 2013

When entering the Restaurant you immediately see that the restaurant is populated by many people. If you follow stereotypes you'd even say that it is populated mostly by people on the budget and considering the cheap prices, this is certainly true.
The price is however reflected in the quality. The meat quality gets barely an okish and also the preperation is not really good. Only the meatloaf is an exception, which on our visit was well done, ones you removed the ketchup. The other dishes were somewhere between not eatable to ok with the salad bar and the deserts being the exception. The choices and freshness of the salad bar were on par with many pricier restaurants, at least if you used to vinegar and oil and don't take the ready made dressings.
All in all one can say, you get what you pay.

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank KeK10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bellevue, Washington
Level Contributor
71 reviews
53 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Not as good as before”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 August 2013

We visited on a Saturday evening and had a coupon we used which helped the cost. It was still not, as others have said, eating on a budget.

There was a lot of food. There was a salad bar, a taco bar, soup station, dessert station including soft ice-cream machines along with the other offerings. They are currently pushing a cook to order Mongolian Stir Fry which was missing the cook when I initially went to try this.

The rest of the food was an interesting mix. For example there was an Asian based chicken dish next to the pasta beside roast chicken with ands always empty platter of corn bread. This along with other foods at the station was what I thought an inappropriate mix. The carved meat selection was good but the carver appeared to be limiting the portions. The choice of vegetables was limited compared to the meats and fish. There was mashed potato, baked potatoes, corn, bean sprouts and rice.

There was and always is a queue to get in, pay and find yourself a table. The lady clearing our table was polite and quick. The noise level was high, the music was country (of course), the room was very warm and 70% of the families appeared to be of Asian origin.

I am not sure based on the atmosphere, food choices and temperature that I would eat here if I did not have some form of discount.

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank DrSteveWA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Old Country Buffet also viewed

 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing