We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A surprising authentic pub in Fairhaven”

The Archer Ale House
Ranked #60 of 444 Restaurants in Bellingham
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$6 - US$26
Cuisines: American, Seafood, Gastropub
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine
Dining options: After-hours
Description: Established in 1992, we are an English style pub located in the historic Fairhaven district of Bellingham. We feature a rotating draught selection of import & craft beer with an extensive bottle list. We serve fresh, seasonally inspired cocktails & over 100 fine whiskeys. Our full menu includes upscale pub style food such as Shepherd's Pie & Pot Pie as well as house ground natural Painted Hills burgers, steaks, fresh fish & fresh local oysters. Our menu is made in house & features locally sourced ingredients whenever possible. We offer a weekly trivia night, steel-tip darts, local & national sporting events, brewers & distillers nights/pairing dinners & a variety of board games
San Diego, California
Level Contributor
178 reviews
78 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 68 helpful votes
“A surprising authentic pub in Fairhaven”
Reviewed 10 September 2013

First off, you go into a basement- loved it. Then, the selection of ales was better than we expected. The first night we actually had a Fullers. However, then they changed to a local selection. But, there were some great options. We had some happy hour snacks and enjoyed the quality and taste. We were there in Bellingham 2 nights and were there both nights. If we lived here it would be our local.

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank wgroves
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

70 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    32
    23
    9
    5
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Port Orchard, Washington
Level Contributor
14 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Gets Busy on Sunday Night.”
Reviewed 20 August 2013

Walked in just before Trivia Night started on Sunday at 7pm. Place was packed and noisy, but fun and it seems like a lot of people were doing well and winning beers at trivia. I agree the prices are a bit on the expensive side but the service was good and the food exceptional. I'd probably enjoy going there on a more calmer evening, like a week night.

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Phoenix_Kahuna
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bellingham, Washington
Level Contributor
80 reviews
65 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
“Salmon You Won't Want to Share !!”
Reviewed 19 August 2013

Before leaving Archers, I personally told the chefs, " I'm 50 years old, a native
of Bellingham and have tasted plenty of salmon in my life. Theirs is the BEST I have ever
had!" It is pistachio crusted and is moist, flavorful and unique. Out of the goodness of my
heart, I let the others in my party each try a bite. Though they each liked what they ordered,
they loved mine. My friends promised they're ordering their own salmon next time. It's only
fair that I get to take a bite of each of theirs!!

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank CharleneLP P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Spokane, Washington
Level Contributor
29 reviews
22 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“fun place in Fairhaven”
Reviewed 22 June 2013

Good food, but a little pricey. They have a big shelf of games so you can sip some beer and play a game like "Operation", which is great!

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
Thank RJO_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Long Beach, California
Level Contributor
18 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Great Burgers and Watch Sports”
Reviewed 28 May 2013

This place is noisy but they have great burgers and a huge selection of beers. A lot of fun to visit. The place is below ground, so there are steep steps down to the front door; this could be a problem for disabled or older people to navigate.

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Frogcity1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed The Archer Ale House also viewed

 

Been to The Archer Ale House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing