We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Food for the Soul”

Lighthouse Bar & Grill
Ranked #47 of 451 Restaurants in Bellingham
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$10 - US$45
Cuisines: American
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: View, Local cuisine
Dining options: Breakfast, After-hours, Reservations
British Columbia
Level 5 Contributor
89 reviews
46 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
“Food for the Soul”
Reviewed 29 December 2012

We absolutely loved this spot on the oceanfront. The food was delicious and fresh with ingredients that were healthy and in line with my diabetic restrictions. The atmosphere had a warmth and ambience provided by the delightful live music and fireplace. I took note of the original artwork on the walls beautifully displayed. This is an unforgettable place to return to.
Sheer dining delight!

  • Visited November 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank TopazBritishColumbia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

118 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    52
    38
    12
    9
    7
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Chicago, Illinois
Level 5 Contributor
68 reviews
39 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“On top again”
Reviewed 1 December 2012

I have eaten at the Lighthouse numerous time the past 10 years......the food quality has been up and down. However, recent changes at the hotel and restaurant have been noticed and the restaurant is now again as good as the location. I ate there twice last week and both meals were excellent. The clam chowder is a must to start......and the scallops were prepared perfectly. My only hope is that they work on their wine selection - a bit short and not very focused.

  • Visited November 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank MAbendhoff
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cory D, Manager at Lighthouse Bar & Grill, responded to this review, 5 December 2015
MAbendhoff,

I am so please looking back at your review from 2012. I am so glad to hear that you have been such a long term patron of the Lighthouse Bar & Grill. I hope we have lived up to our “On top again” name. I hope to see you again soon, and meet a patron of your caliber.

Thanks for your glowing review from 2012!

Cory D.R.

Restaurant Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bellingham, Washington
Level 5 Contributor
80 reviews
65 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
“Exceptional service”
Reviewed 6 October 2012

Of the handful of restaurants that offer happy hour with an ocean view, this
is the only one that has exceeded our expectations. How refreshing to receive
such attentive service and enjoy eating what you've chosen from the menu!

  • Visited October 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
3 Thank CharleneLP P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cory D, Manager at Lighthouse Bar & Grill, responded to this review, 5 December 2015
Charlene,

It is our goal to exceed your expectations again. Hope to see you again soon!

Thanks,

Cory D.R.

Restaurant Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Glacier, Washington, United States
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Beers with a view”
Reviewed 20 July 2012

Lighthouse Bar and grill is an amazing spot to enjoy your favorite beverage with you favorite people! View is amazing and the service was friendly.

  • Visited July 2012
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank wagenwheels1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cory D, Manager at Lighthouse Bar & Grill, responded to this review, 5 December 2015
Wagenwheels1,

Thank you for your glowing review! Hope we are still one of your favorite places. Come down and enjoy a beer by the bay soon.

Thanks,

Cory D.R.

Restaurant Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bellingham, Washington
Level 6 Contributor
100 reviews
60 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 61 helpful votes
“Sets a high standard for bistro fare”
Reviewed 23 May 2012

This place used to be the Harborside Restaurant at the Bellwether Hotel. In its new incarnation it has an updated and somewhat simplified menu. It remains a very good choice for brunch, lunch or dinner.

Ingredients are very high quality and some choices, such as the freshly made chowder, are especially imaginative and well executed. The chowder has big Manila clams and fresh fish in a tasty broth and can be lunch by itself. The fish tacos are the best in Bellingham, with just enough of a spicy bite. A burger with a small Caesar salad makes a solid lunch.

The garden Benedict is a brunch favorite of ours, along with a flute of sparkling wine. I haven't had dinner here since the rebranding, but visits in its previous identity yielded perfectly done steaks and fish dishes that were sometimes a bit too tricked up with sauce. Given my good experience with lunch, I'll be trying diner.

Service has always been warm and efficient and servers have always accommodated special requests. There's a good selection of high-quality, moderately priced wines. And of course, the view over Bellingham Bay is sublime.

  • Visited May 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
3 Thank DeanpW
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
, Ops Director Lighthouse Bar & Grill at Lighthouse Bar & Grill, responded to this review, 13 July 2012
We are very pleased that you enjoyed your experience at the new Lighthouse Bar & Grill. We look forward to seeing you for dinner in the near future.

Thanks for your comments,
Chris Bauer
Lighthouse B&G Operations
chrisbauer@hotelbellwether.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Lighthouse Bar & Grill also viewed

 

Been to Lighthouse Bar & Grill? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing