We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Charming inn at the waterfront in Bellingham” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Chrysalis Inn & Spa

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
The Chrysalis Inn & Spa
Ranked #15 of 26 Hotels in Bellingham
Certificate of Excellence
Freeland, Washington
Level Contributor
42 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Charming inn at the waterfront in Bellingham”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 June 2014

The Chrysalis inn and spa has lovely rooms, soaking tubs, views of the water, a gas fireplace (wish it was wood fired) and a very nice happy hour in the restaurant/deck. This is our 2nd stay here and it has been very enjoyable both times. We were upgraded to a king room water view which was just lovely. Be sure to bring your own snacks, scented candle, bubble bath etc. They do charge a high price for these amenities if you use the ones provided in the room. It is right next to the beach walk and lots of good restaurants. Spa services are very expensive - we tried massages on our previous visit - but if you want to indulge, you may want to try the spa.

Room Tip: Choose a side room with partial view. If there is a better room available when you arrive, you may...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Dollygurl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

374 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    188
    110
    38
    15
    23
See reviews for
46
208
12
26
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (142)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Seattle, WA
Level Contributor
11 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 June 2014

What an amazing spot. Chrysalis is beautiful. The room we had was gorgeous, the hotel itself is lovely, and the setting is amazing. Our room looked directly out on the bay and the view is stunning. We checked in at 4PM on Friday and immediately went out on the patio for a drink. The sun was shining and the patio was starting to fill up with people. My wife and I were able to get a table right up in the front looking out at the view. The server was prompt and very engaging, and before you knew it we each had a cold beverage and a hummus appetizer (which was delicious). After about 30 minutes of enjoying the sun and the view a big old coal train came rumbling by, blowing its horn and making a ton of noise. To provide some context, the hotel is right on the water, with about 30 feet of land in between the edge of the hotel and the beach. On that strip between the beach and the hotel is a train track. We didn't think too much of it, except it was amazing how much coal was headed north presumably to Canada. After we finished our drink and snacks we went back to the room to freshen up for dinner. We had a reservation at the hotel restaurant, Keenan's. At 6PM the place was packed. The hostess was so glad we actually had a reservation because she had our table all ready to go. The food was great! I had the manila clams and we shared the gnocci entree. It was delicious and the server was very friendly. After dinner we went out for a movie. We got back to the hotel around 10:30 and the room next to ours was having a small party. They were pretty loud so we called down to the front desk at 11 to ask if they could help quiet things down. Shortly after 11 the noise stopped and we went to bed. As parents of 2 kids (3 and 1 year-olds) we were very much looking forward to a night of solid sleep with no interruptions and the ability to sleep in! If this is what you're looking for, do not stay at the Chrysalis Inn: THE TRAINS ARE RIDICULOUS! That night there were at least 7 trains between 11PM and 7AM. They were so loud, blowing their horns right as they pass the hotel. Before going to bed I noticed the ear plugs sitting on the night stand and thought it was strange. But now I see why they were there! I was literally laughing to myself in the middle of the night after the 5th train went by. Not the night we envisioned, but we still managed to have a great time. We ordered room service for breakfast and it was amazing. If there were no trains I'd give the hotel 4 stars. 3 stars is the max I can give.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
7 Thank Sea-Cab
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vancouver, Canada
Level Contributor
8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 June 2014

Now my favourite Fairhaven hotel.
Fantastically comfortable rooms decorated tastefully.
Bathrooms to die for. Huge tub with opening screen so that partner can share with you from a distance (or not if you are convervationists!).
There are pet friendly rooms. Lovely window seat looking outside. Nice touches, like throws to wrap around oneself. This was December time, so an appreciated touch. My husband had organised iced champagne and red rose petals scattered all around...OH, and bath package with smellies. Lucky me, a beautiful surprise and executed to perfection!
Easy walk into Fairhaven via minor road then park for varied dining.
Excellent restaurant. We enjoyed appetizers two days running overlooking the ocean and boardwalk. Very friendly service. Breakfasts were imaginative and fresh.
Great running right outside the hotel along the boardwalk. Sea right there alongside you.
We love the train noise and rumbles. It's quiet through the night. But if you are sensitive to that sort of thing, you'll want to be aware.
I had a massage in the spa and one of the best pedis I've ever had. Can't wait to return early in August for my b'day treat. 4 days this time!

Room Tip: If train noise disturbs you, ask for quietest rooms they have...and use the ear plugs!
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Helen W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Langley
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 June 2014

My husband and I stayed two nights in May 2014 for a close to home get away. We live in Langley BC, we'd wanted to re-visit the beautiful, wonderfully staffed Chrysalis Inn and Spa. We wandered around the little town of Fairhaven, enjoyed the sea air and the views. Our room was a King Suite, the same one we had last visit, gorgeous room....I wish we could've stayed a week. We ventured into the amazing Keenen's restaurant, where the food and drinks are served by the nicest staff. Impressive all around, we will be back again, I can't wait. Maybe in the fall...to enjoy the fall leaves and sunsets. Thank you again for being amazing hosts, we are sincerely grateful.

Room Tip: I would stay anywhere in the Chrysalis, it's just top notch.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank ifreakinluvlife
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kirkland, Washington
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 May 2014

I stayed overnight for business and despite the positive reviews and recommendations, my experience was just so-so. I must have gotten the noisiest room in the lot but I could hear the trains from my room through all hours of the night. Chrysalis also lacks a fitness room which is surprising given the price range and their competition. When I checked out, the front desk didn't even bother to ask how was my stay. I volunteered that the room was noisy and they should look into a fitness room to which he simply shrugged and continued to process payment. I expected a little bit more from this hotel.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled on business
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Bus_traveler677
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
White Rock, Canada
Level Contributor
236 reviews
151 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 464 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 May 2014

Bravo Chrysalis Inn & Spa. My husband and I live just across the line in Canada, only a 45 minute drive. We were looking for a get-away that would provide us a different experience.

The Chrysalis (hard to pronounce) is a perfect location complete with an amazing view, 7 minute walk to historic Fairhaven (which has been revitalized), pier walk right outside the Inn's door and close to all that US shopping we like so much.

The Chrysalis has a lovely happy hour (patio served when sunny), an on-site restaurant which has nice food and is fairly reasonably priced. We enjoyed the option to park our car and to either eat at Keenan's or to walk into Fairhaven for something different. My only comment is that there should a small breakfast included.

The sound of the trains outside the window just added to the experience. Don't come if you don't like the noise or are a complainer.

Look for the Inn's specials. A lovely spot to stay.

Room Tip: Any room with a view - either side or full view are great. We stayed in 212 which had a window box.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Hosta_La_Vista
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
38 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 March 2014 via mobile

My wife took me here for an overnighter get-away, even though we only live 25 minutes from here it seemed we were tucked away on one of the San Jaun islands.

The spa was great and the happy hour on the patio over looking the bay was awesome. We had dinner at Keenan's restaurant located in the hotel (4.5) They have a great selection of fresh seafood and some great steaks. The "wicked shrimp" appetizer was the best.

So the rooms are very spacious, with big windows that look over the bay, fireplace, jacuzzi tubs and pretty much anything you would ever want.

A real nice pier is right outside the door. A great place for a stroll and there is a walking path that goes to downtown or Fairhaven.

Should mention the train, but really it just didn't seem to be that big of deal. I actually enjoyed watching it from the patio it's like right there.

Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Darngood
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Bellingham hotels
2.0 mi away
Hotel Bellwether
Hotel Bellwether
#9 of 26 in Bellingham
4.0 of 5 bubbles 422 reviews
0.4 mi away
Fairhaven Village Inn
Fairhaven Village Inn
#6 of 26 in Bellingham
4.5 of 5 bubbles 472 reviews
4.4 mi away
Oxford Suites Bellingham
Oxford Suites Bellingham
#1 of 26 in Bellingham
5.0 of 5 bubbles 400 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.2 mi away
Four Points by Sheraton Bellingham Hotel & Conference Center
4.1 mi away
BEST WESTERN PLUS Heritage Inn
4.3 mi away
SpringHill Suites by Marriott Bellingham
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Chrysalis Inn & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Chrysalis Inn & Spa

Property: The Chrysalis Inn & Spa
Address: 804 10th St, Bellingham, WA 98225-6245
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Washington > Bellingham
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
#6 Romantic Hotel in Bellingham
#7 Business Hotel in Bellingham
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:3.5 star — The Chrysalis Inn & Spa 3.5*
Number of rooms: 43
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Chrysalis is a beautifully designed, award winning hotel and spa in a stunning waterfront setting. Luxurious guestrooms and suites offer comfortable hospitality with luxurious amenities, designed to enable guests to work or unwind with every comfort and convenience. Cuddle up in a bay view room or suite with cozy window seats, fireplaces and double soaking or whirlpool tubs. Watch the sunset from our restaurant and wine bar, or stroll the boardwalk over the water. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Agoda and Odigeo so you can book your The Chrysalis Inn & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Chrysalis Inn And Spa
The Chrysalis Hotel Bellingham
Chrysalis Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing