We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent value & great staff”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
GuestHouse Inn Bellingham
Ranked #18 of 26 Hotels in Bellingham
Seattle, Washington
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Excellent value & great staff”
Reviewed 27 April 2014

I have stayed at this hotel many times & have always been happy with my room. It is always quiet & clean, with comfortable beds & pillows. The staff is exceptionally friendly & helpful. There are no amenities , but it is still an excellent value. Breakfast is included too. I look forward to my next stay.

Room Tip: Request a room away from the freeway if you are a light sleeper.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank dianelaaksonen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
bellinghammgmt, General Manager at GuestHouse Inn Bellingham, responded to this review, 20 May 2014
Thank you for taking the time to review your stay with us. I truly appreciate your acknowledgement of our staff! They are a great group of hard working people with a spirit unmatched! I will share your compliments with them as well. Please do visit again when in the Bellingham area.

Thank you,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

229 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    67
    85
    52
    17
    8
See reviews for
80
61
35
22
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (53)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Vancouver, Washington
Level Contributor
82 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 April 2014 via mobile

This was our first visit to a GuestHouse Inn. Given the more economy price, we were anticipating a stay of like quality. We were pleasantly surprised that the room was very clean & comfortable, the service was pleasant & the continental breakfast was above average.

A few concerns: bathroom sink would drain painfully slow, the toilet required multiple flushes, and as others have mentioned the I-5 freeway road noise throughout the night was echoing through the room making sleep a challenge (but given the location, that seemed like an unavoidable side-effort of convenience to WWU.)

Stayed April 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank TJA_traveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
bellinghammgmt, General Manager at GuestHouse Inn Bellingham, responded to this review, 20 May 2014
Thank you for taking the time to review your stay with us and thank you for your kind words! I am thrilled that we exceeded your expectations! Please do visit us again! We look forward to providing you a great rest, a hot shower and a tasty breakfast to start your day.

Thank you,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Olympia, Washington
Level Contributor
65 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 April 2014

There are good things about this hotel. It's usually where we stay in Bellingham because it's the best "value" hotel we are aware of in Bellingham. It seems to be generally well run. We've always found the front desk staff pleasant and attentive. The hotel put in new mattresses several years ago, and they are reasonably firm and pretty comfortable. Although the hotel gets a lot of use, you can see the effort made on general upkeep. On our most recent visit the linens were reasonably good, which was not always the case. There are some drawbacks. The daily housekeeping for guests staying multiple days is rather spotty. Our first morning we used the in-room coffee-making supplies and cups. They were not replaced, which we didn't actually notice until the next morning. Inconvenient. Both days we were there, housekeeping did not clean the coffeemaker--maybe that's standard in a hotel of this category. I'm used to more care being given to housekeeping. Although the Guesthouse has been all non-smoking for at least two years, the carpet in our room had numerous cigarette burns. The carpets in the hallways and stairs also need replacing. We have never tried the complimentary breakfast; we use the in-room refrigerator and eat our own food. This hotel is okay if your expectations match what they offer. The rates fluctuate based on (I guess) demand, so you may or may not get what you pay for, depending on when you stay. Our AAA rate of $75 for a single queen was reasonable. We have paid more here in the past, and did not feel like we got value for our money. Room tip: All 2 queen and king bed rooms are on the freeway side of the hotel. My husband cannot sleep in those rooms. The "quiet side" rooms all have just one queen bed.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MaryFromOly
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
bellinghammgmt, General Manager at GuestHouse Inn Bellingham, responded to this review, 20 May 2014
Thank you for taking the time to review your stay. I am glad we were able to provide you with a clean and comfortable stay. Do keep us in mind when you visit the Bellingham area again. It will be our pleasure to see you again.

Thank you!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Seattle, Washington
1 review
Reviewed 19 April 2014

I stayed recently for two nights at this hotel. My room was very clean, decently-sized, and the hotel was quiet (ask for a room on the non-freeway side). An ample breakfast was included w/the room rate. The front desk staff were enormously helpful and friendly. Great location -- only minutes away from Whatcom Falls, downtown, the WWU campus, and Fairhaven.

I'm now on a campaign to convince family members to join me on my next overnight visit to beautiful Bellingham -- and we'll be staying here!

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank FarfisaDreams
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
bellinghammgmt, General Manager at GuestHouse Inn Bellingham, responded to this review, 23 April 2014
Thank you for your great review! I appreciate your kind words and will share this with our crew. We hope that you will visit us again when you are in the area! I am glad that your stay went so well and look forward to seeing you again!

Thank you!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Victoria, BC Canada
Level Contributor
48 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 March 2014

This is the 3rd time we have stayed at this hotel and the service and facility keeps getting better. The beds have been updated and were so comfortable! We had a basic room with 2 beds. The second night we returned to our room to find a major leak going on with the sink. The woman ( Sonja) at the desk was terrific. She got us into a better room ( the suite) which was really lovely. 2 beds, plus a sitting area with couch and chairs, a desk, 6 foot vanity sink area. It was great. Sadly, the TV did not work, and after many attempts to fix it, we moved rooms again. We were back to our basic room, but it was very comfortable. They did discount our room for our trouble.
The breakfast continues to be delicious and offers eggs, toast, bagels, muffins, belgian waffles ( with strawberries and whip cream), and the usual cereals, coffee, tea, juice, milk. A great start to a full day of shopping!
We really do recommend this hotel. Yes, it is a fairly basic hotel, there is coin operated laundry, and fitness area, but we did not use these. There is free WiFi and a computer to use in the lobby. We will definitely stay here again. We were impressed with their attention to detail and the way they tried to make our stay a good one. They did not hesitate to do all they could to solve the issues promptly. Thanks GuestHouse Inn!! See you again!

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Marcy M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
bellinghammgmt, General Manager at GuestHouse Inn Bellingham, responded to this review, 23 April 2014
Hello Ms.GosHawks!

Thank you for taking the time to share your stay with us. I also want to thank you for returning to visit us once again. I am happy that you found your stay friendly and comfortable. We look forward to seeing you again when you return to the Bellingham area. We do appreciate your kind words and your candor!

Hope to see you soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Delta, Canada
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 17 March 2014

We stayed for three nights, room was very clean and much better than the reviews that we had read, My son and family have stayed a couple of time's before and were pleased with the accommodation's The room we had faced the highway the noise from the traffic even thou it was raining heavily was not bad at all, We had a housekeeping problem both night's nothing major, We complained to the front desk and it was taken care of quickly (more than we expected) We will stay at this hotel again

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Rainbow T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
bellinghammgmt, General Manager at GuestHouse Inn Bellingham, responded to this review, 20 March 2014
Thank you for taking the time to review your stay with us! I appreciate your kind words and hope that you will be visiting again very soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 February 2014 via mobile

I picked this hotel for value for an early morning flight while the location was not as near to the airport as I wanted, it was good enough, theprice was good, the room was clean and comfortable and i came back for a second night as my flight was cancelled due to weather. While this is not a high class hotel, it is good enough, and I would go back again as need arise.

Stayed February 2014, travelled solo
Helpful?
1 Thank Kati D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
bellinghammgmt, Manager at GuestHouse Inn Bellingham, responded to this review, 3 March 2014
Thank you your email and thanks very much for your stay! I am happy that we were able to accommodate you and your fellow travelers when the ice and snow hit. That was quite the challenge for travelers. Thanks again for your kind words and we hope to see you again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Bellingham hotels
0.2 mi away
Four Points by Sheraton Bellingham Hotel & Conference Center
1.6 mi away
Hotel Bellwether
Hotel Bellwether
#9 of 26 in Bellingham
435 reviews
0.6 mi away
Days Inn Bellingham
Days Inn Bellingham
#19 of 26 in Bellingham
153 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.7 mi away
Best Western Plus Heritage Inn
3.1 mi away
Oxford Suites Bellingham
Oxford Suites Bellingham
#1 of 26 in Bellingham
447 reviews
2.5 mi away
Fairhaven Village Inn
Fairhaven Village Inn
#6 of 26 in Bellingham
489 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to GuestHouse Inn Bellingham? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about GuestHouse Inn Bellingham

Property: GuestHouse Inn Bellingham
Address: 805 Lakeway Dr, Bellingham, WA 98229-6218 (Formerly Val-U Inn Motel)
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Washington > Bellingham
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Shuttle Bus service Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #18 of 26 Hotels in Bellingham
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2.5 star — GuestHouse Inn Bellingham 2.5*
Number of rooms: 81
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your GuestHouse Inn Bellingham reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Bellingham Guesthouse Hotel Bellingham
Bellingham Motel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing