We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful lake”
Review of Lake Whatcom

Lake Whatcom
Ranked #14 of 82 things to do in Bellingham
Certificate of Excellence
Attraction details
vancouver, bc
Level 4 Contributor
38 reviews
26 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Beautiful lake”
Reviewed 24 February 2013

We have friends on Lake Whatcom so we had an opportunity to visit them. The day we chose was amazing as it was sunny and the water was sparkling. We look forward to returning when the weather is warm.

Visited February 2013
Helpful?
Thank jmp5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

77 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    44
    21
    5
    5
    2
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Bellingham, Washington
Level 5 Contributor
73 reviews
19 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 64 helpful votes
“Plenty of open lake area for boating”
Reviewed 8 February 2013

Lake Whatcom is large for an inner city lake, almost 8 miles. It has 3 boat launches,which at times can get really busy but once you get out in the water, there is plenty of open space to pull kids on towables, water ski, etc. If you head down towards Sudden Valley and are in the mood for Pizza, you can call Tinos Pizza and they will deliver to the dock.

Visited July 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank Stacy Z
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mount Vernon, Washington
Level 6 Contributor
249 reviews
40 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 95 helpful votes
“great place for water sports”
Reviewed 4 January 2013

Lake Whatcom has nice facilities for a number of activities and water sports. The drive around the lake is also very scenic and there are a number of places to stay overnight.

Helpful?
Thank Kenny S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bellingham
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Hard to Boat there anymore”
Reviewed 22 December 2012

Not what it used to be. They took out the Diving Platform, and too many ducks there. I think you can still swim there

Visited July 2012
Helpful?
Thank Bellinghamguy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Squamish, Canada
Level 5 Contributor
45 reviews
15 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Whatcom Falls...what a gem!”
Reviewed 22 September 2012

We almost didn't visit Whatcom State Park. The weather had been overcast and rainy, but, in recalling Trip Advisor reviews, decided to venture into the Park. Boy, were we rewarded.
For me the primary attraction was Whatcom Falls. We found the falls not too far from the parking lot, so it was one of our first Park experiences. From there we carried on along one of the main trails that led us in a gently graded, meandering loop walk that brought us back to the Falls.
Then we were rewarded, as the late afternoon sun shone through the forest onto the Falls. Glorious.
Whatcom State Park reminds me of Stanley Park in Vancouver. It is in an urban setting, but gives a natural wilderness experience. Lucky are those who live nearby.
Don't miss this Park. It is a gem.

Visited March 2012
Helpful?
Thank Bob B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Lake Whatcom also viewed

 

Been to Lake Whatcom? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing