We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Walk-in with great results”
Review of Hotel Bellwether

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Hotel Bellwether
Ranked #9 of 26 Hotels in Bellingham
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 11 August 2010

We went to Hotel Bellwether for one night to celebrate our 5 year wedding anniversary. We drove to Bellingham and just walked up to the counter making a reservation right then. They put us in a room we didn't like (facing the parking lot) so we went back down to the desk and asked to see the one remaining water view room. We had initially declined it because of the price but the parking lot view is kind of dismal so we decided to have a look. There was a wedding that week and all the other water view rooms were occupied. The one room left wraps around the elevator and is really two rooms that have been turned into a suite. She let us look at it and we did. We moved and had a great stay. The view was lovely, the service was great and the room was immaculate. The furnishings in this hotel are amazing, solid wood without a pre-fab board anywhere to be found. We had drinks in the lounge and the service was pretty good. They get pretty busy around happy-hour and could probably use one more person but it wasn't anything to get upset about. Overall it was a great stay and we would definitely return.

  • Stayed: July 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank soniagabrielson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
hotelbellwether, Manager at Hotel Bellwether, responded to this reviewResponded 31 August 2010

Thank you for your comments. First, happy anniversary and I'm glad that you ended up spending it with us! Glad to hear that our staff got you a room that you truly enjoyed. We hope that now you know about us, you come back to see us again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (475)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

417 - 423 of 475 reviews

Reviewed 14 July 2010

beautiful hotel, secure parking underneath. Gorgeous views of the harbor. When we first arrived, the air conditioning in our room didn't work, so we were promptly given another room. The restaurant in the hotel is classy and very good. This is an upscale hotel and pricey. I wouldn't think a family with small children would stay there. The rooms are beautiful with fireplaces and decks overlooking the harbor. Well worth the money.

  • Stayed: July 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank anniewhy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
hotelbellwether, Manager at Hotel Bellwether, responded to this reviewResponded 28 July 2010

Thank You for your review! We're glad you enjoyed your stay, and that we could take care of the air conditioning issue right away and get you set up in the perfect room! We look forward to accommodating you again soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 July 2010

We Stayed at the Bellwether on July 4th. What a deal, $277 and no hot water. We stayed there after the fire works so we could sit in the jacuzzi and relax. When we called the front desk they said they would look into it. An hour later we still didn't have enough hot water to fill 5" in the jacuzzi. In the morning, still not enough hot water to take a 3 min shower. When we checked out the young man there just told us we were the only ones who had a hot water problem. Oh-well being of the 5th generation from this area, I have LOTS of people I can tell, "What you can get for $277 a night + tax at the Bellweather!"

  • Stayed: July 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank bob4136
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
hotelbellwether, Manager at Hotel Bellwether, responded to this reviewResponded 28 July 2010

Thank you for your comments. As much as we wish every stay could be perfect, there are times that the unforeseen issues do arise. My apologies that your stay was less than perfect and I hope in the future you will allow us another opportunity to show you this is not what you should expect from the Hotel Bellwether. If you have any further comments, please feel free to contact me at gina@hotelbellwether.com.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 July 2010

Large room with spa tub and nice view. Comfortable and quiet. Spa next door is wonderful. Breakfast was included but different than before. Was just continental this time, no hot choices unless you order, pay additional and then you still have to visit buffet for toast or juice. Staff was friendly.

  • Stayed: March 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank landmmayberry
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
hotelbellwether, Manager at Hotel Bellwether, responded to this reviewResponded 28 July 2010

Thank You for your comments. We're glad you enjoyed your stay, and we look forward to accommodating you again soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 April 2010

This was my first trip to Bellingham and my stomach recommended me to stay at the Hotel Bellwether. And he was right! The location, the wonderfully relaxed atmosphere, the charm of the rooms and the public areas made me feel home from the very first moment. My encounters with the staff were rewarding and the meals superb. The Bellwether Hotel, greatly run by Michael Herzog and his team, was my castle for a few days and surely will see me again.

  • Stayed: March 2010, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Gugliermo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
hotelbellwether, Manager at Hotel Bellwether, responded to this reviewResponded 28 April 2010

Thank You for your comments. We're glad you enjoyed your stay, and we look forward to accommodating you again soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 April 2010

very nice hotel. located directly at the bellingham bay. georgeous sundowners. excellent , professionel and very friendly staff which try to make all your wishes to come true!!! perfectly located to start outdoor trips and trips to vancouver!

  • Stayed: March 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank wald2308
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 April 2010

My husband and I live in Vancouver BC and were flying out of the Bellingham airport very early one morning. So we decided we would get across the border the night before and stay near the Bellingham airport. I remembered a friend of mine had done the same and had highly recommended The Hotel Bellwether so we thought we would give it a try.

So I went online and booked The Hotel Bellwether Stay and Dine Package via their internet site. The online reservation process went well but the site did not ask me what time we wanted dinner so I had to call the hotel and make a dinner reservation when I finished making the online hotel reservation.

The directions to the hotel from the website were very precise and we easily found the beautiful resort which was located right on the shores of Bellingham Bay. There was no parking signage so we just parked in the first spot we found. The entrance into the hotel was via one automatic sliding door but at the top of the stairs there was a second door which was manual and very difficult to open with luggage. The front desk staff was very friendly and personable but we had to ask about parking and no one asked us if we wanted help with our luggage.

The room was very nice and had a beautiful view of the water. The room was well contained but we brought a bottle of wine with us to drink and as there was no wine opener in the room my husband had to go down to the front desk to get one.

We then went to the lounge for the Happy Hour and had a wonderful time. We had a table directly by the window and watched an amazing storm roll in off the water. The service was excellent even though it was quite busy and the drinks and appies were half price. The fried oysters and the mochitinis were so good we ordered seconds. The only negative were the coconut prawns were on skewers and although tasty were a little overdone and were virtually impossible to get off the skewers so you ended up with wood splinters in your mouth.

Then we went into the dining room for our dinner reservation. It was a beautiful setting, with a gorgeous view of the water however it was quite large and at 7 pm there was only one other couple in the entire restaurant so it was kind of uncomfortable.

The dinner that came with the Stay and Dine package included an appie choice by the chef, a choice from four dinner entrées and a dessert. Unfortunately, the appie choice was the coconut prawns that we previously had in the lounge and were not that impressed with the first time. We also ordered a bowl of the coconut curry seafood soup that my friend had highly recommended. She was right...it was chocked full of seafood and was quite tasty. We both then ordered the peppercorn rib eye steaks and were extremely disappointed. The steaks were quite big but very thin, overdone and not at all tender. We both only ate part of our steaks. The dessert was very good...it was a chocolate fallen cake which was very warm and yummy. The service was excellent but overall the food in the restaurant was mediocre.

We then went back to our room to return for the night. The guide on the TV showed countless channels but in many cases when my husband selected a channel he got the message "this channel is not available". My husband then phoned down to the front desk to ask about movies and he was told that they did not have any on-demand movies...only HBO.

In addition, one of the phones in our room did not work and you could not see the time on the clock radio from the other side of the bed.

Bottom line...it is a beautiful resort, in an amazing setting, with excellent service but could be a gold mine if management paid attention to the small details!

  • Stayed: April 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank dawn0108
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Bellingham hotels
2 mi away
The Chrysalis Inn & Spa
The Chrysalis Inn & Spa
#15 of 26 in Bellingham
403 reviews
2.3 mi away
Fairhaven Village Inn
Fairhaven Village Inn
#5 of 26 in Bellingham
528 reviews
2.4 mi away
Oxford Suites Bellingham
Oxford Suites Bellingham
#1 of 26 in Bellingham
577 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.4 mi away
SpringHill Suites by Marriott Bellingham
1.6 mi away
Four Points by Sheraton Bellingham Hotel & Conference Center
2.1 mi away
Best Western Heritage Inn
Best Western Heritage Inn
#6 of 26 in Bellingham
1,011 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Bellwether? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Bellwether

Address: 1 Bellwether Way, Bellingham, WA 98225-2954
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Washington > Bellingham
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Business Hotel in Bellingham
#4 Family Hotel in Bellingham
#5 Romantic Hotel in Bellingham
Price Range: £157 - £213 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Hotel Bellwether 3.5*
Number of rooms: 66
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Bellwether is Western Washington’s premier upscale waterfront hotel, providing luxurious accommodations, attentive service, and personalized amenities that pamper the leisure traveler, support the corporate traveler, and facilitate hassle-free meetings and outstanding weddings and events. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Preferred Hotels, Booking.com, Ebookers and Agoda so you can book your Hotel Bellwether reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Bellwether Hotel Bellingham

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing