We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely and relaxing”
Review of Hotel Bellwether

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Hotel Bellwether
Ranked #9 of 27 Hotels in Bellingham
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 27 July 2014

The Bellwether is a lovely property, the staff are very welcoming and helpful. We stayed in the Sunset Suite which is beautifully appointed, relaxing, comfortable bed, fluffy white robes and over-sized thick towels and the bowl of fresh fruit a delightful surprise. You feel very pampered. The views of the bay, marina, hotel grounds and mountains are just amazing. The only fault is the restaurant. The staff were cheerful and professional, perfect really and the restaurant clean, comfortable but my salad of "designer" lettuce arrived and the first forkful had a huge piece of "slimy" rotten lettuce. The salad was riddled with it, the server took it away and apologized. This put us off eating there, but the hotel is well worth a visit!

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Trish1946
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1Bellwether, Front Office Manager at Hotel Bellwether, responded to this reviewResponded 15 August 2014

To Trish1946,

Thank you this glowing review of our hotel! I'm glad that the incident in the restaurant did not hinder your stay. I hope to welcome you back again soon! Please contact our friendly front desk staff at 1.877.411.1200 or 360.392.3100 to make your next booking.

Sincerely,
Nicolette Dixon
360.392.3100

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (467)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

227 - 233 of 467 reviews

Reviewed 22 July 2014

Bellingham isn't anything to take a second look at, but The Bellwether was a lovely respite. Right on the waterfront of Bellingham Bay you have an excellent view of boats, float planes and mountains. It's gorgeous. The rooms are well appointed - beds are exceptionally comfy with luscious silk bedding. The bathrooms are dated but spacious. The fridge/coffee maker/accouterments are very nice - plenty of Starbucks coffee and snacks. The restaurant is good - most tables have a view. The outdoor patio is the best - large patio furniture to sink into and watch the water.

Room Tip: I was lucky to get a room on the water side - I can't imagine what the experience would have bee...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank NonaKim
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1Bellwether, Front Office Manager at Hotel Bellwether, responded to this reviewResponded 15 August 2014

To NonaKim,

Thank you for reviewing your stay with us. It in unfortunate that you were unable to enjoy all that Bellingham has to offer. There are tons of outdoor activities, such as hiking, kayaking, sailing, and biking. There are also great places to walk around and do a bit of shopping and walking around, such as Bellis Fair Mall, Downtown Bellingham, and Fairhaven. We also have plenty of city parks with much to offer: Whatcom Falls Park, Cornwall Park, and Boulevard Park. Next time, please ask our friendly front desk staff about fun things to do and we will gladly fill up your time in our beautiful city! Lastly, thank you for your kind words in regards to our property, our patio and waterfront terrace is the best spot in town to sip a glass of wine and watch the sunset. Thank you for staying, and we hope to welcome you back again soon!

Sincerely,
Nicolette Dixon
360.392.3100

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 July 2014

Would have given this hotel 5 stars were it not for an underwhelming experience at breakfast. Front desk staff were amazing--very friendly, super helpful. Room was large and clean, if a wee overpriced. Location is stunning for its view and access to nice restaurants within a short walk. But the breakfast was sub par. Food unamazing to say the least.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Swampcactus
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1Bellwether, Front Office Manager at Hotel Bellwether, responded to this reviewResponded 15 August 2014

To Swampcactus,

Thank you for kind words in regard to our hotel. It is unfortunate that our restaurant was not able to satisfy your expectations. I hope to welcome you back to our property in the future. This fall we will be rolling out new menu items so do come give our restaurant another shot. We will also be starting our fall and winter promotions, which may help out those cost conscious travelers.

Sincerely,
Nicolette Dixon
360.392.3178

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 July 2014

Nice accommodations. Water view is the odd numbered rooms. Gym facility is across the outdoor parking lot and minimal. Hotel is near downtown (one mile). Avoid the hotel restaurant for breakfast, service very slow. Our two buffet meals were wanting. Two menu meals were OK. Recommend the Old Town Café at 316 W Holly Street for Breakfast or lunch, you won’t be disappointed.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank BrunoSegno
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1Bellwether, Front Office Manager at Hotel Bellwether, responded to this reviewResponded 15 August 2014

To BrunoSegno,

Thank you reviewing your stay. I'm glad that you enjoyed our property. I have forwarded your concerns with the service and food to our food and beverage manager. We are currently working on developing a new fall menu, set to debut in October or November. I hope that you come and visit us again.

Sincerely,
Nicolette Dixon
360.392.3100

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 July 2014

This hotel is beautiful. Located on the water in Bellingham Bay, it has the friendliest and most accommodating staff you will find anywhere. If you have a room on the water, you won't want to leave your balcony. I have stayed on the water side before, and loved my room. In room 326, NOT on the water, it's a different story. The bed was shaped in the letter "V", so my husband and I kept rolling into each other throughout the night. Funny the first time, not so funny at 5 in the morning for the 10th time. The trains come throughout the night, making sure to blow their whistles as loud and as long as they possibly can, making me realize that the engineers must delight in waking people up. This room did have a balcony. It overlooked the front entrance, parking lot and businesses, and allowed my husband and I to hear the late night and early morning comings and goings of everyone and every vehicle. This particular room only had a light for the bar, one side of the bed, a desk and one chair. You couldn't see what was in the closet, and if one person on the wrong side of the bed wanted to read or use a nightstand, they were out of luck. I informed the hotel front desk about our issues, but with it being high season and hosting several weddings (I told you the water front was amazing!), there were no other rooms to be had. The bottom line is this hotel is amazing, but only if you get a waterside room.

Room Tip: You will love your room as long as it is waterfront.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank Michelle C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1Bellwether, Front Office Manager at Hotel Bellwether, responded to this reviewResponded 15 August 2014

To Michelle C,

Thank you for bringing our attention to the issues with your room. We have since remedied the situation and now have a brand new mattress in the room you mentioned. We hope to welcome you back in the future.

Sincerely,
Nicolette Dixon
360.392.3100

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 July 2014

The place is overpriced for what you get....not a great location. I guess if you stay in your room, and don't do much...I think if they lowered their prices by 30-50% and offer specials that would make a visitor wanting to try the place! it could help???but this is not the Waldorf but the brochure seems to want to compare it to much more upscale and better located boutique hotels. I would not go back.

Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
Thank Hanky53
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1Bellwether, Front Office Manager at Hotel Bellwether, responded to this reviewResponded 18 July 2014

To Hanky53,

We are one of only two waterfront properties in Bellingham, WA and you chose to stay with us during our peak season, when we are at full occupancy almost every day. We do encourage our guests to book early in order to take advantage of our special deals and promotions. It is unfortunate that you were not able to take advantage of those promotions.

Thank you for your time,
Nicolette Dixon
360.392.3100

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 June 2014

We have stayed here a number of times and chose it again on a recent visit to Bellingham. Once again, we enjoyed the great water views, the spacious room, the comfortable bed. The staff are very friendly and helpful, including Miri in the cafe where we had breakfast, but there seem to be too few of them. On one cool evening, we wanted to use the gas fireplace, but the pilot light was off. I ran down to the desk a couple of times and stopped a third time on my way up from the much-appreciated underground parking to ask for help with the fireplace, but the lone person at the desk was always very busy, and not wanting to wait, I eventually gave up. Though we were told our room was ready for us, when we checked in we found towels and toiletries lacking, though that was corrected immediately with a call to the desk. More staff and a bit more attention to detail would have been welcome in this rather expensive hotel, but on the whole, as in the past, we enjoyed our stay here.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Haleyx
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1Bellwether, Front Office Manager at Hotel Bellwether, responded to this reviewResponded 18 July 2014

To HaleyX,

Thank you for taking the time to share your recent experience with us. I'm happy to hear that you are a return guest of ours, we love the opportunity to make those personal connections with our frequent guests. Since you last stayed, we have increased our staffing at the front desk in order to better care for our guests. I hope next time you stay, we will be able to better care for your needs.

Thank you for your continued patronage,
Nicolette Dixon
360.392.3100

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Bellingham hotels
2.0 mi away
The Chrysalis Inn & Spa
The Chrysalis Inn & Spa
#16 of 27 in Bellingham
392 reviews
2.3 mi away
Fairhaven Village Inn
Fairhaven Village Inn
#4 of 27 in Bellingham
517 reviews
1.6 mi away
Four Points by Sheraton Bellingham Hotel & Conference Center
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.1 mi away
Best Western Heritage Inn
Best Western Heritage Inn
#6 of 27 in Bellingham
965 reviews
2.4 mi away
Oxford Suites Bellingham
Oxford Suites Bellingham
#1 of 27 in Bellingham
536 reviews
2.4 mi away
SpringHill Suites by Marriott Bellingham
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Bellwether? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Bellwether

Address: 1 Bellwether Way, Bellingham, WA 98225-2954
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Washington > Bellingham
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Business Hotel in Bellingham
#4 Family Hotel in Bellingham
#5 Romantic Hotel in Bellingham
Price Range: £165 - £224 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Hotel Bellwether 3.5*
Number of rooms: 66
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Bellwether is Western Washington’s premier upscale waterfront hotel, providing luxurious accommodations, attentive service, and personalized amenities that pamper the leisure traveler, support the corporate traveler, and facilitate hassle-free meetings and outstanding weddings and events. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com and Ebookers so you can book your Hotel Bellwether reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Bellwether Hotel Bellingham

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing