We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“a clean and basic place to stay for the night that works on a budget”
Review of Bellingham Lodge

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Bellingham Lodge
Ranked #23 of 26 Hotels in Bellingham
Vancouver, Canada
Level Contributor
12 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“a clean and basic place to stay for the night that works on a budget”
Reviewed 28 July 2014

The Bellingham Lodge was a great budget place to stop for the night. Our room was very clean and met our basic needs with a comfy bed, free wifi, free on site parking, friendly staff. We caught the tail end of the free continental breakfast so can't really comment on the full extent of the offerings as it looked like a bunch of folks beat us to it! But a fellow was happy to get us going with some homemade waffles. Walk down the road to a great pub called McKay's for some fresh and delicious pizza pies and over 100 beers to choose from. We'd stay here again if we were passing through Bellingham.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MonaCaf
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

78 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    12
    11
    17
    14
    24
See reviews for
25
19
9
7
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (11)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Springfield, Missouri
Level Contributor
71 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 July 2014 via mobile

I REPEAT, DO NOT STAY HERE. We were in desperation, and this was the only open room in a 50 miles radius, so we reluctantly stayed here.

The building is old, so I understand that some slack should be cut. However, THE ROOM WAS FILTHY. The floors had clearly not been swept in weeks (there was dirt and hair and other debris) and there was trash all over, dropped between a crevice five inches wide between the dresser and fridge (so yes, you could definitely see and PICK IT UP). Thick dust was along the floor and especially in the corners.

The bed had previously been slept in and it appeared as though they had tucked the comforter in to make it look "clean". The sheets were covered in hair and there was blood smeared on the top sheet. The pillows were hair covered and stained, as well.

We called the front desk, and a lady changed the sheets and said she'd "make a note that this room wasn't cleaned". The "clean" sheets had hair on them, as well.

On the bright side, the bathroom seemed clean and there was a mini fridge and microwave (we were fearful to actually use those, but I digress).

The bed has a frame that was obviously not made for it, as there was funky metal pieces that stuck out and are easy to trip over (I got an awful gash on my leg courtesy of the nasty fellow).

The room has a mishmash of appliances from different hotels - phone from Travelodge, clock from Park Motel, fridge from Okinan(something). I'm nitpicking here, but that's very unprofessional and could be easily dealt with.

Bottom line, if I could give a negative rating, I would. This place is terrible. Save yourself the trouble and DO NOT STAY HERE.

Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
Helpful?
2 Thank WanderingAdventures
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Bellingham hotels

Franklin, North Carolina
Level Contributor
51 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 July 2014

Compared to other hotels in the area, the quality is comparable or superior to hotels costing up to $40 more. The staff was very friendly and helpful. The rooms were clean and comfortable and the shower was perfect. These days I like to have a good internet connection and the speed at Bellingham Lodge was among the best I encountered. I didn't use the pool but it looked nice and the other guests seemed to enjoy it.

Stayed July 2014, travelled solo
Helpful?
1 Thank DrRoy1963
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vancouver, Canada
Level Contributor
25 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 July 2014

My son and I stayed here for a few nights while visiting local attractions.
The hotel room was basic but clean. There is a sauna, and whirlpool tub and an small outside pool. The whirlpool seemed like it could use some chlorine but everything else was fine.
The staff were amazing and offered to make you waffles in the morning. They were quick to print you off directions to anywhere you wanted to go. On our arrival there was a new employee on his first day working alone. He was multi tasking as he was taking care of a few people all at once but kept very calm, he was apologetic, and very polite! I would stay here again as the price was right. I booked through Hotwire.

Room Tip: I would recommend staying on the top floor as we could hear people walking around above heads as we...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Happy154943
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
wisconsin
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 July 2014

I booked a night, rather reluctantly after reading reviews. I stay in a lot of hotels and motels and don't have time for poorly run ones. Bellingham lodge was a pleasant surprise. First, my room was clean and comfortable with microwave, fridge, coffeepot and large flat screen tv. the bed was comfortable, the ac worked great and the bathroom was clean. ALL of the staff I dealt with were helpful and professional without being in any way intrusive. The hotel was quiet and secure. All this is to be expected in a well run establishment.

What sets Bellingham Lodge apart, and above lodgings in its class are the little extras that i didn't expect to find.
1. Tv has tons of channels including multiple premium movie channels at no extra cost!
2.Free wi Fi in the room that is fast, easy to use and doesn't disconnect
3.Free breakfast that is an actual real, full complete breakfast, including cooked to order waffles!
4Spa and pool that are actually worth using (i am partial to hot tubs and this one is good!)

It is obvious that the management both cares and pays attention, it shows in the details.
oh, and after one night, I extended my stay for the ten days I was In bellingham. You just won't find a better value.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank hilobound
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Surrey, Canada
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 11 July 2014

This an older hotel with a great location to easily get to all the shopping on Bellingham. The staff were so friendly and the continental breakfast was a waffle made fresh, cereal, oatmeal, coffee and juice. The pool was a super refresher zfter a hot day of shopping. I will certainly return . air conditioning screens on the windows and very affordable. M arie Peterson.

  • Stayed July 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank joeann48
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vancouver, Canada
Level Contributor
17 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 July 2014

Very little was even OK with this property. I wasn't in charge of the booking and thought, how bad could it be? Well, bad enough that I should have checked it out more. The place is way past it's prime and the amount of noise was ridiculous. There seem to be many other options close by, try anything else but not here!

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank VTatIQ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Bellingham hotels
0.1 mi away
Days Inn Bellingham
Days Inn Bellingham
#20 of 26 in Bellingham
3.5 of 5 bubbles 147 reviews
0.5 mi away
Four Points by Sheraton Bellingham Hotel & Conference Center
3.2 mi away
Econo Lodge Inn & Suites Bellingham
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.9 mi away
Fairhaven Village Inn
Fairhaven Village Inn
#6 of 26 in Bellingham
4.5 of 5 bubbles 485 reviews
4.0 mi away
Orca Inn
Orca Inn
#21 of 26 in Bellingham
4.0 of 5 bubbles 20 reviews
0.1 mi away
Motel 6 Bellingham
Motel 6 Bellingham
#24 of 26 in Bellingham
3.0 of 5 bubbles 51 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Bellingham Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bellingham Lodge

Property: Bellingham Lodge
Address: 101 N Samish Way, Bellingham, WA 98225-6028 (Formerly Travelodge Bellingham)
Region: United States > Washington > Bellingham
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #23 of 26 Hotels in Bellingham
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2 star — Bellingham Lodge 2*
Number of rooms: 56
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travel Republic (UK), Expedia, Priceline, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Bellingham Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing