We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Beautiful, Quiet, and Serene” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hotel Bellwether

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Hotel Bellwether
Ranked #9 of 26 Hotels in Bellingham
Certificate of Excellence
Troy, Virginia
Level Contributor
15 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Beautiful, Quiet, and Serene”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 November 2013

5 day stay in September, 2013. Other than a minor hiccup at check in (which was handled in a professional and expedited manner), had a wonderful experience and stay. Loved our room! It had everything that we needed and more. Had a beautiful balcony view of Bellingham Bay. Enjoyed the barbecue and music on Thursday evening which we were able to enjoy on their patio and our balcony. I enjoyed a 45 minute morning walk each day to the park nearby. Plenty of restaurants in the immediate area and great room service. We didn't want to leave.
Look forward to staying there again!

Room Tip: We stayed in one of the Executive Suite rooms which had everything we needed, wanted, and more. Rea...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Gloria M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1Bellwether, Front Office Manager at Hotel Bellwether, responded to this review, 16 November 2013
To Gloria M,

Thank you for reviewing your recent stay with us. I am glad you were able to relax in our luxurious rooms. It looks like you were a guest of ours during the summer, since you mentioned our Thursday BBQ and I am pleased you enjoyed the event. During the winter, we have live piano music in the lounge Fridays and Saturdays, and Jazz on Sundays! We are looking forward to your return visit. Please contact myself or the front desk, at 1.877.411.1200 or 360.392.3100, to book your next reservation, or take a look at our website to check out our latest promotions.

Sincerely,
Nicolette Dixon
360.392.3178
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

422 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    217
    126
    32
    24
    23
See reviews for
65
238
8
62
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (147)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Seattle, Washington
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 October 2013

It can be difficult to travel with a dog...especially a big dog. We stayed at the Bellwether because our German Shepherd was in a Nosework trial nearby. We all enjoyed it. The ground floor patio of our room was a perfect place to enjoy a glass of wine and relax with our dog. There were ample paths to walk around and enjoy the grounds. The bed was huge and comfortable.

The staff was pleasant and professional. We ordered room service for dinner and the food was good, I had breakfast in the dining room and enjoyed a Bloody Mary that was exceptional.

I look forward to returning here.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Brynlyn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1Bellwether, Front Office Manager at Hotel Bellwether, responded to this review, 1 November 2013
To Brynlyn,

Thank you for writing us this outstanding review! We love dogs! I'm happy that you were able to enjoy some room service and that your experiences in the Lighthouse Bar & Grill were so exceptional. I hope we can welcome you and your canine companion back for another visit in the future. If you would information on current promotions or events, please check out our website or call the front desk staff at 360.392.3100 or 800.411.1200.

Sincerely,
Nicolette Dixon
360.392.3178
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Richmond, Canada
Level Contributor
3 reviews
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 October 2013

Awesome and quiet place to stay. Front desk stay was very helpful, room was great.
Would stay here again ! Shopping was good and close, easy to find your way to and from Hotel Bellwether, great secure hotel parking.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Don S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1Bellwether, Front Office Manager at Hotel Bellwether, responded to this review, 1 November 2013
To Don S,

Thank you for reviewing your recent stay at our property. I am glad you had such a great stay that we will be welcoming you back. We are somewhat centrally located in Bellingham, only about 10 to 15 minutes away from the best places to shop and the airport. Feel free to contact our front desk team by calling 1.877.411.1200 or 360.392.3100 and they would be happy to assist you with your next reservation. Our website will also have our current promotions and events.

Sincerely,
Nicolette Dixon
360.392.3178
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Anchorage, Alaska, United States
Level Contributor
9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 October 2013

We stayed at this for the first time and thoroughly enjoyed the visit. Our daughter attends Western Washington University and we have been to Bellingham several times to visit. The room was quiet and very comfortable for my wife and myself. Staff were extremely courteous and the complimentary private garage parking was another benefit we were pleased to learn about as well. When we next visit we hope to stay longer and enjoy more of the hotel amenities.

Room Tip: We had an end room and enjoyed the view of the marina.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Charles U
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1Bellwether, Front Office Manager at Hotel Bellwether, responded to this review, 1 November 2013
To Charles U,

Thank you for writing us this great review! I'm glad you were able to take advantage of our special WWU rates and I am excited to welcome you back again. Feel free to contact me or any member of our front desk team who would be happy to assist you with your next reservation. I also encourage you to check our website for our latest promotions and event schedule. You can contact the front desk directly at 1-360-392-3100.

Sincerely,
Nicolette Dixon
360.392.3178
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vancouv er
Level Contributor
27 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 October 2013

Great hotel in Bellingham and a wonderful welcome by the young receptionist/reservations clerk Sarah. The hotel is pet friendly too. Would definitely stay here again if in the area. Well appointed large rooms with fireplaces and air bubbled baths!

Room Tip: Ask for a room on the waterfront. Views are wonderful and the trains in the night pass on the other...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Goldengenius
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1Bellwether, Front Office Manager at Hotel Bellwether, responded to this review, 2 October 2013
To goldengenius,

Thank you for taking a moment to share your thoughts. Sarah, our concierge, is often singled out as a vital agent on my team. She is great with our guests and their canine companions. We are a pet friendly hotel, so any travelers wanting to bring their dogs, definitely can for a small fee! And for those that are allergic, we do have a pet free floor. I hope we can welcome you back, contact me directly and I will make sure you get a special discount on a great room.

Sincerely,
Nicolette Dixon
360.392.3178
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Minneapolis, Minnesota
Level Contributor
53 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 September 2013

We have stayed at this hotel several times and have always enjoyed it. The balconies or patios on the water side have a table and chairs so that guests can enjoy the spectacular views of the marina; of a nearby park where people walk their dogs, ride their bikes, and fly kites; of Bellingham bay; and of Lummi Island. The rooms are large and comfortable, with gas fireplaces that are easy to operate, comfortable beds, and large bathrooms with both walk-in showers and jacuzzi tubs.

The staff are pleasant, the breakfast we had was delicious (not included with the room price, but we were given a voucher that discounted the price) , and the outdoor bar also has great views. The area around the hotel has quite a few restaurants with a range of choices (sushi, other seafood, Italian, bistro, coffee shop), a walking/cycling path, and the park I mentioned. Parking in the underground garage is free.

The rooms on the ground floor are pet-friendly. The facility is non-smoking indoors and out, though the management can't (or at least didn't, despite our complaints) control the behavior of rude folks like those in a room near ours whose idea of generosity was sitting on the patio smoking cigars, sharing their stink with everyone in nearby rooms.

But the inconsiderate cigar smokers were the only glitch in our otherwise very pleasant stay. Highly recommended.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Haleyx
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1Bellwether, Front Office Manager at Hotel Bellwether, responded to this review, 2 October 2013
To Haleyx,

Thank you for reviewing your most recent stay with us. It warms my heart to know that we take such great care of our guests, to the point where they come back again and again. We try our best to discourage guests from smoking on our property, as we are a 100% non-smoking facility. We can't always get them all, some people do not realize that they are disrupting their neighbor's stay. Next time you stay, please contact me directly and I will make sure you are put in the best available suite at a special discount. I have a suite in mind that will keep you away from anyone who might bend the rules again.

Sincerely,
Nicolette Dixon
360.392.3178
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
seattle, wa
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 September 2013

Ours was a last minute trip to Bellingham, via the Edison Bakery and Chuckanut Drive. Living in Seattle we decided to take a quick trip, of course it WAS Labor Day weekend, but we figured we would give it a shot. Found the hotel was well reviewed on Trip-advisor so I check the hotel website and bingo they had a room so I booked it and off we went. What a lovely hotel! We check in and I just happen to inquire about an upgrade and the very courteous clerk said, well in fact they had just had a cancellation and they would be happy to accommodate :) so we did. The room was terrrific, corner overlooking the REALLY active marina and the bay. Watching the sail boats come and go.....I could have stayed all month. Just the two of us and we just loved it. They did a terrific job. The Italian restaurant on the pier was fantastic as well.

Room Tip: Ask for the corner overlooking the marina AND the bay, the deck was a terrific spot to sip a beverag...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank rgjreagent
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1Bellwether, Front Office Manager at Hotel Bellwether, responded to this review, 2 October 2013
To rgjreagent,

Thank you for writing us this amazing review! We often run special promotions on rooms for those last minute travelers, I am glad you were able to take advantage. Thank you for the kind words and voicing your opinions on our great views! If you are planning on visiting us again in the future, please contact me directly and I would love to set you up in a great room at a great rate.

Nicolette Dixon
360.392.3178
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Bellingham hotels
2.0 mi away
The Chrysalis Inn & Spa
The Chrysalis Inn & Spa
#15 of 26 in Bellingham
4.0 of 5 bubbles 374 reviews
2.3 mi away
Fairhaven Village Inn
Fairhaven Village Inn
#7 of 26 in Bellingham
4.5 of 5 bubbles 470 reviews
2.4 mi away
Oxford Suites Bellingham
Oxford Suites Bellingham
#1 of 26 in Bellingham
5.0 of 5 bubbles 397 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.6 mi away
Four Points by Sheraton Bellingham Hotel & Conference Center
2.1 mi away
BEST WESTERN PLUS Heritage Inn
2.4 mi away
SpringHill Suites by Marriott Bellingham
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Bellwether? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Bellwether

Property: Hotel Bellwether
Address: 1 Bellwether Way, Bellingham, WA 98225-2954
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Washington > Bellingham
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Business Hotel in Bellingham
#4 Family Hotel in Bellingham
#5 Romantic Hotel in Bellingham
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Hotel Bellwether 3.5*
Number of rooms: 66
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Bellwether is Western Washington’s premier upscale waterfront hotel, providing luxurious accommodations, attentive service, and personalized amenities that pamper the leisure traveler, support the corporate traveler, and facilitate hassle-free meetings and outstanding weddings and events. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Agoda and Odigeo so you can book your Hotel Bellwether reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Bellwether Hotel Bellingham

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing