We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very relaxing!”
Review of Hotel Bellwether

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Hotel Bellwether
Ranked #9 of 27 Hotels in Bellingham
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 14 August 2014

A grand view of Bellingham Bay only interrupted by the pass through fireplace between the bedroom and the beautiful jetted tub. This hotel is extremely romantic, so take your favorite person with you! There is many options to arrival, park your yacht in the harbor, fly in to the local international airport, or drive in from Vancouver or Seattle just 90 minutes. Come in the last part of summer and enjoy the northwest's finest hour. A short 2 minute walk to great seafood restaurants. The hotel has some fine art and that, just right mood.... They offer bargains in the off season if rain and cold don't bother you. Just be sure to understand that you will be relaxed and taken care of throughout your stay.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank Craig C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1Bellwether, Front Office Manager at Hotel Bellwether, responded to this reviewResponded 23 August 2014

To Craig C,

Thank you for taking the time to write us this fantastic review! Our property is know for it's romantic atmosphere and we host many guests for special birthdays, anniversaries, and wedding nights. One of our most popular packages is definitely Romance by the Bay. This package includes 3 long stemmed roses, sparkling white wine, a bath bomb to use in the air jetted tub, and a plate of chocolate covered strawberries. Please keep an eye on our website for our off season promotions and specials, or contact our friendly front desk at 360.392.3100 or 1.877.411.1200.

Sincerely,
Nicolette Dixon
360.392.3100

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (462)
There are newer reviews for Hotel Bellwether
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

219 - 225 of 462 reviews

Reviewed 13 August 2014

My husband and I stayed at the Hotel Bellwether in August 2014 and had an amazing time. The hotel is beautiful, the staff is friendly, the rooms are extremely comfortable ( bedding and pillows fantastic, spa tub was relaxing at the end of the day and the balcony overlooking the harbour was beautiful during the day and especially at sunset). Water bottles are supplied as well as teas and coffee in room. The restaurant is good, the breakfast is reasonably priced, but they did run out of clam chowder at dinner so my husband was a bit disappointed! ( we did get there for a late dinner though). There is a lovely walking path from the hotel around the harbour which I used everyday. The walk is quiet, scenery is breathtaking and there are a lot of friendly people on it.

I would like to rave about the Zazen spa at this hotel. It is a quick walk out the front door, and as a hotel guest you get a discount.
I had a hair appointment there with Jordan who took the time to ask what I wanted, made sure it was right, and when it wasn't exactly what I had hoped, took the time to fix it and make it perfect for me!
I had the BEST massage of my life with Ruth on another day at Zazen. She asked me if I had any issues before starting and worked on everything I told her about. She took the time to relax me, but also worked on some sore spots. Thank you Ruth, it was absolutely fantastic, and if we ever come back, I will be coming for another!!

I would highly recommend the Hotel Bellwether hotel for anybody stopping in Bellingham. The views, location and accessibility to great restaurants are just some of the reasons we would come back.

  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled on business
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
1  Thank Sarah O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1Bellwether, Front Office Manager at Hotel Bellwether, responded to this reviewResponded 23 August 2014

To Sarah O,

Thank you for this great review! I am glad that you and your husband had a good stay with us. Our views are absolutely breathtaking, especially during sunset. I will forward your kind words in regards to the spa to our partners at Zazen. It sounds like you will be back, so make sure to contact our friendly front desk staff to secure your next reservation: 360.392.3100 or 1.877.411.1200.

Sincerely,
Nicolette Dixon
360.392.3100

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 July 2014

We rode our motorcycles to Bellingham to escape the torrid July heat and found the Bellwether to be a welcome respite. While we did not have a water view, the room was extremely well-appointed, with comfortable bed, large soaking tub and separate shower, and fireplace (off for Summer). Despite opening onto the courtyard above the check-in portico, the room was quiet.

Service at breakfast was superb, with a very reasonably-priced Continental breakfast buffet, stocked with several tempting items. All were delicious.

The property has a large verandah with comfortable lounging furniture, and fronts onto a well-paved trail that runs along the marina to nearby restaurants.

Obviously, having a water view would make this the perfect romantic getaway, so if it's important to you, be sure to specify.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled on business
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sara U
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1Bellwether, Front Office Manager at Hotel Bellwether, responded to this reviewResponded 15 August 2014

To Sara U,

Thank you so much for writing us this amazing review! Your words bring a smile to my face! We strive to provide an excellent and unique stay for every guest and it appears that you were able to experience this. It sounds like you will be back, so please contact our friendly front desk staff at 360.392.3100 or 1.877.411.1200 to secure your reservation.

Sincerely,
Nicolette Dixon
360.392.3100

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 July 2014

The Bellwether is a lovely property, the staff are very welcoming and helpful. We stayed in the Sunset Suite which is beautifully appointed, relaxing, comfortable bed, fluffy white robes and over-sized thick towels and the bowl of fresh fruit a delightful surprise. You feel very pampered. The views of the bay, marina, hotel grounds and mountains are just amazing. The only fault is the restaurant. The staff were cheerful and professional, perfect really and the restaurant clean, comfortable but my salad of "designer" lettuce arrived and the first forkful had a huge piece of "slimy" rotten lettuce. The salad was riddled with it, the server took it away and apologized. This put us off eating there, but the hotel is well worth a visit!

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Trish1946
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1Bellwether, Front Office Manager at Hotel Bellwether, responded to this reviewResponded 15 August 2014

To Trish1946,

Thank you this glowing review of our hotel! I'm glad that the incident in the restaurant did not hinder your stay. I hope to welcome you back again soon! Please contact our friendly front desk staff at 1.877.411.1200 or 360.392.3100 to make your next booking.

Sincerely,
Nicolette Dixon
360.392.3100

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 July 2014

Bellingham isn't anything to take a second look at, but The Bellwether was a lovely respite. Right on the waterfront of Bellingham Bay you have an excellent view of boats, float planes and mountains. It's gorgeous. The rooms are well appointed - beds are exceptionally comfy with luscious silk bedding. The bathrooms are dated but spacious. The fridge/coffee maker/accouterments are very nice - plenty of Starbucks coffee and snacks. The restaurant is good - most tables have a view. The outdoor patio is the best - large patio furniture to sink into and watch the water.

Room Tip: I was lucky to get a room on the water side - I can't imagine what the experience would have bee...
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank NonaKim
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1Bellwether, Front Office Manager at Hotel Bellwether, responded to this reviewResponded 15 August 2014

To NonaKim,

Thank you for reviewing your stay with us. It in unfortunate that you were unable to enjoy all that Bellingham has to offer. There are tons of outdoor activities, such as hiking, kayaking, sailing, and biking. There are also great places to walk around and do a bit of shopping and walking around, such as Bellis Fair Mall, Downtown Bellingham, and Fairhaven. We also have plenty of city parks with much to offer: Whatcom Falls Park, Cornwall Park, and Boulevard Park. Next time, please ask our friendly front desk staff about fun things to do and we will gladly fill up your time in our beautiful city! Lastly, thank you for your kind words in regards to our property, our patio and waterfront terrace is the best spot in town to sip a glass of wine and watch the sunset. Thank you for staying, and we hope to welcome you back again soon!

Sincerely,
Nicolette Dixon
360.392.3100

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 July 2014

Would have given this hotel 5 stars were it not for an underwhelming experience at breakfast. Front desk staff were amazing--very friendly, super helpful. Room was large and clean, if a wee overpriced. Location is stunning for its view and access to nice restaurants within a short walk. But the breakfast was sub par. Food unamazing to say the least.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Swampcactus
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1Bellwether, Front Office Manager at Hotel Bellwether, responded to this reviewResponded 15 August 2014

To Swampcactus,

Thank you for kind words in regard to our hotel. It is unfortunate that our restaurant was not able to satisfy your expectations. I hope to welcome you back to our property in the future. This fall we will be rolling out new menu items so do come give our restaurant another shot. We will also be starting our fall and winter promotions, which may help out those cost conscious travelers.

Sincerely,
Nicolette Dixon
360.392.3178

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 July 2014

Nice accommodations. Water view is the odd numbered rooms. Gym facility is across the outdoor parking lot and minimal. Hotel is near downtown (one mile). Avoid the hotel restaurant for breakfast, service very slow. Our two buffet meals were wanting. Two menu meals were OK. Recommend the Old Town Café at 316 W Holly Street for Breakfast or lunch, you won’t be disappointed.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank BrunoSegno
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1Bellwether, Front Office Manager at Hotel Bellwether, responded to this reviewResponded 15 August 2014

To BrunoSegno,

Thank you reviewing your stay. I'm glad that you enjoyed our property. I have forwarded your concerns with the service and food to our food and beverage manager. We are currently working on developing a new fall menu, set to debut in October or November. I hope that you come and visit us again.

Sincerely,
Nicolette Dixon
360.392.3100

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Bellingham hotels
2.0 mi away
The Chrysalis Inn & Spa
The Chrysalis Inn & Spa
#15 of 27 in Bellingham
389 reviews
2.3 mi away
Fairhaven Village Inn
Fairhaven Village Inn
#6 of 27 in Bellingham
507 reviews
1.6 mi away
Four Points by Sheraton Bellingham Hotel & Conference Center
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.1 mi away
Best Western Heritage Inn
Best Western Heritage Inn
#7 of 27 in Bellingham
954 reviews
2.4 mi away
Oxford Suites Bellingham
Oxford Suites Bellingham
#1 of 27 in Bellingham
522 reviews
2.4 mi away
SpringHill Suites by Marriott Bellingham
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Bellwether? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Bellwether

Address: 1 Bellwether Way, Bellingham, WA 98225-2954
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Washington > Bellingham
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Business Hotel in Bellingham
#4 Family Hotel in Bellingham
#5 Romantic Hotel in Bellingham
Price Range: £141 - £218 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Hotel Bellwether 3.5*
Number of rooms: 66
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Bellwether is Western Washington’s premier upscale waterfront hotel, providing luxurious accommodations, attentive service, and personalized amenities that pamper the leisure traveler, support the corporate traveler, and facilitate hassle-free meetings and outstanding weddings and events. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com and Agoda so you can book your Hotel Bellwether reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Bellwether Hotel Bellingham

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing