We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Good food, fast service” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of El Gitano

El Gitano
Ranked #55 of 440 Restaurants in Bellingham
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Mexican, Southwestern, Latin, Spanish
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Cheap Eats, Child-friendly, Groups
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Full Bar, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Television, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Vancouver, Canada
Level Contributor
37 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
“Good food, fast service”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 May 2013

We stopped here for dinner on our way home to Canada - and we were not dissapointed!
The selection of mexican restaurants south of the Canadian border is astounding! So it was just a fluke that we stopped here.... and we are glad we did! We have been here a few times, and have never come away dissapointed (unlike some other mexican restaurants around seattle... and of course ALL the mexican restaurants in Vancouver).
The helpings are huge, the food is good, the atmosphere is good, and the service is quick. I wish we had some restaurants like this in Vancouver, BC :-(

  • Visited January 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Family_Vaca_mjxdk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

82 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    38
    30
    11
    3
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Bellingham, Washington
Level Contributor
195 reviews
135 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
“The Best Burrito”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 May 2013

My wife and I visit "El Git" as we call it, about once a month to savor one of their "el Gitano Special Burritos" which is essentially a super pork burrito with all the trimmings. We love it. It is actually enough to share but usually we both order one and split it in half and take the remainder home for lunch the next day. Even better!

  • Visited April 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank John N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bellingham
Level Contributor
41 reviews
31 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“Average”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 February 2013

The food is average Mexican fare. The bar tenders have always been very accommodating and the karaoke crowd is pretty fun. One waitress with a terrible terrible attitude but the rest of the staff have always been reliably good.

  • Visited September 2012
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank OneTrippyHippy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
35 reviews
34 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“My favorite Mexican restaurant!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 February 2013 via mobile

I've been a loyal customer here for about 12 years. It is without question the best Mexican restaurant in town! The tacos al carbon are phenomenal as are the chips and salsa that accompany each meal. They also sell their salsa in a large to-go container for folks like me who eat it by the truckload! I'll definitely be back, perhaps tomorrow, for another delicious meal.

    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Theincrediblelunk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bellingham, WA
Level Contributor
37 reviews
26 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Great service and good food.”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 February 2013

Had lunch with an old friend here last week and still the same friendly service and consistent food. This was our lunch place for many years until he moved away for his job. We naturally met here to reunite after a few years apart and had a great time. Stephen and staff are stll just as friendly as ever and the food was great. Good lunch and dinner spot with all the classic "American" Mexican dishes.

  • Visited February 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank MrDuffer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed El Gitano also viewed

 

Been to El Gitano? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing