We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Right next to a casino and greasy spoon...nuf said.”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Econo Lodge Inn & Suites Bellingham
Ranked #21 of 26 Hotels in Bellingham
Salt Lake City, Utah
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Right next to a casino and greasy spoon...nuf said.”
Reviewed 13 August 2014

I guess when I walked into the lobby and a large, unfriendly looking woman was folding linens in her lap right behind the front desk, I should have known what I was in for. We booked a non smoking room but, when we checked in, we were told we had a smoking room. I stated that we had booked non-smoking and the clerk snapped "you requested one, nothing is guaranteed" in a very defensive manner. Brushing off her hostilities, I politely requested she try to find us a non-smoking room and she complied in a joyless fashion. When we walked into our room it smelled like an ashtray but there was no way I was going to take it up with Hilda at the front desk again. The room was dated but reasonably clean. Beds were very so so, good thing I was tired. If I had paid $70-90 for the night I wouldn't be writing this review but for $150/night it was easily the biggest disappointment of our trip. Chalk it up to experience. If there is more than just a handful of bad reviews, believe them.

Room Tip: If you are bothered by smoke, this place simply isn't going to work for you.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Tony C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

236 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    55
    79
    63
    21
    18
See reviews for
77
71
30
25
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (76)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Vancouver, Canada
Level Contributor
25 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 75 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 August 2014

Was just in for a quick overnight, and as I was not familiar with area wanted something close to the I5. Econo Lodge fit the bill! Was just off the interstate and very close to Bellis Fair mall. Check in was slow, but that was due to time of day (5pm, prime checkin time) and volume (lineup and phones constantly going). Cycy, front desk person, was great. She juggled it all as quickly as she could, let those in line know about availability and motel services. Very impressed by her.

My room was sparse, dated and standard motel fare, but also very clean and well-stocked. Would have preferred a room facing courtyard as just a bit more security when travelling alone, but happy with room none the less.

All in all a great stay. Would happily stay, or recommend, in future.

Room Tip: Ask for room facing courtyard/pool. Rooms on opposite side face highway and can get noisy.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, travelled solo
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank DragonKaty
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vancouver
Level Contributor
47 reviews
40 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 August 2014

Only stayed for one night before travelling to Seattle. We arrived late but check in was quick with friendly staff. The room is a good size with a small fridge, TV and even a microwave. It is showing signs of age and wear and tear especially the bathroom but clean which is important. The air con was working well so we enjoyed our sleep (it was warm outside). They offer breakfast but it was too crowded (as they only had a few tables) so we took them to our room. It was adequate for us. Overall good value.

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank hapitripper
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BC
Level Contributor
21 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 August 2014

Enjoyed this hotel! Clean & inexpensive! We've stayed here several times- if there was a problem, the friendly staff was quick to fix it! Very comfortable beds, awesome outdoor pool. Easy to find! We will stay here again & have recommended this place several times!

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 5pigeons
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Canada
Level Contributor
52 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 August 2014

We were happy to see a small fridge in our room as we had a lot of food that needed to be kept cold & some ice packs that needed to be refrozen. We turned the fridge to high & checked it later. It didn't seem to be getting cold so I figured I had turned the dial the wrong way, turned it the other way went to bed thinking it must now be working. Wrong! Nothing was cold in the morning, our freezer packs were thawed. When I mentioned it to the manager he said 'oh you have to turn on the power bar behind the fridge'! Perhaps a sign on the fridge telling us that would have been helpful! Other than that, everything was fine. Wifi was slow.

Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
Helpful?
Thank Casabear26
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Econolodge228, General Manager at Econo Lodge Inn & Suites Bellingham, responded to this review, 7 August 2014
I am so sorry for the inconvenience caused by the miss understanding concerning the fridge. We are a green hotel, so try to conserve energy by leaving the fridge and microwave off when a room is unoccupied. We try to mention the power bar to all our guests, but once in awhile we forget to tell everyone. We do however have instructions posted right above the microwave. If it was missing, we apologize. Thank you for your time and valuable feedback.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vernon, Canada
Level Contributor
37 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 July 2014 via mobile

After reading other reviews, I decided to book the Econolodge for myself, mother, & aunt for 1 night while we did a shopping trip to Bellingham.
The rooms were VERY clean. They showed their age a bit, but that didn't matter. The room had a fridge and microwave and the tv had a sleep timer. The beds were clean and comfortable. We went with the suggestion to get a room away from the freeway.
The walls/ceiling were a LITTLE thin, but we had no real issues and it was a full Saturday night.
We will definately stay there again.

  • Stayed July 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank jfun72
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Franklin, North Carolina
Level Contributor
50 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 July 2014

The rooms are clean and comfortable, the people are friendly, the pool is clean and has a hot tub too! Breakfast is good and of the type you would expect. The only complaint I have is that the free wireless internet was too slow to be useful at night.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled solo
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank DrRoy1963
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Bellingham hotels
0.9 mi away
Baymont Inn & Suites Bellingham
0.1 mi away
BEST WESTERN PLUS Heritage Inn
0.5 mi away
Oxford Suites Bellingham
Oxford Suites Bellingham
#1 of 26 in Bellingham
415 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.8 mi away
Four Points by Sheraton Bellingham Hotel & Conference Center
0.9 mi away
Quality Inn Grand Suites
Quality Inn Grand Suites
#16 of 26 in Bellingham
36 reviews
1.2 mi away
La Quinta Inn & Suites Bellingham
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Econo Lodge Inn & Suites Bellingham? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Econo Lodge Inn & Suites Bellingham

Property: Econo Lodge Inn & Suites Bellingham
Address: 3750 Meridian Street, Bellingham, WA 98225
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Washington > Bellingham
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #21 of 26 Hotels in Bellingham
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2 star — Econo Lodge Inn & Suites Bellingham 2*
Number of rooms: 126
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), Expedia, Odigeo, Hotels.com, Choice Hotels, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Econo Lodge Inn & Suites Bellingham reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Econo Lodge Inn & Suites Bellingham Hotel Bellingham
Econo Lodge Inn And Suites Bellingham
Econo Lodge Bellingham

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing